We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay... for the most part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Dunes Village shortly after Christmas 2012 in an ocean front king studio. We would give the room a full 5 stars for a moderately priced hotel. However, we would only give the waters parks 3 stars.

Although the water parks looked just as fabulous in person as online, there was one big problem. There was way too much chlorine odor. It would burn your eyes even if you were merely walking through.

The first night, I let my kids swim for about 30 minutes. They both started coughing even though they were not sick, and they did not feel well and could not take it any more. (A lot of other people were coughing too) We looked around for a towel in vain but all the towel racks were empty. We were told more towels would be brought soon. We could not stay in the pool area any longer because of the overpowering chlorine, so we traipsed back to our room in 40 degree weather soaking wet. It was not fun.

We let management know about the situation with the chlorine, and they said they would let the pool staff know. The next day, the situation had improved quite a bit, but we had to limit our swimming because the chlorine was still too strong. The lazy rivers and slides were really fun. I just wished we could have used them more.

We really wanted to get into a hot tub, but we could not stand the chlorine any more, so on the 3rd and final day, we got into the OUTDOOR hot tub, and the chlorine in it was just right, and we enjoyed ourselves a lot. The other people in the outdoor hot tub were also complaining about the high chlorine indoors.


THE GOOD:

*The room looked new and was tastefully decorated

*There was a separate vanity area outside the bathroom that was convenient

*The king bed was comfortable. However, the queen sleeper sofa was not very comfortable.
Its mattress could have been thicker. You could feel the springs easily. However, this is kind of expected for a sleeper sofa.

*All of the staff was very helpful and friendly, from front desk staff, to maintenance, to housekeeping. You can tell management trains them to be friendly.

*The housekeeping was absolutely immaculate.

*Although you have to park in a parking garage across the street, it is a very short walk with little traffic. No problem at all.

*Assuming you have a car, most things that you would want to see or do are close by. There are lots of restaurants within a couple minutes drive.


I think this could be a great hotel if the chlorine situation were fixed. I can tell the management and staff try very hard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate you taking the time toshare your experience.

Dunes Village Resort is very lucky in finding the right staff to keep all of our guests happy. We have people who understand the concept of hospitality, ensuring your stay is perfect. It is noce to continually hear how fantastic our staff is, since they work so hard.

The chlorine levels are continually tested in all of our pools. We maintain our levels according to DHEC standards, testing and logging the tests 4-5 times daily. I am sorry that this affected your stay.

We hope that you get back here to see us again. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,919)
There are newer reviews for Dunes Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,957 - 3,963 of 5,919 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Admiral's Room Restaurant is the best breakfast buffet at the beach with do-it-yourself waffles to delight children of all ages to pancakes made by order. No leaving the site and an ocean view to enjoy while enjoying breakfast. The price is right and the service a delight.

The indoor water park is an oasis on chilly days with lots to do in a balmy 80 degrees. It passes the pickiest test for cleanliness.

The children's program is great. My two enjoyed the magic show and balloon stylings of the great GREG HOLT. They also loved with whipped cream eating contest.

Service with a smile from check-in to check-out.

The off-season rates sealed the deal - loved those.

Room Tip: Laundry room in the Palms Tower is on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

You sound like you work for our advertising agency! Your descriptions of Dunes Village Resort are perfect! Fun, food, and friendly faces make for a perfect vacation. Twice in 6 months says a lot for us and what we offer!

We appreciate your loyalty, and cant wait to have you here again in the next few months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our 3rd time to Dunes Village. And probably last.
We stayed for 5 days and out of 5 days Housekeeping only came in one time (!!!)
I called 3 times to ask for towels Shampoo and toilet paper.
Jacob said someone will come over shortly - never happened.
Finely they came at 10pm with One Shampoo - said they were out, no toilet paper or trash removal.
I ended up driving to the near by CVS to get Shampoo and Toilet paper. I had to take out the trash my-self.
For $220 a night for a 2 bedroom condo I would expect better service.
At check out I asked to talk to a manager - I was told the manager for the building I stayed in is out and Missy is in the other building but will not have time to talk to me in the next 30 min.

Room Tip: The south building is better with older children. The breakfast is nice. The angel rooms on the nort...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ohad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to Dunes Village Resorts' normal standards of excellence coupled with superb customer service. From your past experiences here, you know that we are a top notch facility with so much to offer.

Again, please accept my apologies. We appreciate your taking the time to offer feedback, as it allows us to grow and improve. Next time you come to see us, expect to see these areas improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family has had the great pleasure of coming to this resort for the past 3 years. It keeps all 3 of my children happy from my teenager to my youngest. My husband and I enjoy ourselfs too. They offer two different option's for cafe's, putt putt, a playground, crafts, a spa, just to name some of the plus of the outside of this resort right on the beach. The rooms all have a full kitchen, for those like me who like to cook, washer and dryer, dishwasher, and atleast a partial view of the ocean

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbaillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Your description of Dunes Village Resort is awesome! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts! It makes us so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed all we have to offer. We try to keep it fresh and exciting around here, with year round activities and diversions.

Thank you again for staying with us. Come back and see us agian soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great package included breakfast for two every day! Had wonderful oceanfront room!

Best part of stay was the Christmas Buffet! The wait staff was fantastic!

Liked the security of the parking garage--entry with hotel key!

Love those off-season rates!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We love to hear how awesome we are!

The Christmas Buffet was a first for us. Our Chef puts out a phenominal spread that cannot be beat! We are thrilled to hear that the buffet was the highlight of your stay. We plan on making that an annual tradition!

We hope to see you before next Christmas. Thanks again for choosing Dunes Village Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is great for families who have younger aged children. There isn't much to do for teens or adults though. The indoor water parks are great and children can spend hours in there and never get tired!! One bad thing about this hotel is the parking garage. The parking garage is across the street and depends on what tower you're staying in, could mean a long walk. This wouldn't be so bad unless it's raining like it was when my family went. They have valet parking but the price is outrageous! All in all it's the perfect family place to stay in myrtle!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your Dunes Village Resort stay. We are happy to hear that you found us to be a perfect family place. Did you know that we were the "Travelers Choce 2012 Winner" in the family category? It is quite an honor, and we are proud of that designation.

We hope you get back to see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved the Dunes Village Resort with only a few exceptions. 1. The indoor water park (the reason we went there) was indoor...however to get to them from the room we were in we had to go outside and walk to them. To get to the other water park we also had to walk outside to get to it. In the summer it probably wouldn't be so bad, but we went in December. The indoor water parks were the whole reason we picked Dunes. Also you have to walk to the parking deck which is down the street a little bit from one of the towers. The Wi-Fi is also not that great. I had a hard time logging in and staying connected. Otherwise it was a very nice place to stay and the staff is AMAZING!

Room Tip: Go oceanfront!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Dunes Village Resort get-away. It makes us happy to hear that our outstanding staff is worth mentioning. We are very proud of the employees we have here, because they all know the true meaning of hospitality.

To address your concerns, I need to share that the property between our 2 buildings is not owned by Dunes Village Resort. That is the only reason there is not a warm covered walkway for the winter months. It is just a short walk, from door to door, but ytes, it is outside. The parking garage is across the street, but we do offer valet parking and also a golf cart shuttle to get you to and from if you are not in the mood for the walk.

Wifi is on the mend. We have had our share of technical difficulties, but we have isolated the culprit, and expect to have a solution in place very soon!

We definitely hope you get back to see us. Hope it is soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,574 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $91 - $1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing