We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Resort!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I spent hours searching online for the best place for our family vacation. The Dunes Village Resort was the best of both world and I would highly recommend it to all families. It's right on the beach, plus they have 2 great indoor waterparks in their 2 side by side buildings. Each waterpark area has 2 waterslides, lazy rivers, and little tikes areas plus multiple hot tubs for the adults. We stayed in a 3 bedroom angle oceanfront room, and booked it around Jan to get the best deal on it. It slept 6 of us great, and we loved the room. Would recommend this resort to all families, we loved our stay!

Kurt from Nashville, TN

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom angle oceanfront room, and booked it around Jan to get the best deal on it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
"We loved our stay." Those are the best words you can use in our opinion. That means that we did everything perfect in your eyes, and that is our goal. We always want you smiling and happy (and of course rested) when you leave us. Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes VIllage Resort. We hope to have you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,477
    1,233
    430
    194
    131
See reviews for
3,821
670
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family and I would go down to the coffee shop before our outing to the beach. I have to say that Rondo, Mika, and KeKe were AMAZING people! They were funny, friendly, and their customer service was to die for! I wish everyone who served people were as personable and hard working as they were. I miss them already! If you stay at this hotel, PLEASE go and visit them!

Room Tip: Get the penthouse or room that faces the beach! AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Dunes VIllage Resort. We are happy to hear that our coffee shop crew took such good care of you. They are a wonderful example of what we try to portray at Dunes Village Resort: Friendly, fun, and excellent customer service. Thank you for noticing. We hope you get back here for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in December to celebrate my son's Birthday. The hotel is not clean. Stains on the furniture, musty smell in the room. The worst part was that my young children got horrible blisters on their feet from the indoor pool. The manager said that it was normal!!!!! They were bleeding!! And several families beside us had the same problem at the pool. The manager offered a 10% discount on future stays!! Big woop!!!!! And to make matters worse, my husband left his tempurpedic pillow and on the drive home realized and called to have them hold it and the housecleaning service swore they had not seen it!!!!! Really???? We have stayed there many times but this last visit ruined it forever!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate all feedback. The blisters on your childrens feet is not a normal occurance. In early December, we did some re-furbishing of the indoor lazy river and attached pool. The materials do not initially leave a smooth surface, but smooths down after a short period of time. I am sorry that you were not given that information, and I also apologize for the blisters.

I certainly hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are the resort you remembered fondly. We look forward to having you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Have stayed here 4 of last 5 years.... We skipped last year because of the deteriorating standards on every level. We chose to try it again hoping for improvement = NOT.... After driving 6 hours to get here we had to change rooms because it was still dirty at 3:30 pm .... Secured room 6 months in advance,,(DELUXE ?? ) only to end up with a room closest to the road. This year we have encountered staff using bad language to and from the pool area in front of kids .... Found master room key laying in our hallway dropped by room staff called her back to pick up = could not speak English... False Fire alarm at 1:30 had to evacuate 8 floors with 2 disabled seniors.... Non handicap Patrons allowed to park long term in handicap parking... Very Disappointed

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank impact1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Dunes Village Resort. I am troubled to hear of the issues you have encountered. Foul language anywhere, whether kids are present or not, is not acceptable, and I apologize for your exposure to that. Additionally, we try very hard to have all the rooms ready by 3pm, and I am sorry that it was not the case in your situation. We work to better our policies and procedures every day, and your review is not falling on deaf ears. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainelle,WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent last week at Dunes Village with some great friends and there kids..we had 3 kids and they had a blast... the outdoor pool was heated and I loved that... Floating in the lazy river was so relaxing... the kids would have there turn at the small slides and then we would all go to the big slides and have fun... Had one rainy day but the kids never noticed with so much to do inside the water park.. this was our second year staying here and I will not look for another place to stay... This is my choice for MB.... hope this review will be helpful to someone...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopperwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. We are happy to hear that a great time was had by all. It thrills us to know that we are now your resort of choice when staying in Myrtle Beach. We hope that you can come often! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Is a excellent Resort, with a close beach, water park and pools and more..
We realy enjoy our visit to this Resort, is our 4th time and next moths we'll go again.
Go and discover the fun!

Room Tip: Rooms in lower floor close to the water parks and everything..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Segousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dunes Village Resort would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to us! Four stays with a fifth in the works is awesome! We love seeing the same faces back again and again. It is proof that we are meeting your needs and wants. Thanks for your wonderful review. See you next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Creek, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I recently stayed the the Dunes Village resort. I had booked it through my timeshare. There was a mistake in the size of the unit. I had booked to sleep 12 people and had a 3 bedroom unit that slept 10. The night manager, I think his name was Ricky, was very helpful. He was able to move me to a condo unit that accomondated the 12 people. He was so very nice and personable! As a matter of fact, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this resort, especially to families since it has 2 waterparks and activities for children.
BW

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Dunes VIllage Resort. I am thrilled that Ricky was able to solve your problem to your satisfaction. Ricky is one of our finest assets. He works hard in all areas of this resort to ensure our guests happiness. Thank you for the recommendation to families. We are VERY family oriented here with all we have to offer for children of all ages. We hope you get back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen as one of the WORLD'S top 1% of Hotels by Expedia Insider's Select 2008 and Voted #2 in Family Hotels in the UNITED STATES by Travelers Choice Awards, Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size waterslides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing