We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We just stayed again at the Grande Shores. We have stayed for many years and recommend the hotel to all our family and friends. The resort is one of the cleanest we have stayed at and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Their pools are awesome – you can be on the 1st floor where the grill and pool bar are or you can go to the 7th floor if you are looking for a quieter place to sun and swim. We have stayed in the hotel and in the condos. If you are looking for a great value, try the hotel. It is older but the rooms are large and clean. If you want something newer and more upscale, go with a condo. We have stayed at other places in Myrtle Beach but we keep coming back to Grande Shores – it’s a great family resort.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LittleRiverKwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2007

My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed here 5/31/07 to 6/3/07. We had an oceanfront room on the fifth floor. The location is great if you want to stay out of the traffic and noise. The parking garage is nice and the ground floor pool area was clean. We didn't use the 7th floor pool area. The indoor pool area was more like a sauna, steaming hot in there!
Our room was not the greatest. The multiple coats of paint were pealing, there was gum (we think) stuck to the carpet, the floor by the door had about a 3:12 pitch toward the hallway and the stove was rusty and old looking. The refrigerator appeared to be fairly new but did have a broken shelf in the door. When the door was closed you could still see light around it so we never really felt secure. The cement balcony was cracked.
Tip: If you want to use the internet connection make sure your computer is set to automatically search for an IP address and is not set to use a static IP address. We found out the hard way. We called the front desk and they called their IT guy. He came in, checked two boxes on my internet settings and was gone in less than a minute. They charged us $30.00 for this "service"! You would have thought someone at the front desk could have suggested we try that instead of calling the IT guy.
If we ever go back to Myrtle Beach we'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank OhioMustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

We wanted to stay in a quieter place, not a resort in the middle of the crowds or major hustle and bustle - and that's exactly what we got - more family oriented, no nightlife with loud music and late night parties. We had an oceanfront room with full kitchen and balcony. How wonderful to wake up to the sound of the surf, stand on the balcony and hear the ocean while watching the sun rise.

Pros: No sales pitch; no noisy partiers at night; indoor parking on same level as the room; beach access from hotel grounds; plenty of pools - 2 outdoor, 1 indoor, 2 lazy rivers and 5 hot tubs (1 indoor); poolside grill for lunch; organized activities for children daily;

Cons: no restaurant in the hotel - just a cafe for breakfast and dinner; not enough supervision of children in the pools, promised WiFi - computer connection was often not working and when it was, was so weak as to be useless; construction on the main street; smell of trash in the parking area - at times was VERY strong; location is very strange to get to - get detailed directions from hotel - lol yes, we got VERY lost!

Will we return again? yes, gladly. The location was perfect for us - but would make teenagers nuts with boredom. There's no boardwalk with vendors or other entertainment available. The main highway is just 2 blocks away but there's lots of shopping and nothing for teens.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nanarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Stayed right on the ocean - beautiful view, great price, clean room and very convenient with the kitchenette available.

We loved the staff, especially a lobby customer service person named Crystal who helped us rent a car and did it with a nice friendly smile and sweet conversation. We brought our one-year old son with us and she had lots of suggestions of where to go, eat, etc. for us.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meyer_debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

Hotel sits right on the beach with great views from the balcony. We stayed in 607 (end unit) that supplied a wonderful view of the entire beachfront to our left. Cleaning staff did a very good job with the rooms. The pools (both indoor and outdoor) were very nice. For the money we paid, it was a very good value. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We reserved our condo on Expedia and later got an email stating that we had to be 25 to stay in the condo after we had already paid. After calling the Resort, they were going to downgrade us to a hotel room facing the ocean but leave the price that we had paid for a condo the same. Upon arrival we kindly explained how we should be receiving money back if we were being downgraded and that we would really like to stay in the condo. After a short conversation they agreed to let the 4 of us (ages 19-21) stay in a condo for a $100 deposit that we would receive back at the end of the week. They even let us check in an hour earlier than usual!

The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff was wonderful. One day we had dirty dishes in the sink and we came back to find them all washed, they went well beyond expectations. Anything that we needed could be found at the front desk.

The weather wasn't as warm as we had expected it to be, but it was nice that they had 4 hottubs on the 6th floor to accomodate us. There was also a pool and lazy river but nobody was using it as it was terribly windy and cool.

The location was right on the beach and in an area that wasn't too busy compared to the rest of the beach. Because of our age we had hoped that there would be more young people, but they seemed to be further up the beach.

There was a restaurant called Liberty across the street that I would definatly reccomend. The nachos and wings were AMAZING and all of the items were decently priced. There was a blockbuster and some other restaurants within walking distance.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would go back again but we might try out something more central to town.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JessH387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

the hotel was better than expected, the room was very clean and a good size. We had a oceanfront efficiency on the 6th floor and the view was excellent, the maid service was very good, u can park in ramp and walk to ur room which i liked.. Only downfall was the beds were a little stiff , but overall a great hotel with lots of pools and hottubs, and were very clean. I like the location its within 5 minutes of broadway at the beach and lots of golf courses and shoppin, restuarants, and u cant beat the price as well. The beach was very clean and within a few steps of hotel. The weather was warm in upper 70's in late march.. We will definately stay again....

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank apg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,950 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,279 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $63 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing