We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for kids/toddlers too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
“Good place to stay for kids/toddlers too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

I went to Dunes last week with my husband and two year old. Here are some details of our trip. Upon check-in the little loop was packed and the whole process was stressful, mainly because you have to do all the work. My husband stayed in the car with our toddler who was ready to get "out" "out". There wasn't a bellboy in sight. So I went in and checked in, went smoothly. I asked if they had valet, because of all craziness outside and she pretty much laughed and said no. She told me which elevator to go into, but didn't tell me that the 14th floor was the Penthouse. So when we finally loaded all our stuff onto the cart we went to the outside elevator only to see no "14." So went to the other elevator, same thing. Finally a cleaning lady informed us of this info. Then my husband had to park across the street amd then walk back over still carrying other stuff. Our room was a 2bdrm deluxe angle ocean front. We lucked out with an end unit and the view was great! The room was very nice, although layout of whole facility, lacking signs and overall spacial placement was odd. The bedrooms were wonderful as were the bathrooms. Our living room though was uber tiny and the fold-out coach was not comfortable. The kitchen, you have to pretty much stock on your own. Bring paper towels, hand soap, dish soap, cork screw (we broke both of their b/c they were so cheap), can opener, coffee even with filters, etc. Oh and laundry detergent, shampoo, etc. The room was very clean, we chose not to have housekeeping throughout the entire stay as I had head of their inconvenient timing, plus they always wanted to come in during our toddler's nap time. The only bad thing that happened while we were there was two of their staff, maintenance I think, asked us how much it cost to stay in the penthouse where we were. I just thought it was tacky. The indoor water park was great, although slides were still missing when we were there. All in all, great place to stay, but requires some work to enjoy it with all you need to bring and unload.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank E9Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,482
    1,235
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,827
671
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here during Spring Break for 3 nights with three 12 year olds. Booked using the hotel website which is cheaper than calling the hotel direct. We stayed in the ocean front queen suite which had two queen beds in a bedroom, a sleeper couch, and a murphy bed (probably the most comfortable of them all). This worked out great for us because the kids had their own beds. The unit also had a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, stove, and dishwasher, all fairly new looking and clean. Nice view from the balcony, although on the 8th floor, you are above a much larger balcony on the 7th floor.

We picked this place because of the indoor water park. We knew it would be too cold to swim in the ocean, so we wanted it as a backup in case the weather was bad for mini-golf. Turns out we only went once, but the kids enjoyed themselves on the two water slides (they are short, but I even went on them a couple times), a small lazy river, and small pool with a basketball net. They were probably the oldest in the water...lots of 4-8 year olds. The hotel actually has two buildings, each with an indoor play area. But I don't think there is an indoor hallway between buildings so we had to walk outside (in the cold) to get to the other building. There was also a couple of beat up pool tables, ping pong, and shuffle board.

Parking is across the street in a parking garage. Was able to park on the first or second floors after dropping the family at the door. No crosswalks, so be careful crossing with kids.

The beach was nice and the outdoor pool looked inviting but it is small. Overall, that seemed to be my impression of the property...lots crammed into small areas. Not necessarilly a bad thing, but I don't think I would enjoy it as much during the busy summer season.

  • Liked — The room was narrow, but enough beds to accomodate a family of five comfortably.
  • Disliked — Not much privacy on the balcony.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 3pltdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALLOWAY, OHIO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Was arriving 90 MINS. earlier than the 3 P.M. check-in, so we called ahead to see if the room was ready. They stated room was ready, onlyto arrive and fine out it was not. The front desk stated not going to be ready until 3 PM. Only to come back at 3 PM, still not ready. We finally got into a room at 4 PM. Other than this problem or miscommunication, great place to take the kids or to just get away. Weather not the greatest, but indoor pool activities keep everyone busy. Very clean and new smelling.

  • Liked — INDOOR POOLS
  • Disliked — NOT ENOUGH SEATING IN INDOOR POOL AREA
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WINKGALLOWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
where it is cold
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

We researched hotels in Myrtle Beach extensively, and chose this hotel based on reviews we found on TripAdvisor.

It was lovely. Oceanfront balcony on the 12th floor. Nothing but sky and ocean. Really beautiful.

The room was comfortable. We had 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, a kitchen and living room. There was a pull out sofa, which we never used, and a murphy bed, which we did.
The kitchen had the bare basics. Plenty of dishes, but the pans and utensils were lacking.
The can opener/corkscrew was a joke. It refused to open either.
We have stayed at many hotels with kitchens and this was the first time that there were no coffee filters left from previous occupants. That isn't a complaint, just an observation.

Housekeeping was another story. Towels and toilet paper must be at a premium in this hotel. We asked for both and never received them. The front desk was happy to supply them, but why wouldn't housekeeping leave them? We ended up bringing extra towels up from the pool area just so we could shower. Speaking of shower, where is the shower curtain?

The 2 beds in the bedroom were made beautifully every day, and the maid even displayed my children's stuffed animals across the pillows. She never made the murphy bed, though. Maybe that was because I put it back into the wall and she didn't realise we had been sleeping in it. Either way.

While the place was spotless when we arrived, the room was not vaccumed during our entire stay. We are not overly messy people, but crumbs do happen.

Other than that, the pools/hot tubs/slides/lazy river were all wonderful! They claim adult slides will be in place in March of 2008, but as of Thursday March 27, 2008 they have not yet begun construction on them.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, but the bartenders graciously uncorked our wine for us when the corkscrew in our room failed us miserably.

All in all a great vacation. A fun friendly hotel with a beauriful view and comfortable beds. No major complaints ... all are small inconsequential annoyances. We would recommend this hotel to families.

  • Liked — The view and close proximity to the beach.
  • Disliked — No wireless (without a special cable) and no towels or toilet paper.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bunnyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

We just returned from our 2nd weekend getaway to Dunes Village Resort. Off season it is extremely affordable and the indoor waterparks are great! All the rooms are condos with ocean views. Both times we went with other families and rented 4BR condos. The 4BR Deluxe unit is so roomy! The first time we went (Dec 07) with 3 other couples and 8 kids and there was plenty of room. You never need to leave, all the units have full kitchens and the waterparks are right downstairs. I've never seen so many little happy smiling faces. The waterparks are open until 11:00pm , and (for all you parents), you can bring any type of beverage poolside as long as it is in a plastic cup (necessary with 8 children)! Just remember water shoes! The kids all ended up with BTS (bloody toe syndrome!) from pushing themselves around the lazy river. The waterpark in building one is much better than the one in the 2nd building, but it is just a quick walk across the parking lot. Great affordable winter escape, especially if you live within driving distance!. Look at the pictures on the Dunes Village website!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ross1family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fireandwater
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

This is by far the most beautiful and cleanest place in Myrtle Beach. Staff are super knowledgeable and very friendly. The food in Captain's Cafe is amazing and looks out to the ocean. The gaming room and the water slides were so much fun. Even the workout room was super clean and top notch equipment with flat screen TVs and music to enjoy your time working out. The room looks new and super clean with full kitchen inside and free internet.
Overall great place! Highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fireandwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

Great place to stay. We just spent a weekend there. Have stayed before; the new tower was under construction at that time. New tower is now completed and is very nice. Rooms are very spacy and clean and the water park and pools are wonderful. No complaints here - would highly recommend.

  • Liked — The clean rooms, beach location and the water park and pools
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dmintz3827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing