We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We had a travel agent book our first trip to Myrtle Beach and she booked us here, saying she had heard good things about this hotel. I can't imagine anyone with any kind of standards liking their stay at this place. Upon check-in, the front desk staff was indifferent. When
we got to our room, I was very disappointed. The "decor" was atrocious
- hideous floral bedspreads and striped curtainsand a shower curtain that looked like it came from a dollar store. The clock radio that made a strange buzzing sound and the front door t didn't close properly and looked like it had been kicked in several times. The walls were very thin, you could hear all of the people in the surrounding rooms and hallways. The property was in a terrible state of disrepair. There were cracks and scuff marks on many of the walls.
The internet service was also terrible - very, very slow. There was also no closet - just a bar to hang clothes on. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable I have ever had at a hotel. We got a call from the front desk to make sure everything was ok. When I responded that I wasn't very happy and the room was just ok, she didn't act like she even cared. I hung up wondering why she even bothered. And lastly, the
toilet didn't seem like it flushed properly which is probably why there was a plunger in the bathroom - something I have never seen in a hotel. The only reason we stayed for the one night we did was that we were tired from our trip. We promptly checked out the next morning and went to the Marriott Resort at Grand Dunes where we had a wonderful rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jenny2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for Grande Shores Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2007

We had choosen a hotel in North Myrtle Beach for our trip to the beach and went to the AAA office to book our reservations. A few days later we got the reservation confirmation in the mail from Grande Shores.
We were surprised, because we thought we were staying in another hotel. AAA had screwed it up. However, it turned out to be a pleasant little surprise. We had the type of rooms we wanted. The hotel staff was pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. Our rooms were clean and everything was in good working order.
We had a pleasant trip and look foward to staying at the Grande Shores again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Motherbritanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

we rented a 1 bedroom non-smoking condo for less than $50 a night. We have 3 children under the age of 2 and needed a clean place to call home for the week. Everything here was nice. The staff was great, the room was clean, and it is nice to have a parking garage near the room. The only problem is that the parking deck ends on the 7th floor, so if your room is above that, you always have to take the elevator. That is pretty much the only complaint I have. This is a good place to stay if you need a decent place to stay without the outrageous $$. The hotel is a little dated, but most of them are. They are building a new hotel right up against this hotel and we could barely hear the construction work.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cdickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

I loved the Grande Shores Ocean Resort! Me and my family consisting of 2 teenage girls and a pre-teen son along with my husband stayed at the property and we couldn't be any happier! Very clean and fresh smelling rooms. Everything was great! Number 1 plus was lounge and restaurant located downstairs!! Staff was extremely helpful and nice as they could be. We felt very WELCOME and loved the fact that you can drive up to your room.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mrssmith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Four sisters getting away from it all together. And Grande Shores was the perfect choice!
This was our first year of going someplace other than each other's home for our annual Sisters' Weekend. And we couldn't have chosen a better place than Grand Shores.
We walked into a welcoming,sparkling clean, breath of fresh air getaway. We had an oceanfront 3 bedroom/2 bath and the view from our balcony was breathtaking! The perfect way to wake up to Myrtle Beach sunrises.
Just a floor below us was the 7th floor deck with pools and hot tubs. A very relaxing way to end a day of exploring the Grand Strand. We were informed on check-in that the hot tubs were down but would be on line the next day . . . and they were.
The staff were professional and nice and the housekeeping staff were very efficient. Everyday the rooms looked like they did the first day we walked in.
Grande Shores is also located in a prime location. Not cramped in between other hotels. Easy parking and getting out on Ocean Bouleward.(in spite of the construction going on - couldn't hear much of it from our room - good thing.)

All in all, I highly recommend Grande Shores. You can tell 'em I sent ya.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TeeKae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This is the 3rd year we've stayed at this property for our annual men's golf retreat. We have received nothing but the best of service. Rooms clean and large restaurant food top shelf and the staff always go out of their way to make our stay all it's meant to be. Paula Davis is always ready to meet any need we may have. No other place at the beach is better.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank birdieman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at the Grande Shores for a week mid September. We were pleasantly suprised by the room. It was quite large with plenty of room to move around and not feel cramped. It was nice to have a fully stocked apartment size kitchen area with full size refrig, even though we didn't use it much. The room was clean and comfortable...."functional" was my husband's word. The pools and lazyrivers were clean and warm. The parking garage within the hotel made for easy access to the room. The front desk was always helpful. We'd recommend this hotel in a heart beat. It's definitely 3 star for 3 star prices, nothing more or less.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank msdon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,181 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,561 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Shores Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Shores Ocean Resort

Address: 201 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $77 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Shores Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grande Shores Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grande Shores Ocean
Grande Shores Ocean Resort Myrtle Beach
Grande Shores Resort
Grande Shores Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing