We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #25 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
321 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Grande Shores 3 times now, and also at the sister properties for this company, we always have great rooms and service.

Unfortunately our stay for this vacation trip was cut short due to family circumstances at home. Once again Grande Shores was great to work with. Upon making my reservations I had explained that we may not even be able to arrive or have to depart early due to the circumstances, the reservation clerk made full notes on our file and upon our departure the front desk clerk advised she would be refunding us for our lost night's stay, without us even asking for it! Great customer service!

We had the ocean front room 509 - great location, beautiful view. I am a neat freak on hotel cleanliness - I carry lysol spray and wipes to clean with upon my arrival, as always the room was very clean!

The only negative I have is to suggest that the entrance area/bathroom be updated to this particular room. I've attached photos of the room. The entrance closet area is outdated and the closet doors are secured open with screws and the bathroom could use updating with a new tub, newer tile and fresh wallpaper (some wallpaper was peeling. the tile was worn from wear and the tub had what appeared to be paint spill stain of some sort) BUT even though it was outdated it still was VERY VERY CLEAN! Housekeeping was very accomodating to us when we asked for additional items.

The pool side grill food was great! Each morning we watched maintenance clean the pools. This is definately a great location in Myrtle, not in the crowded areas but close enough to the attractions you would want to access.

This was our first time having a ocean front room, typically we have the north ocean view which is great! We didn't utilize the 7th floor pool, lazy river, jacuzzi area this time, but it is awesome as well.
Great customer service, great location, clean clean clean everywhere, rooms, pool, walkways, parking garage - every time we've been there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    403
    145
    94
    80
See reviews for
620
287
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove Ga
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, nice view from windows...very quiet. The pools were crystal clear. The only thing I missed was the playground for my grandchildren...never found it. We are looking forward to a return visit next year

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSmithLocustGroveGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here and were pretty happy with the place. The location was in a nice spot kind of at the end of a long strip. I was expecting and oceanfront room but I guess we had reserved oceanview. We could see the ocean from side of the balcony. As someone else mentioned the parking lot is a little tight but that didn't bother us. I liked the rooftop pool. The only thing that kind of bothered me was there was only one working hot tub on the roof. Two of them were not working and when we went up both times the only working one was full. Other than that we enjoyed our stay here. I would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labenford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I liked the pools at this hotel. We went before Memorial Day and it was not at all crowded. I like the location of the hotel. Only problem was the tub was stopped up. We fixed that with Drano. Otherwise not luxury, but a good hotel. I might stay here my next trip depending on the prices. The parking situation is not great but a lot of Myrtle Beach hotels are the same way.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Dirty and in serious need of updating. Bizarre parking garage "inside" with your front door opening to the garage. The open hallway between your door and the garage is dark, uneven and filthy. The design of the garage ramp was a nightmare to maneuver. Gave me a trapped feeling. While we were on the ocean side, we did not use the balcony as the outside walls had large wide 'cracks'.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareed1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

After traveling to beach hotels all over the coast - Atlantis and Golf coast, I would rate this place a 2or 1 out of 5 stars. The beds were horrible, outlets for the room were dangerously poking out of their sockets - and the rooms were pretty dated. There was no soap or any type of disinfectant in the restrooms near the pools. The pool was small for the number of guests. The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the view, if you get oceanview room. The outlet for the hairdryer did not work at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooks40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Yes rooms are big but the staff is mean and when I checked in and got to my room it was not even cleaned told staff they told me it would be 2hrs be for they could get to it then when. I went back in all they did was make the bed did not vam or take out the old dirty tallows from the last people that had the room. Gross

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank what999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgrandeshores, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
I have emailed this guest to ask for the information I need to invesigate the comments mentioned here. As anyone would image we do not want anyone leaving our resort feeling like this. As you can see for our recent comments, guests are happy with our service, but we do take all criticism seriously and use it to better our operation. I will anxiously await a response form this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,896 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,726 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
934 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Property: Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing