We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So fun for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So fun for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just got back from our first family trip to Myrtle Beach. We had a great stay at Dunes Village. The indoor water park was a big hit with our 7 yr old son. Also, the hotel is in a nice, quieter location. I didn't appreciate this until I was in MB and saw what the downtown area is like (noise, cars, crowds, etc.). It's still very well located, though. We ate breakfast in the Admiral's Room every morning, and it was a nice buffet. The check-in system is a little overwhelming, but that may just be because I am not sure how MB "works". We didn't bring a ton of stuff, but there were lots of people who did and unloading seemed like a nightmare. There were people to help, but they were VERY busy. Again, this may just be "how it's done" and I'm not used to it. Overall, it was a terrific experience; one we'll not soon forget. On the last morning our boy declared he was, in fact, not going home with us and was going to stay at the Dunes Village. I guess you can't be more highly recommended than that!

Room Tip: I wouldn't want a first or second floor room--it might be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappinessFor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mom,

I am still having a great time. The staff is taking great care of me. The water parks are great, and the activities are super-fun! I wish you would come back and see me soon. I miss you.

With Love,

your son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,187
    1,141
    383
    173
    123
See reviews for
3,460
616
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we began staying at Dunes annually some 3 years ago, it was an impressive place. Today, housekeeping is failing to clean properly, including all mold and mildew removed around sinks and showers. In addition, the rooms are showing wear and tear, in need of deep cleaning, and replacement of sagging sofas and beds. Hopefully they'll get these issues corrected, because my kids LOVE the indoor waterparks and we'd like to continue as return guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the feedback, and have every intention of impressing you on your next vacation with the sparkling clean resort you have always known. We are in the process of re-training some of our staff on the best way to effectively clean a room, and our newer staff is really taking to the process well.

We are grateful for your candor, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay my nine year old girl really loved the water park can't really complain about anything even though a tropical storm came through we still had something to do it does need a update on furnishings but all in all I'd recommend it to anyone with kids

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John and Sandra and Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate the kind words!
We are in the process of making a few changes in the rooms, some with new carpets and some with new refrigertaors. Next time you come, you will see some of the renovations being done in the rooms.

We hope to see you back here again soon. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arrived to find ice maker in room not working, lamps burned out, outside lights didn't work. Housekeeping/maintenance came to fix items but on vacation, I don't want to have to call to get things done. The details were definitely ignored this time, big disappointment. Another day, Housekeeping came by and left towels but didn't make the beds, the kitchen was inadequate with only two pots - NO PANS for cooking. We stay at the Dunes at least twice every summer and have always enjoyed it. We will return in July and if the details aren't attended to better, we may not go back. Otherwise, love everything about the Dunes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate you giving us another chance, as we hate to lose a guest over things we can control.

I assure you that your next trip will be the Dunes Village Resort experience you have come to know and love. Please come see me personally if you have any concerns while you are here so that I may address them immediately.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I love the Dunes. Such a nice place to stay. We only had one slight problem. We had to wash everything in the kitchen. (Room 1208 Palmetto tower). EVERYTHING. It was dirty and trash was left in the cabinet above refrigerator and got no maid service our last day? Not sure what happened. Had to call twice to get fresh towels. Never happened to us before there. I had even left a daily tip. But, we enjoyed our stay. Nice pools and water park. Staff was nice and friendly. Easy check in and out. More expensive than other hotels but worth it. I just hope they get better help service and the hotel doesn't go down. Overall a great place to stay that's why I gave it an excellent rating. Although, I had to be honest about the service. Love the Dunes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpgirl423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
And the Dunes loves YOU! We appreciate the excellent rating, in spite of our shortcomings. We try very hard to take care of our guests to the fulles extent of our ability. I am sorry we missed a few things in your room, but am thrilled to hear that it did not deter you from the love you still gave us!

Dunes Village Resort appreciates you, and yuor 5 star rating, and we promise to make it a perfect stay next time. That is a Cari Guarantee! Cal me when you are making your next plans, and I will personally make sure your room is PERFECT! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the first time that we stayed at the Dunes. The room was good size;however, I found the bathroom and parts of the room to be dirty, whoever painted the room last time slopped the paint on and it looked terrible, and there was rust on the refrigerator and stove. I stay 60 to 70 nights per year in hotels and hope are room isn't indicative of all the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. I would like to personally apologize for the condition of your room. Generally speaking, our rooms are in great shape, as you can see from other posts. Sometimes we fall short, as it seems in your case, and we appreciate the feedback that allows us to improve our service. Thanks for considering giving us another chance. We will see you soon, I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Dunes Village Resort is awesome! A lot of entertainment, great restaurant, loved the location and the view. We had a wonderful time and we planning to go back. The staff at the hotel was very nice and great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
As you have read in MANY other reviews, customer service is our number one priority here at Dunes Village Resort. We know what it takes to plan and execute a vacation, and we appreciate being a part of the memories you are making. Our goal is to make sure your time spent here is as good, if not better, than you planned.

When you say "fantastic" amd give us a 5 star rating, that is when we are sure we have succeeded! Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback. We will continue to be fantastic as long as you continue to come see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,727 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing