We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand-daughters' treat!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a wonderful short stay in Myrtle Beach. We arrived for a 3 day weekend in May of 2012. This hotel has everything for kids, and this may i add made the grand-parents job a little easier. Our little girl is 10, and she loved all the slides, the lazy river, the room, she was a very happy little girl. We were so impressed....we are planning another stay!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. You said the words I love to hear...."we were so impressed." That is the reaction we ar egoing for. From our beautiffuly landscaped front entryways to our nicely decorated rooms, and then to our entertaining water parks and delicious restaurants, it is all impressive. And our staff really knows what vacation means to our guests. We greet you with smiles, get you what you need, and even offer suggestions for other ways to enhance your stay.

Thanks again for staying with us. Can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,914)
There are newer reviews for Dunes Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,039 - 4,045 of 5,914 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked the special fall rate on Travelzoo and stayed for $69 a night with breakfast included. This was a terrific value for an oceanfront king studio.

I like that Dunes Village has so many things for families including the indoor water parks, putt-putt, playground and kids club. Overall, we had a terrific experience. I agree with another reviewer that the service from Sean, a waiter in the breakfast restaurant, was phenomenal. He knew how to work the crowd and had people hugging on him right and left. He truly loves to serve and make you feel at home!

There are a few things that kept me from giving a 5 out 5 score. The resort is a bit too spread out. I didn't like having to park across the street and walk across traffic, and I didn't like that the resort is split between two towers. Also, our room had some flies and a funky odor.

None of those things were deal breakers for me, though. We would definitely stay at Dunes Village again, especially if they offer another rate like the one we received.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmb578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Wow! That is a GREAT price! I am glad to hear that you liked what we had to offer. I apologize for the odor in your room. Hopefully you mentioned it to Housekeeping, because they have a spray that neutralizes most smells.

Gated parking is across the street to give us the ability to have the waterparks and rooms with a view of the ocean. We optomized our oceanfront property by not wasting it on a parking deck. We do offer valet parking, as well as a complimentary golf cart shuttle to get you to your car if you would rather not take the walk.

Thanks for writing about your stae at Dunes Village Resort. We hope you come back and see us real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at this resort at the beginning of April of this year, not knowing what to expect. When we pulled in I was impressed with the parking layout and the sights. Once we checked in and went to our room we saw that we got the perfect floor with the perfect room location. The view was beautiful and everything with the dunes was excellent. We are cancelling our disney trip to make sure we come back there at the end of April of next year and we plan on requesting the same identical floor and room! Hope we get it!

Room Tip: Make sure you get full ocean view, you can't beat it
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Dunes Village experience. We are honored to be considered your "best vacation ever" and hope to keep that title on your next stay.

Please, please understand that rooms are guaranteed by the room type only, not the location. We do our best to accomodate location requests, but sometimes it is just not possible, and we want you to know that up front. And who knows, maybe we can provide you with the venue for a BETTER vacation (if that is even possible).

We are looking forward to your next visit as much as you are! See you then!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Dunes Village. When we checked in the young lady at the front desk was very helpful and kind. Our room was clean and fully stocked with everything we needed. The hotel was clean inside and out. We ate at both The Captain's Cafe and The Admirals Room and both were great experiences. We got a package that included breakfast for all 3 mornings we were there. The first morning our server was Sean. He was very polite and thoughtful. He was very attentive and made sure we had all we needed and more. We asked to sit in his area the next morning because his service was so great. The 2nd morning he asked what we were having to drink and when we told him he said, "Ah, the normal". He remembered! The last morning we were there he had our drinks already made when he came to the table to greet us. He just has amazing customer service skills and honestly was probably the most memorable part of our stay there, aside from the fantastic ocean view of course.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KieRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

What a lovely review of your stay at Dunes Village Resort! We are so happy that you had such an enjoyable visit with us.

Thank you for mentioning Sean. Sean has been with us for many years, and is truly an amazing server. Just wait until next year - when you see him he will probably remember your order from this visit!

We hope you can get back here soon! Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second year staying at this resort. As with the first year this is still a great resort. This time we stayed in the palms tower, which I personally don’t think the rooms are quite as nice as the ones in the palmetto tower. But, the rooms are still spacious, clean, and nice. The resort as a whole is clean, friendly, and has plenty of things to do. They host plenty of events for kids/families to do throughout each day. The water park is great, which includes full size water slides, lazy river, hot tubs, etc.. But with all that said, we did run into a few minor problems this visit, that I feel, if avoided could have made our stay that much more enjoyable. The biggest issue was the constant slamming of a nearby fire door day and night. I feel that the resort should look into adjusting or replacing the "door closer" on all doors, so that way guest in the rooms nearby will not be disturbed by such noises. Another issue we had is when we had placed the "privacy please" sign on our door, so we could sleep in. During that time room service called our room (waking me up), asking (in a pressuring way) if we required service and if not just keep the sign on the door. I can't understand if she seen the sign "privacy please", why would she call and tell us to keep sign on the door?? I feel that guest displaying the “privacy please” sign should not be disturbed in any way. The last issue was that someone had left dead fish (bait) in the parking garage that was stinking up the place really bad. About 3 days later and after advising a few different staff members they finally removed it (This leaves me to think how long it might take them to resolve other issues?). I know these issues may seem minor to most, but I think with attention to correct these small details, it will make everyone's stay more enjoyable. Having listed our issues, I do not believe this to be the typical experience at this resort (As our first stay was perfect) and we will be returning for another stay next year.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near a fire door, and on the top floor for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Dunes Village Resort. You are correct! Details are what take our guests from "eh..." to "WOW!!!" I apologize for missing a few opportunities to wow you. As you said, this is not typical of how Dunes Village Resort operates, and we appreciate the fact that you realize that. We are currently in the season of "fine tuning" and we look forward to helping you say "WOW!" again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very pleased with this resort. My wife an I really enjoyed our Fall 2012 stay there.
Our room had been recently renovated with new sinks, granite countertops, and carpet and was in very good condition. The furniture and bedding were acceptable. Small flat screens.
The staff were continually cleaning, especially in the pool and public areas, and very friendly.
Seattle's Best Coffee just great thanks to Debra!
Locations is perfect, just the right distance from the congestion of the Myrtle Beach downtown.
Bar at the pool wasn't always open, could have used in the afternoon for a cold one.
We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Can't beat the ocean side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Looks like another job well done. When you leave Dunes Village Resort more relaxed that you arrived, then vacation was a success. Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad we were able to aid in the stress relief. If ever the outside bar is not open, you can get that "cold one" in our Captains Cafe. They are fully stocked to wet your whistle, and they have great food in there as well. Just a thought for next time....Hope that will be soon. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We love this place! We bring our grandchildren Christmas Day and they love it! It has become a tradition that they love! The indoor water park will keep children of any age entertained for hours! We park and don't move our car until our visit is over!
The service is great. Everything is clean and the staff is always very helpful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We love traditions! Especially if it involves coming back to Dunes Village Resort again and again! I am not sure how long you stay with us, but we have a New Years Eve tradition that involves a "Noon Years" party where the kids count down to noon. Are you here for that?

Thank you for letting the world know about your visit. We expect to see you soon, since Christmas is just around the corner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,181 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,561 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $91 - $1,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing