We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Stay at the DUNES!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT Stay at the DUNES!”
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Just got back from the Dunes today, and was not dissapointed. Read the reviews before we booked, and was worried that it was out of the way, etc., but we found that it was a short 5 to 10 minute drive to area attractions.

We had a 1 bedroom Queen oceanfront, which was nice, clean. We didn't spend much time in the room, so might not get ocean front next time we go, but was cheap enough, and what a view!

Staff was excellent. Pools were great, beach clean, just beautiful.
I got dropped off with the 2 sleepy children at night, and hubby
parked across street, really wasn't that big of a deal. We will be sure to return to the Dunes!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lsj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,675
    1,307
    467
    224
    148
See reviews for
4,106
698
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2008

This place is absolutely wonderful. My kids wanted to live there LOL. The service and staff were great. Very clean and beautiful facility. Will come here every year. Thanks!

  • Liked — indoor waterpark
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keerstja0245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2008

The Dunes Village Resort is definitely one of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds are very clean and inviting. The room was a lot nicer than I had expected (based on online reviews (not negative) and pictures. Very clean, 3 balcony's, flat screen TV's everywhere, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, etc... My family owns a condo in Myrtle Beach, but I have a feeling I will be staying at this place again!

  • Liked — 3 Balcony's, 5 flat screen TV's and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EMestizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Dunes and loved it. I don't even know where to begin. We got to the hotel just before the check-in rush began so we didn't have to wait too long. But it got really busy shortly after that. The room was fabulous. 3 bedroom angle ocean front on the 14th floor. What a view. We have been to myrtle beach many times over the years but I have to say this was one of the best views we have had.

I have 4 children ages 4 - 12 and they loved everything. The indoor waterparks in both buildings, the outdoor pools and lazy river as well as the beach. More than enough to entertain the children. The kitchen in the room was well stocked. We ate in every night but one and it was easy enough to do so. The washer and dryer are a real plus at the end of the day when everyone is full of sand ......... just throw everything in and it is clean for the next day. 3 bathrooms ........ one with a jacuzzi tub we really were spoiled. All of the staff was friendly and our cleaning lady did a fantastic job.

The only inconveniences were the parking garage being across the street. Made it kind of difficult the day we bought groceries. My husband left us at the front of the hotel with the groceries while he went to park the car across the street. And yes like others have said before me be careful crossing ocean blvd. from the garage it can be tricky.

I also found the hotel difficult to navigate. There are 3 sets of elevators and depending on where your room is determines which set you use. We were on the south side of the palmetto tower so we actually had to go outside the main reception area and down a ramp or flight of stairs to get to our elevator. If we were in the indoor pool we also had to do the same. Kind of uncomfortable if it was cool outside. The palms indoor pool was just as incovenient because they were paving the walk way between the two buildings and had it all blocked off. So you had to either go via the beach or the main sidewalk out front. When we were leaving it looked like they were almost finished with the paving so I am sure it will be open soon.

All in all had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back next year !!!

  • Liked — room with a view
  • Disliked — layout of the hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on a weekend get away. I love this hotel, it is one of the newer model hotels in the area. We got a great price and the rooms were great. The hotel has one of the best indoor heated water parks i have been to. I would stay here again, and next time i will bring friends.

  • Liked — Indoor waterpark
  • Disliked — Manger was not a people person
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank collegeunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

I enjoyed every day of my stay (April 15-25) with my wife and two children -- my 6 year old daughter was always busy -- swimming pool, beach, ocean, other Myrtle Beach attractions. To avoid repeating other posts I will summarize few positive and negative points.

+ You got children 5 to 15 and need a vacation spot where they can be entirely on their own for the most part of the day? Go Dunes Village!
+ You want to sleep with balcony doors open to listen to the surf sounds any time during the night? Like fresh and warm ocean air? Go there!

- BAD sound isolation -- any door closed, any child scream outside - you or, even worse, your just nursed to sleep baby will wake up. Bring you WD40 with you - squeaky bedroom doors were another part of the problem.

- The room layout of living area facing the beach, bedroom to the opposite side -- Oceanside Queen suite -- aggravates the sound problem. Only after I started to sleep in the living area bed I had the luxury of the ocean view and surf sounds during the night.

- WiFi does not work outside the lobby area -- but bring or buy an ETHERNET CABLE - and you will have a very fast and free connection in room. The ethernet sockets besides phone sockets are powered and provide the same network as in the lobby area.

Will I stay at the Dunes Village again? Perhaps.
Will I recommend it to my friends with children? Most definitely.

-A.

  • Liked — ocean view, room size, value, indoor aquapark 9am-11pm, speedy check-in and check-out
  • Disliked — no sound isolation, room layout, parking across a 4-lane street with no marked crossings
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnatolyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Our family recently returned from Spring break at the Dunes Village in Myrtle beach. Having never been to the area we were relying on the advice of online sites to steer us to a good location. This was probably in the top 2 places we have ever stayed. The condo was extremely nice. It was VERY clean which is a huge priority to me! The view was magnficient. With the in house kitchen (dishwasher microwave stove fridge dishes/pans etc)and laundry we could have easily just stayed at the condo the whole time. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath ocean view which had 3 patio dooors with a wrap balcony overlooking the ocean/beach. We had 3 flat screen tvs with DVD players and in room free high speed internet. The master bath was larger than the one in my house and was decorated very nice. The housekeeping leaves cool towel origami which our daughter loved! The outdoor pool was really nice and the indoor waterpark was really neat for kids. Since you can go between the 2 towers there is a lot of variety. They had some issues with the lazy river which required it to be drained but it was filled the next day although it appeared to have alot of sand (I think)in it so we did not get in. The online booking was not working so we called by phone to book and the staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions. We did request an email confirmation 3 times and never did receive it. We will definitely return for another vacation to this place. One note it is a little confusing that there are 2 towers when you book. the Palmetto is the "older" tower and the "Palms" (where we stayed) is the newer tower. The Palmetto has the main check in desk/ restaurant/gift shop but the Palms has 24hour staff and a newer facility with an awesome breakfast buffet. Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Spectacular room, clean and away from busy area.
  • Disliked — We had to leave?
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mullettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,864 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing