We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time as Good as the First!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
McLeansville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd Time as Good as the First!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Dunes again since our first visit two years ago was so amazing. Once again, our stay exceeded our expectations. The property is aesthetically appealing to the eye and everything is well maintained from the parking garage to the landscaping to the front desk and the guest rooms. Check-in was a breeze. We arrived early and we were allowed to get early check-in- that's almost impossible at most resorts.

The check-in attendant was extra nice and she went out of her way to ensure that we understood everything that was in the welcome packet. The attendants that were on duty in the front entrance parking lot were always friendly and they were always willing to lend a hand with bags,etc. Security constantly patrolled the parking garage and that made us feel safe.

The housekeeping staff members were very friendly and they were always focused on vacuuming and doing general cleaning of the commons areas on the property- that was impressive. The pool areas, hallways, and commons areas were always immaculate. Our king bedroom suite was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed from pots and pans to forks, spoons, paper towels, glasses, toiletries, etc. The bathroom was stocked and it was updated and spotless. The balcony area was perfect for relaxing while listening to the waves and admiring the beauty of the Atlantic Ocean.

Perhaps our favorite thing to do while staying at the Dunes is to eat ! The Captains on-site restaurant has great food and great service. The service is second to none! The male hostess who seated us on two occasions was exceptionally professional and you could tell that he took pride in his job. Both of our waitresses were excellent and they made sure that we enjoyed each meal. Did I mention that the food is delicious!!!!!! It was so nice to be able to eat great food on site and avoid the traffic jams of Myrtle Beach.

The breakfast buffet in the Admiral's Room on-site restaurant was superb as well. The pancakes and omelets are made to order and they are magnificent!!! My husband and I enjoyed breakfast so much that we hated to leave the restaurant.

Lastly, I have to mention how much fun we had at the two on-site water parks. Every time we visit the Dunes, we look forward to spending time in the lazy river and on the water slides. Yes, we are fortyish, but we never get tired of having fun at the water parks.

One more thing: if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the other end of the strip, this is the perfect place.

Hopefully, my husband and I can visit the Dunes again in the fall. We will definitely visit again next summer!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is environmentally conscious. The temperature is set to conserve energy.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimmydoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
The title says it all!! We appreciate your loyalty to Dunes Village Resort, and thank you very much for your 5 star rating. We want you to keep coming back, so we will try to keep giving you 5 star stays so that you will.

We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to shsare your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,482
    1,235
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,827
671
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linthicum Heights, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

2 familys stayed July 6-12 and had a wonderful time. The hotel was very clean, the waterparks (one under each tower) were easily accessible and fun for the 2 & 4 yo we were traveling with as well as two 14 yos. The 2 BR angled ocean front was very roomy - the bedrooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable and the living room area was bright and airy. Visited the restaurant and he food and service were very good. Friendly staff. This is right on the beach at a lifeguard station. Perfect location. Only complaint was traveling with friends and we wanted to be on the same floor - we were put 3 floors apart fortunately on the same side of the same tower, but it wasn't convenient for the kids. We were told upon scheduling in March we would be near one another on the same floor. by the time of check-in the resort was too full for either of us to move to a different room. We were on 7 and there was virtually no noise at all, just the waves and water from the water park on the 4th floor there was more noise especially in the evening from the outdoor pools (close at 11) and the bar.
Also, Wi-Fi was a little sporadic but accessible most of the time.

Room Tip: 7th floor was quiet. Angled 2 BR ocean front was really nice. on the side of the building, but nice...
See more room tips
Green Features: Might just be a South Carolina thing, but I didn't see one recycling bin the entire week I was there. However, they are environmentally friendly as far as bedding and towels. Fresh towels will be brought if you need them, and sheets were only changed once which was fine.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are glad to hear that overall the vacation was a success. We love to hear when families come together, or meet here and vacation together regularly. It makes us happy that we are a part of your history!

I apologize for the rooms your 2 families booked were not closer together. Our reservation agents have a lot of information to share with you when you book, and they usually let you know that you can make the location requests, but sometimes it is not possible to honor them. We try to accomodate everyones requests, but sometimes it becomes inefficient to do so.

We hope to see you again sometime soon! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

For the second year in a row we stayed at the Dunes and what an awesome vacation. We stayed in a two queen ocean front suite and it was perfect. The only one concern was that one night in the water park some of the older "teenager" boys were getting a little rough. I mentioned it to the staff on the slide and she agreed, but did nothing. She was too busy flirting and joking with them. However, the rest if the time it was worth every penny. The daily kid activities are also awesome. Big you have you kids, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhl1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and the awesome 5 star rating for your Dunes Village Resort vacation. We are happy to hear that you are a returning guest, and will continue to share your vacations with us!

I would like to apologize for the attendant you mentioned in the water park. We try to make sure that the basketball pools are watched for rough play, and it sounds like we fell short. We have tweaked our staff some in the last few weeks to ensure that our guests are well watched over, and we do appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

We are looking forward to visit number 3! We do hope that it is soon! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

“Dunes Village, Myrtle Beach, SC”

We stayed at Dunes Village for 1 night and was pleasantly pleased. My children loved the indoor / out water park. The indoor park have water slides and several pools for my children to enjoy. My hubby and I thought this was a great investment! The only flaw, it was not 5 minutes from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. The rep (Penny) stated it was 5 minutes; however it was 10 minutes with the traffic.

I must mention this was a last minute ( 1 day prior with excellent rate $119.80 with taxes included for mid-summer ) deal and we enjoyed it! I will definatley inform friends / family to stay here, especially if they have little children. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor with a great ocean-front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPE54354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you found us to be a good investment. We try hard to make sure you feel like your dollar is well spent, and we have a lot to offer that reflects that.

I am sorry if the Family Kingdom was not as close as Penny stated. Nothing is very far from us, and sometimes it seems like 5 minutes to us, even when it is 20. Penny is not one to error intentionally, so on behalf of her, I will offer apologies for the misinformation.

We are glad you chose to sped your family vacation with us, and look forward to many more years of memory making with you. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Dunes Village for 1 night and was pleasantly pleased. My children loved the indoor / out water park. The indoor park have water slides and several pools for my children to enjoy. My hubby and I thought this was a great investment! The only flaw, it was not 5 minutes from Family Kingdom Amusement Park. The rep (Penny) stated it was 5 minutes; however it was 10 minutes with the traffic.

I must mention this was a last minute ( 1 day prior with excellent rate $119.80 with taxes included for mid-summer ) reservation and we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPE54354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you found us to be a good investment. We try hard to make sure you feel like your dollar is well spent, and we have a lot to offer that reflects that.

We are glad you chose to sped your family vacation with us, and look forward to many more years of memory making with you. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the hotel. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and we were right on the ocean. We loved the lazy river and pools. There were lots of activities for younger children, although mine are older, so we didn't participate in that. Overall, we loved the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review regarding your Dunes Village Resort vacation. We are thrilled to hear that we were exactly what you ecpected, and we met your needs.

We hope you come back and see us soon. Thank you for choosing Dunes Village Resort for your get-away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed oceanfront 5th floor king room with pullout sofa(504). The rooms were clean, hotel overall was pretty clean. The noise level at night was not bad at all. The doors slammed but most people were pretty quiet at night. We took a canopy to the beach and you had to get there early to get a spot because they set up the rental chairs all the way down in front of both hotels only leaving a spot for about 3 families who bring their own stuff. Otherwise you are stuck behind and cant see young children as well. We took 2 8yr olds and they loved the waterparks. It rained our last day and it was nice to have indoor pools. We had to walk a little ways to get to the elevators when we were carrying too much for the stairs but it wasn't too bad. The in-room safes were large enough for our electronics. Overall we all enjoyed our stay. It was a little pricier than some others we looked at but it was well worth the cleanliness of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We are so glad that you spent your family vacation with us at Dunes Village Resort. We love to help families make memories that last a lifetime.

Thank you for taking the time to share your ecperience. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing