We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed in a oceanfront hotel room on this trip. It was very clean, beautifully decorated room. The grounds were very nice although since it was the first week of March there wasn't much in bloom but what was there was nice. The roof top pool and lazy river along with the hot tubs appeared to be very clean. The staff was very friendly. Parking in the garage was nice and convenient to the room I stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Kathy, you have certainly mentioned all the best features of Grande Shores and we truly appreicate your comments and sharing with other Trip Advisor travelers. We have a great staff and every day we work hard to create happy guests as yourself. Thank you again for being our guest and happy traveling until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

77th Ave. N. is great. Not in the bustle but close enough to feel like you are part of Myrtle Beach. I especially like the opportunity to drive right inside. Unloading the car is easy, the car is safe and right there when needed. There is someone always available at the front desk for questions or concerns.

Room Tip: For our month stay, the washer and dryer in the room was a must. The only thing I didn't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

So nice to see you enjoyed the Grande Shores. You are right in saying our location is great. This is truly the most beautiful area in Myrtle Beach. Thank you for your great comment and please remember us on your next visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My Dad and I take very short vacations because of his age and health. I had never been to Myrtle Beach, so we decided to go. We really enjoyed all the ammenities in the condo we stayed in. My Dad smokes cigars and we were very pleased to find a place that could accomodate. When you're 89 and are limited to activities, it is nice to be able to do what you want. We will return and stay there again (God willing)! Some reviews have complaints of needed repairs. They were currently renovating and painting while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

It was really great to see you and your father had a great visit at Grande Shores. It means a lot to us! Thank you for choosing us and I hope you and your father can return soon. I will make sure our staff reads your comments. They love knowing they made a difference. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I visited with other family for a long weekend. This was my second time at the resort. This trip we had ants in our first room and were relocated to a second room immediately. However, we noticed ants in the second room on our departure day. Overall the property needs attention, especially a deep cleaning in the rooms. There was an extensive pile of crumbs between the countertop and stove/oven (source of the ants?), as well as flaking paint, paper towel used to level the stove, missing light bulbs in the bathroom, and caked on caulking. While it seems trivial (and honestly is somewhat trivial), all of those items contribute to making the rooms and property look unsightly. You can't beat the location with numerous restaurants, grocery stores, and bars within half a mile. The bar at the resort is quaint, if not kind of quirky.

I hope management gives some attention to the property beyond another coat of paint. The different between this being a 3 star location and 4 is the attention to detail that seems lacking.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor on the side of the building as it is directly above the exhaust for the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for being a return guest and for taking the time to comment on your stay. I do sincerely apologize that you had ants in your hotel room. We do have a contract with a professional pest control company and they service our rooms monthly. Given this information I will make sure they take action right away. I do want you to know that we have been in the process of entering every condo and hotel room at Grande Shores to do just as you suggested. We are taking care of all the details and what we call our Preventive Maintenance will be completed in the next few weeks. We are also going room to room in our hotel section and doing the same thing along with new draperies, artwork and bedding. We are very excited about these improvement and I am sure our repeat guest will notice a big difference. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, thank you and please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my second trip to the Grande Shores and not much has changed since our last visit in 2010. First off the location is fabulous! It's right on the beach, walking distance to the grocery store and many restaurants and shops. We received great service from all the staff and we enjoyed the Shoreline Café for happy hour!! The property itself just looks tired. I understand these hotels take a beating from the salty air, but there was just something about it that made it seem like it needs attention (more that just a fresh coat of paint). After our first night we asked to change rooms because we found ants in the bathroom and the gal at the front desk handled this professionally and promptly. I was also surprised that this place makes you pay a deposit at the time of booking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhMissO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing Grande Shores. I am pleased to see you enjoyed many aspects of your visit, such as our location and staff. I will also make sure the staff in Shoreline hears you enjoyed spending happy hour with them. Please know we are in the process of going thru all of our hotel rooms to fine tune all aspects of the room and in a few weeks we will be receiving new draperies and bedding. I know this attention and new elements will go a long way in making that part of Grande Shores a great place to vacation. Our condo owners are investing in draperies and new bedspreads as well. We have almost finished going thru all the condos to make sure everything is just so for our guests. I certainly hope you will return to Grande Shores to see these improvements. Again, thank you and happy traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Miriam B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have stayed at this location a number of times over probably 8 years, and the last several times I noticed it is in need of some repair. I stayed in an efficiency unit in early December, and since I was traveling alone, I did not need much in the amenities department. I changed rooms after checking in due to a couple of things. One, I could see daylight under the door through a gap of about an inch. I also noticed that the sliding glass door would not lock, nor could it be pinned with the night lock. After changing rooms, I noticed the HVAC unit had a piece that had come loose and was laying on the deck outside. The shower curtain had been re-mounted, but was again sagging and about to come down...it needed some wall anchors, and I found some ants on the bathroom floor. The television was decent, but the guide did not match the right channels. Great location, and I'll probably stay there again, but it badly needs some attention.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReturnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for being such a loyal guest and please accept our apology that you had difficulties during your last visit. We are going through our hotel rooms now taking care of all the details that make for a great stay. We do pay close attention to our guest comments. We do believe we will have great hotel rooms to offer this season, especially with our new draperies and bedding that should arrive anytime. As a past guest you will see a great improvement during your next stay. Again, thank you for your review and loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,950 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,279 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $63 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing