We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Airy, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved the Dunes Village Resort with only a few exceptions. 1. The indoor water park (the reason we went there) was indoor...however to get to them from the room we were in we had to go outside and walk to them. To get to the other water park we also had to walk outside to get to it. In the summer it probably wouldn't be so bad, but we went in December. The indoor water parks were the whole reason we picked Dunes. Also you have to walk to the parking deck which is down the street a little bit from one of the towers. The Wi-Fi is also not that great. I had a hard time logging in and staying connected. Otherwise it was a very nice place to stay and the staff is AMAZING!

Room Tip: Go oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Dunes Village Resort get-away. It makes us happy to hear that our outstanding staff is worth mentioning. We are very proud of the employees we have here, because they all know the true meaning of hospitality.

To address your concerns, I need to share that the property between our 2 buildings is not owned by Dunes Village Resort. That is the only reason there is not a warm covered walkway for the winter months. It is just a short walk, from door to door, but ytes, it is outside. The parking garage is across the street, but we do offer valet parking and also a golf cart shuttle to get you to and from if you are not in the mood for the walk.

Wifi is on the mend. We have had our share of technical difficulties, but we have isolated the culprit, and expect to have a solution in place very soon!

We definitely hope you get back to see us. Hope it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,238
    1,157
    396
    177
    126
See reviews for
3,535
623
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have gone to Dunes Village around Christmas (not on Christmas) for the past two years. It is a great value for families. We had 4 adults, 4 kids in the 2 bedroom/4 queen condo and stayed 2 nights. Pros: water park is fun for kids, there are activities for kids (magic show, cookie decorating, etc), can play outside in sand or playground if warm enough, condo was clean, laid out well, and had enough space (for a short trip!), very nice to have washer/dryer in condo, restaurants at Dunes Village are good, service was good and staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the resort. Cons: parking in remote deck is a pain although this is common in Myrtle and the valet parking is only $8/day (or if you're there just 2 days, there is enough to do w/o leaving resort), wish there were more bathrooms near water park area, the pool chemicals in the waterpark start to get overwhelming after a while--another reason that I emphasize this is a good place for a short trip. We hope to return in future years around the holidays--you can get some great deals if you are able to go before Christmas!

Room Tip: I think the angled view rooms are all in Palms tower which has bigger water slides. If you have lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATD971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful detail you provided regarding your recent stay at Dunes Village Resort. We are so glad to hear that your party of 8 had an enjoyable time.

While the chemicals in the pool may be overwhelming, they are tested 4 - 5 times a day to ensure the safety of out guests. If they are off by even a little bit, we shut the pool down until the chemicals are right again.

We chose to locate the parking garage across the street from the resort to maximize the amount of oceanfront views from our rooms. We offer valet to alleviate the half block walk for those that wish to be pampered fully. We also have a golf cart that can transport you to and from the garage as well.

We hope you get a chance to get back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Dunes from 12/23-12/27 and it was an overall great stay! I would like to thank Jordan S. for booking us a fantastic vacation of rest and relaxation. Overall I have no complaints about this particular stay. Our 14 year old son enjoyed himself as he normally does and for the most part the hotel staff and the other hotel guest were very polite. The breakfast in the Admiral's room was very filling as usual and Shawn who we always ask for remembered us and catered to our every need..."he needs a raise" by the way! :) I almost didn't book with the Dunes Village this time because of the rude person at the front desk Jackie who I spoke with when I first called to ask for some information before booking. But after requesting to speak to a manager...Jordan S. one of the managers saved our day and our vacation. When we arrived Tina told us that we were not in the room that we expected on the 5th floor as Jordan had promised but in the opposite building on the 2nd floor...I was upset to say the least. But she assured us that if we did not like the room she would try to find us a room that was more suitable for us during our stay. We went to our room #251 and it was very spacious, clean, and QUIET most important to me outside of cleanliness! Although it wasn't directly oceanfront as I would have liked it to be we did still have a great if not fantastic view of the ocean. Did I mention that it was QUIET! :) The pool area was congested as usual and the only real complaint that I have is that I feel that the resort should do more about keeping small children and I do mean small children out of the spa pools. One guy was in there with his 13month old little girl and there were a lot of people who don't have a clue out social mannerisms but that is not the hotels fault. All in all a great stay, now if they just do something about the rude front desk person Jackie and the other rude lady who I spoke with yesterday morning before we left about a late checkout...it would be great! Thanks Jordan S. and Shawn for all of your help and thanks for making our Christmas vacation at the beach a memorable one! :) And while you do have to walk to the parking garage across the street to get your vehicle it's well lit and kept clean. It was also great to have our SUV protected from the storm that hit while we were there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCutlerFosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all we have to offer. I am sorry to hear that we started off on the wrong foot, but very glad that your vacation turned out so wonderfully. Jordan is the best of making sure our guests are happy.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We went to Dunes mid october for a family vacation. I loved it! All the good reviews are true. Clean, excellent service, activities, an all around good time! I cat wait to go back and the only things I would change is getting a bigger room (2br instead of 1br so that the kids are not hogging the living room space. It was little crowed with them on the sofa bed and there was no room for the dining table after the beds came out. We wound up putting it on the balcony), also I will go ahead and splurge on the ocean front room whereas there is no where to see the ocean from up high unless you have oeanfront room. The angled view is ok but you really are just looking at the hotel next door instead of that beautiful ocean!!! The washer and dryer was a godsend, really came in handy. Also I advise you to take advantage of the full sized refrigerator and stock up for breakfast and lunch so you can enjoy the resort during the day without having to get dressed, get the car out of the garage and go out. There are several grocery stores on the main road and beach stores with cool (and cheap) souvenior stuff. In closing Dunes is our new family vacation spot, we can't wait to come back next year! One more thing.... go to Broadway at the Beach and plan a whole day because there is sooo much to do and see, it is AWESOME, you will not be disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrstlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
What a wonderfully detailed review of Dunes Village Resort! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much. We strive to supply everything you could want in a vacation, from planned activities and diversions to fantastic restaurants to choose from. So if you don't feel like going to the grocery store, stop by the Captains Cafe for a lovely meal!

Thank you again for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel was okay, but I did not like having to walk so far to get the our SUV - but this is expected in Myrtle Beach. The internet was the worst! Both of our laptops kept getting bumped off, that is, if we could ever connect. The pools were okay, but not as nice as we thought they would be. We will not return to this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jurassictour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry to hear that you did not like all that we have to offer. We chose to locate the secured parking garage across the street from our buiuldings in order to maximize our ocean views. We offer valet service if you choose, and we also have a shuttle that can take you from the farthest building to the elevators in the parking deck.

Our internet service has been scrutinized and it has been determined that we need an upgrade. This project is expected to begin in the next few weeks, so if you do visit again, wireless should not present a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were visiting our son and his family in North Carolina and booked an overnite at Dunes Village Resort mainly because of the indoor water park. Great choice! The rooms were comfortable, the water park was perfect! There were also other activities for the kids. The resort is right on the beach. We were there the weekend before Christmas. The place was busy, but you never felt rushed or crowded. The staff was friendly and helpful. They make you feel like part of their family. We only booked for a one nite getwaway. Had I known it was so nice, I would have booked 2 nites. We will definitely book Dunes Village Resort the next time we visit Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The angle beachfront has a view of the ocean - less expensive than a full ocean view, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. I am thrilled to hear that you wish that you had booked some extra time with us. That means you will come back!

Our staff is the friendliest on the beach, and we treat you like family because we think of you as family. So come see your Dunes Village Family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I chose this resort as our vacation stay after reading wonderful reviews. The saff is exceptionally friendly. I was checked in by Mallori and she was very friendly. She made sure we knew one of the pool areas was closed and told us when it was expected to reopen. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath room. The room was very clean. Bathrooms were stocked appropriately with towels. The rooms looked exactly as they did on the website. The pools and waterpark looked just like the website as well. There was also table tennis, Wii and other games if you did not want to swim. There was something for everyone to do. We stayed in the Palms Tower. The waterpark is in the Palmetto Tower. The only down side to this property is that the two towers are not connected. It was a cold, windy walk from one tower to another. The property also had a toddler playground, beanbag throw game and swings outside. I would love to visit when the weather is warmer so that I could enjoy the outdoor amenities as well. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a getaway at a family friendly resort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Freya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate all feedback, but we really like to hear that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. You covered all the fun, so I will just add that we have 2 fantastic restaurants to cover your food needs.

I wish we were able to connect the two waterparks, but the buildings are separated by property that is owned by the city.

Mallori is a treasure, and we are happy to hear that she impacted your stay. Mallori goes above and beyond in all that she does, and she is very good with our guests.

We look forward to having you back again soon. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,819 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,750 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
5.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing