We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesy hotels are fun!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Motel

Dolphin Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Motel
Save
You added Dolphin Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #201 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cheesy hotels are fun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

I really love Myrtle, and every time I go there with any of my friends, we always stay at the Dolphin. It is cheap, clean, and has a very friendly staff. I'm sure there are a billion different hotels to choose from, but I'd choose the Dolphin over them all.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2004

Whoever rated the Dolphin as "cozy" and a "palace" ostensibly grew up in a pig sty or had way too much to drink or hasn't yet recovered from the hangover. Nothing (and I mean NOTHING) in the rooms has been updated in several decades. The shower was so disgusting that I was ankle deep in water after one minute. Two of the three electrical outlets malfunctioned. There was so much sand in the carpets that I felt as if I was still on the bizeach. They tried to make the toilets appear clean by putting a generic "safety seal" around the seat, but when we lifted the seat there was waste remaining from the previous occupant. And lastly, the soap they provided caused my roommate to break out in the worst case of hives I've ever seen.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2003

Our relatives stayed here ove 20 years ago and thought it was a nice place. How things change. Looked like nothing had been updated in 20 years. Old sink sitting along side the motel, along other trash was not a great first impression, only about 12 TV stations, not even weather channel. Had to leave a room key deposit even though I paid with a credit card (they do not take American Express). You also had to pay for ice. The swimming pool to use is across a street at another motel.
About the only thing positive was the price, and I'm certain you can get something better for $59. I almost left after getting to the room, even though I already paid. Stay away.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2003

I want to say that my stay at the Dolphin Motel was very nice, and the staff made sure we were comfortable. Me an two friends stayed there from May 23-25 during BLACK BIKE WEEK. My opinion is that i will return to BLACK BIKE WEEK again, and i hope to stay at the DOLPHIN MOTEL again also. The area was prime an central to all the fun an festivities of this event, and we couldn't have found a better spot the whole time. I would appreciate any coupons or discounts that are available to me on staying again, and i will make use of them each year i return. Thanks, Joseph Taylor

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2003

We have stayed at the Dolphin motel each year that we visit Myrtle Beach for Spring or Summer break! The staff is great and the rooms are...well decent. The overall experience was great...it is definetly affordable! And best of all great people stay there! (I met a few cuties..one from NY inpartucular).....LOVED IT!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2003

My toddler daughter and I stayed at the Dolphin for a week summer 2001. It was great. Despite the low, low prices, I felt safe and comfortable there. We were in walking distance of downtown Myrtle, the ocean, the park-with playground, the libray and the grocery store. I would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2003

This was the nicest, cheap hotel i have ever been in. It seems really ghetto but it isnt......just kidding it is but it is cheap and nice. so ohh well. If you talk to the guy at the counter and be really nice he cuts ya a deal!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#93 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#85 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#131 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#45 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Park Motel
Sea Park Motel
#5 of 9 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 1505 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing