We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We are an older couple and this resort is mainly aimed at families with children but we had a great time. There was live music playing next to the Tiki Bar and it was great. He played 60, 70, and 80s music and played for hours. The hot tubs were HOT and relaxing. We even used the adult sized slides and lazy rivers. We had a king suite on the first floor next to the restaurant and Starbucks in the Palmetto building and it was quiet, clean and we could see the beach from our room. There was a safe in the room for our convenience. Good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPhillips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We are so happy that you had a good time, and we hope to see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,333
    1,193
    412
    189
    128
See reviews for
3,658
648
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in OF/QNBRM Suite. My room was semi clean. I have issues with lent & hair left in bed linens, but everything else was good. Stocked cooking utensils in full kitchen! Top floor, great OCEAN VIEW but overlooks "private" balconies. Would prefer 2 bathroom with kids but a great choice for budgeting.

Room Tip: Was on top floor, very good ocean view, but you look down onto private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort, and thank you also for staying here with us. Our housekeeping staff does a great job with making sure your room is clean and fully stocked with most anything you may need. Since we have 16 different types of rooms, maybe next time you can choose one of the room types that has a second bathroom, which will also give you a bit more room.

Thank you again for choosing Dunes Village Resort. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed in a 2 bedroom and loved it. This time we stayed in a studio and was very surprised how large our room was. From the time we checked in, everyone is so polite and sociable. From the front desk, the maid, and everyone working here have made this vacation so pleasant. Would not hesitate to come back soon.

Room Tip: Definitely choose an ocean front unit and you will have a beautiful view overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you next time for a MONTH!

Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent place for kids. Two great waterparks. Very clean rooms. Very friendly employees.
Great access to beach.
Our unit was a privately owned condo unit which was very clean and maybe it is more so because it has a private owner.
Our mattresses and pillows were very comfortable.
It is in a very quiet, pretty residential area.
I liked the fact that staff came around periodically to check ID bracelets to make sure that you didn't walk in off the street to use the water park.

Room Tip: Angle rooms with an ocean view are great. Did not notice any strong chlorine smell. Plenty of towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid54456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Whether you are in one of the private units or one managed by Dunes Village Resort, our units are all clean and well maintained, as is our entire property. Dunes Village Resort takes pride in the product thatwe offer, and it shows.

Our staff is the best on the beach in the way of friendliness, because we know what the word "hospiality" means.

We hope to see you back here again for another wonderful weekend (or more). Until then...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel staff went out of their way to meet our needs both at check-in and throughout our visit. The oceanfront balcony had a beautiful view and since this property is about a mile north of the concentrated hotel zone, it was quiet and yet not far from all the activity. I would only consider staying oceanfront at this property. Being "off-season" we were able to look at more than one room before checking in--there was a noticeable difference in the "newness" of the rugs, etc., but we were fully pleased with the room we received. It is not the newest on the block but we were very satisfied with the property. The restaurant(s) on the property are nothing special but handy in a pinch. We did not use any of the pool facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed almost all that we have to offer. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just stayed 5/1-5/4 with our 7 and 9 year old. The weather was cold, rainy and cloudy which wasn't the hotels fault! We sure were glad then for the indoor pools whihc the kids really enjoyed and the adults enjoyed as they are not so large you feel like you are losing your kids. The hot tubs are well positioned between water slides so you can see most of activity going on. The room was much larger and nicer then I thought it would be. Plenty of space for 5 people. Could easily get more in the two bedroom condo. The staff was very nice and beach would have been awesome if the weather was better. We still did some beaching and the kids from midwest don't care about the cold as they are use to it so they went in water. I also liked the activities they had for kids. We didn't do many but they enjoyed what they did like making hats. For adults the vudo juice was great and the food was quite good. I would stay here again. I can see why it's voted top of class for families. If I came to Myrtle Beach without kids I'd probably stay closer to boardwalk as it seemed like allot of stuff and restaurants/bars are down there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi_w123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. Kids are our specialty, with all that we have to offer in the way of entertainment. From 30.000 square feet of water park area to year round childrens activities, there is always something to keep those kiddos occupied.

Our staff is the best on the beach, and will continue keep you happy when you come. We hope that you will be back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dunes is a great place for the kids. I personally loved the beach access and friendly staff. Our suite was a two-bedroom two-bathroom, kitchen, laundry and angle-oceanfront on the ninth floor. It was perfect for my husband and I, mother-in-law and two kids. The one bedroom had two queen beds and the other (mine and hubby's) was a king with private bathroom. The play area outside was great for our 4 year old and our 12 year old enjoyed the waterslides. We will probably choose here again upon returning to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer. Our rooms are good sized, and our amenities cannot be beat! Kids and adults alike seem to always be having fun around here.

We hope you find your way back to Myrtle Beach soon for another Dunes Village Resort experience. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing