We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Family Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just recently visited for a little family getaway and had a great time and even saw some snow. The kitchen was helpful so the kids could enjoy the waterpark longer and not have to dress for dinner. The waterpark had staff walking around making sure there were no problems and testing the water. The website could read "fully equipped kitchen". I was unsure whether the kitchen had dishes/pans or not. We will definitely go back for another winter getaway

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Dunes Village Resort Experience with the world. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our water parks so much.

We do not advertise "fully equipped kitchen," however all of our units do have at least a small stove, refrigerator and utensils. Also on property we offer 2 full restaurants to satisfy almost any taste.

It makes us so happy to hear that the water park staff worked hard to ensure you ahd all of your needs met, and the water was chemically balanced.

We hope to see you next winter, if not sooner. Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,363
    1,205
    420
    190
    129
See reviews for
3,699
655
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My parents brought my friend and i to myrtle to shop go places and to find a nice hotel in for my birthday weekend. We stayed here on the 10th floor and has an amazing view of the beach but my mom is terribly afraid of heights. The lifeguards were friendly. I loved everything about this room. It was spacey, super clean, and the washer and dryer came in handy. The only bad thing about the room was that the sliding doors to the balcony were hard to open. Other than that I would enjoy coming here for spring break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebraprints94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are so happy to hear that your birthday weekend was such a success, and we were glad to be a part of it. THanks for choosing Dunes Village Resort. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Resort was recommended by friends and was as advertised. We had an ocean front suite with full kitchen and a nice patio. It was a cold weekend so didn't get to sit out much though.
Water parks were nice (although the outside walk between the 2 was really cold) and the kids had fun. It did get quite crowded on Saturday.
All staff was great except the front desk where it was slow and disinterested. Tiffany in the Captain's Cafe was fantastic and really 'gets it' when it comes to delivering great service.
Pricing in Jan/ Feb at < $100 per night made this a great deal and hotel is close to attractions (aquarium etc).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC_Dawg1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your Dunes Village Resort vacation. We are glad to hear that you found us to be as you expected.

The walk between the 2 buildings is something that a lot of people do not understand. The reason we do not have a covered walkway between the 2 buildings is because we do not own the property between the 2 buildings. It is owned by the city of Myrtle Beach, so we are not allowed to build anything on it. I wish that were not the case, and hope that one day it changes. In the meantime, whenever you come in the cooler months, make sure to pack a cover up of some sort.

Thank you for mentioning Tiffany at the Captains Cafe. She is a delight to have on staff, and works very hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of.

We look forward to having you back sometime soon. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a Great Choice my wife and I made to take our Kids to Myrtle beach durring the Winter..It has 2 indoor water parks and the Kids loved it.3 Great Waterslides and Hot tubs for the Adults and the Staff was Real Nice and helpful and Importanly the Rooms we're very Clean!

We will deffinately be taking our kids here agian!

Room Tip: Any of the Rooms will be money well spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed all that we have to offer.

Did you know that we have a year round Activities Deaprtment that offers scheduled fun every day, all year? And we also have a 9 hole mini golf course that may look small, but is very challenging. And basketball, tennis and volleyball courts, too.

Waterslides, hot tubs, pool tables, ping pong, and so much more! THe fun never stops around here.

Thanks again for joining us. We cannot wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time here when we stayed. The resort is clean, the rooms are well equipped, and the staff is friendly. The indoor water park is cleaned and well staffed, as well as a great option to get away from the heat or the rain for that matter. I have recommended this hotel to many of my friends and they too have loved it. I also liked the area of Myrtle this is located in. It is a bit quieter and more family friendly area. You really don't even need to leave the resort, it has everything you need. However it is a short drive to many of Myrtle Beach's main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Quiet, convenient, clean......you hit some of the wonderful aspects of Dunes Village Resort, and we appreciate your noticing.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. And thank you for telling all your friends! Word of mouth has been our best advertising, allowing us to grow and add fun things. The newest addition is a fun play center in place of out current playground. I wont spoil the surprise, but it is COOL!

We hope to see you soon for some more family fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a weekend trip to Myrtle Beach for some shopping and a night out. This place is as advertised-family friendly, and well maintained. We has a king ocean view suite, which was clean and comfortable. The desk staff were pleasant and helpful. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant. They have a large parking garage directly across the street. Hotel is easy to access from either 501 or 22. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do and see. Lots of families there, making use of the indoor pool and lazy river.

Bottom line-I will stay here again when we go back to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstrunk5040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We love that bottom line! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay here at Dunes Village Resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us "clean and comfortable" as well as convenient.

We look forward to your next visit. Hope it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My 84 year old mother stayed for a month and was well taken care of. My husband and I brought her down and stayed a week, We let the frount desk know and they checked on her often.All of the staff management,were freindly and her room was clean and well taken care of. When we came back down to pick her up, the staff paid for her meal the last day and even knew her by name and said they would miss her. We have stayed here often and this was the only hotel we would ever consider leaving her. She already wants to make plans for next year!!!!! BEST family hotel EVER!

Room Tip: room 1406 has a great view,and no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. It warms our hearts to know that you feel safe leaving your mother in our midst. We love our monthly guests and offer many fun options to entertain them while they are here. We try to get to know them, if they let us, and we always hope to see them back the following year.

Many of our "Snowbirds" come back year after year, so it is like family coming home for a visit! I am happy to hear that this is the only place you would consider leaving your mother. We will continue to treat her like family as long as you will let us! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing