We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“As advertised -- wonderful place to stay for anyone with kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“As advertised -- wonderful place to stay for anyone with kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Great resort to stay. Indoor water park is fantastic, nothing like it elsewhere in Myrtle Beach. Our kids (ages 11 and 8) said it was the best vacation they ever had! Adult fun too -- hot tubs, cabana area with tiki bar, all right in the ocean! We only wish we could afford to stay here again someday. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shallora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan_Starnes, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Dunes Village Resort.
You are right, we are the only resort with not only one, but two indoor water parks.

Thank you for also sharing a few photos on Trip Advisor. They look great!!!!!

Are you on our mailing list? We send out great specials all the time via email. If you are not on the mailing list you can do so by calling our reservations line and get added. Thank you again.

Best Regards,
Dunes Village Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,333
    1,193
    412
    189
    128
See reviews for
3,658
648
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the moment we checked in the staff and resort was more than I expected! We never ate at any of the restaurants on property but I heard from other guests it was very good. There was plenty of staff at the waterpark making sure the kids were safe. The pools, hottubs and lazy rivers were very clean. The indoor pools on the Palmetto Tower were warmer tho. Our king suite was very clean, bed was a bit hard for my taste but everything was updated nicely. When we needed extra towels, the staff brought us up some fast! Everyone was so kind and helpful during our stay, really made this place special. The resort is located on the northern end of Myrtle which made the stay alot quieter and easier to come and go as well as the beach less crowded. The parking garage is across the street but had no problem finding a parking place. It was also very clean as well. We had an angle suite in the Palmetto Tower on the left side, view is not half as good as any of the other sides due to another hotel right beside it. So I would recommend the Palms tower or right side of Palmetto if you get an angle suite. But overall, this is the BEST of the beach in my opinion. The resort staff go all out to make sure the kids enjoy crafts and games all day long. I will be staying here again and again in the future. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the left side of the Palmetto tower if you are getting an angle view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They remind you to be energy friendly and they want to help the environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kissme2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan_Starnes, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for the 5-star WONDERFUL review of Dunes Village Resort.
What great detail in your review. We take great pride in our resort and I am so happy when we receive such great praise.

Again, Thank you so much and can't wait to see you back soon.

Best Regards,
Dunes Village Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was the first time back to Myrtle Beach in 10 yrs and the first time staying at the Dunes Village Resort. We loved the beach. We go to the beach during the day then my youngest child would had to the indoor water park to play water basketball. The hotel is centrally located between Broadway on the Beach and Barefoot Landing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan_Starnes, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I am so happy that you decided to visit Dunes Village Resort and had a wonderful time.
Going from the water park to the beach is always the best.

Can't wait to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Dunes Village Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stay here every year. Our first summer vacation of the year. We had 6 people comfortable in the angled ocean view room. It has a large bathroom and bedroom. Perfect size kitchen and yes it does have a washer and dryer. Perfect for me - the last night I was everything so we can go home clean!!! Great views from the balcony. There are always things for the kids to do, inside or out. Just great vacation.

Room Tip: We use the Ocean View Queen Angled Suite. Its great! Large rooms, kitchen and a huge bathroom! Two t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan_Starnes, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at Dunes Village Resort.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the resort . You are right, those units are just prefect for a family of six. We hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards,
Dunes Village Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Best vacation spot we have found at Myrtle Beach!
Ocean front room is well worth the price, clean spacious room, courteous staff and a great water park that acts as an insurance policy against bad weather! We will be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budsmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan_Starnes, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Dunes Village Resort as your vacation destination and taking time to review our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had time to take advantage of some of the many amenities offered here at Dunes Village Resort. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great facility for families. My 10 and 8 year old sons enjoyed the waterparks so much they hardly ever came out. I will recommend that you bring your own beach chairs because unlike most Florida Resorts, chairs do not come with your room and the rental price is a little steep. Drinks at the tiki bar were really good but pricey. Pool areas were nice, a lot of chair availability. Breakfast buffet was delicious every morning. There were a few things that could have been better but overall a great trip!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportsmom8078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan_Starnes, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Dunes Village Resort. We are glad you had a wonderful time. The beach chairs are owned by the City of Myrtle Beach so we have no control over the rental price. You do have a great idea though to bring your own which can be purchased at most beachwear stores here. We hope to see you again soon at Dunes Village Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times. This last visit probably will be my last. Housekeeping was horrible. Check-in was difficult due to computer problems. Staff seemed to be lost on how to proceed and we were kept in the lobby for an eternity. There were at least two visits by the ambulance during the week which was pretty troubling also. The mattresses were hard as a rock and the pillows are flat as pancakes. Toilet leaked and made noise during the entire stay. (This seems to be a recurring problem at this hotel. This was at least the third time we have had this problem here.) The pools are excellent and there are fun things for the kids. The rooms are very spacious also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Dunes Village Resort. I am sorryto hear that this may be your last visit with us. When we fall short, we appreciate any opportunity to correct our shortcomings.

I am not sure what was taking place at the front desk that would delay your check-in process, but I can assure you that additional training is in the works to better inform our agents on the best way to handle computer glitches. Additionally, housekeeping and maintenance have both been addressed with regard to your concerns in your room. I apologize for the experience you had, and would like to discuss it with you further. If you have a moment and can call me at the resort, I would appreciate it. I can be reached most days.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Services Manager
843.449.5275 extension 4035
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing