We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Resort and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #29 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although our 11th stay in 9 years started out a little "rocky", when I called the staff, they immediately made every effort to correct their problems and our disappointment. Heidi and, especially Katie, were exceptionally professional, knowledgeable and helpful to turn an initial poor experience into a most enjoyable, special and comfortable stay, which resulted in us upgrading our condo and extending our stay.
Our first trip without children, we've explored many other resorts and locations for this new "season" of life and have concluded that we cannot do better, in every way, than the Grande Shores. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: All rooms with bedrooms on the front are quiet and spacious, but the north ocean view above 7th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knitter4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It is always great to hear from a repeat guest. We appreicate your loyalty to Grande Shores. We are proud to know you will be returning and enjoying vacation time with us. It is a pleasure serving you and we will be sure to let Katie and Heidi know they made a difference. They really are great and they do all they can to make each and every guest feel at home. Return soon and thank you again for your review and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    396
    143
    93
    80
See reviews for
610
282
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The room was a 1 BD condo. It was clean but needed updating badly. The amentities of the many pools and location to beach and other things in Myrtle Beach was good. Restarant for breakfast was okay. It was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I was disappointed to see you were not greatly impressed with our resort. Our condominiums are owned by individuals and many of our homeowners are upgrading with new furniture, TV's, granite and mattresses. I do hope you will return to Myrtle Beach and Grande Shores. We have many upgraded condominiums and would be happy to book your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We've stayed here before and enjoyed it, but the problem this time was that the bed was uncomfortable and both my husband and I were bit by apparent.....bed bugs! True, this is the end of the beach season and the rates were decent for an oceanfront double, but we highly value a good nights sleep..hence the '3' rating. Do feel the room has not been properly maintained,cleaned--especially the bathroom. Shower could have been stronger.
Otherwise, this is a really nice resort with rooftop pool,lazy river,hot tubs as well on the ground floor.
Not sure if we'll stay here again.....

Room Tip: 2-3 bedroom units may be better maintained than the oceanfront doubles which are in older part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jle831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
So sorry to see you were disappointed with this stay. Grande Shores does have great amentities and I am happy to see you enjoyed that part of your stay. We have plans this off season to purachase new draperies and spreads for our hotel section and know our guests will really enjoy that upgrade in the spring. I was surprised to see a comment about possible bed bugs. We have not had an issue in our hotel and are very proactive in this area since they are a possible issue everywhere. We do hope you will return and give us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesboro, Kentucky, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I just got back from our week stay at the grand shores, and we enjoyed it very much and will definitely go back. We had rented the 3 bedroom condo and loved it! Everything was very comfortable and our view was great! My 3 and 5 year olds loved the pool and the lazy river! Plus is was so close we would be on the beach in no time! And the beach was great! The parking is a little difficult getting in and out... but it is located to a variety of stores and activities. It was a great vacation!

Room Tip: the ocean view room still had a wonderful view of the ocean and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aireale Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
It was a pleasure reading your review and especially great to see your children were happy with the pools and lazy rivers. I know family vacationing is all about the children being happy so the parents can get a little time to relax. Thank you for being part of our Grande Shores family and best to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, Long Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Shores for 3 days starting the day before Labor Day. We rented a Oceanfront 3 bedroom Condo with wrap around balcony.

Room was nice with some signs of age. Very spacious -- like a 3 bedroom apartment. Unlike many places, the 2nd beroom had a king bed, view of the ocean, and a small separate balcony (be it a small one). Rarely do you find a good view and balcony on anything but the master bedroom.

Third bedroom had 2 beds (I think queens). Was facing the hallway and only problem was that curtains did not block out light from hallway and room felt illuminated at night.

All rooms had working TVs. The floor in hallway by kitchen had the laminate flooring slightly damaged from moisture over the years. Only other problem was that the bed matresses were well used and the beds sweeked alot.

Room was clean when were arrived. There is no maid service through your stay, but you do receive towels, soap, toilet paper daily, garbage removal. We were not interested in maid service and out the do not disturb sign out. A bag of fresh towels were left at our door. Nice.

My big problem was the elevators. The down call button broke shortly after our arrival. At first we could call an "UP" elevator, but soon, that broke also. Had to walk down to 9th floor to get an elevator. Stairs are located at far ends of the building not near elevators so this was a real pain. Front desk seemed unresponsive, onle person even staid it was first time he hear of the problem even thoght I reported it many times and so did the cleaning staff and other residents.

Other problem was the wireless interent. Was difficutl to connect. Needed to constantly reboot and go though diagnostic to eventually get connection. Don't have this problem anywhere else. Tried to use the computer in the lobby to print an email. It was not connected to internet and no paper in printer. Told front desk, and they said they would send someone over but did not in the 10 minutes I waited.



There are 3 small but functional lazy rivers - one by the main pool and the other on a rooftop. There are also 4 hot tubs on the roof top pool. The provided tubes were too small if you are a big guy. There is also a nice indoor pool -- good insurance if it rains. since we had no rain, we never used it. All equipment worked well, and there are lots of showers around the pool areas.

I used the pool grill once. Food was ok but expensive -- $4.50 for a hot dog and $7.75 for a hamburger. They grill it for you right there. Included potato salad or chips. There was also a pool bar and resturant. These facilities were only open on the weekend -- were were they off season, and after Labor Day, there was almost on one in the place. It was nice being also to get main floor parking every day except on Labor Day.

Overall, I would definitely return to this place. I think the front desk staff could be more responsive in getting things fixed, but if you are there for the ammities, you get your money worth. It is right on the beach, and with the numerous pools and plenty of chairs (in the sun), you should have a good time.

Room Tip: Corner oceanfront rooms are hugh with an ocean view for both master and 2nd bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTravler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I certainly am happy to see you found the condo "great". I have read your comments on our elevator and pool bar and grill. We certainly use comments we receive on Trip Advisor and through guest feed back after check out to learn how we can improve our guest experience. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have never had a bad experience. The location is ideal. The rooms are clean and the staff is warm, welcoming and ever so helpful. I feel comfortable taking my family here, and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Grande Shores Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So happy to see you will be returning to Grande Shores and thank you for taking the time to share your great time with Trip Advisor readers. Have a great fall and return to us soon. We will be waiting!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Impressive at first, room spotless, towels made into little fans. No bugs Paid extra for oceanfront reservationist said I'll give you a nice HIGH room for a good view. We got 4th floor 409 over pool, the swimmers had a nice view, RIGHT INTO MY ROOM. We were told higher floors were condos. But from the cleaning service I thought I was in a CONDO. Coffee maker was never cleaned, used bag still in there, pot not emptied! No coffee pkgs, cups or sugar left.I Called, they sent some coffee up, but I cleaned the maker. Next day SAME THING! Plus no shampoo ect. left ANY of our days, had to call. But they left the same nasty gooey hand soap on the sink which was never cleaned. Along with the toothpaste sprayed mirror, sandy tub & pee dripped toilet used by my not too accurate 9yr old. It was SO apparent they never cleaned the entire time we were there, only made the beds,vac'd & left towels. Shame, the place it's self was nice. Pools were great, little cold. No shade, only 2 tables at the lunch grill with no umbrellas. The hot tubs & lazy rivers wonderful but there is a resort fee. MOST hotels & resorts here charge something added to your bill at the END. Some were up to $30-$40 a day. ASK !! & Shop around. plus a 10-14% tourist tax as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 7777paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Property: Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing