We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay with young children!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Ranked #10 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, WV
1 review
“Great Place to stay with young children!”
Reviewed June 24, 2009

With the new childrens activities pool, along with the arcade, bowling, and the childrens play area, my two boys (2 years & 5 years) had a great time and can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bry-JonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    723
    260
    170
    195
See reviews for
1,664
598
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WV
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We just got home from there and WOW it was everything we paid for the service was outstanding. We stay at the Coral Beach Resort IT was a family get together and about 25 of us all got together and had a blast. We will definately choice THis Resort for our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murfsgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at Coral Beach for three nights. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the pools & rooms. We took advantage of the breakfast buffet every morning at the hotel, the pools & beach in the afternoon & the comedy club, bowling alley and karaoke during the evenings. The hotel check-in staff was very helpful with locating restaurants for dinner & explaining the free nights program. We especially enjoyed the friendly staff that served us for the breakfast buffet. Our short stay was very enjoyable and we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Our overall experience was great. The room was adequate, but not special. The beds were just okay, but everything made up for what the room lacked. The location was great, the pools were awesome and our kids really enjoyed the Kid Zone. The beach was beautiful and very enjoyable. The balcony over looking the beach was great and we could enjoy the nightly kareoke from there. This was our first family beach trip with our 5 and 3 year old children and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Excellent accomadations with lots of in hotel activities for all ages of children. Excellent service on every level. Very clean hotel with staff always working hard to make your stay enjoyable and stress free. Front desk staff worked very hard to accomadate our family in upgrading our room upon arrival and staying and additional night in the same room something you do not find in most hotels. Our room had a fantastic view of the beach and we had everything we needed. There are many amenities at the hotel you do not even have to leave while vacationing your kids will be entertained as well as adults. The best thing we found were the many pools to accomadate different ages of kids. The only complaint our family had about the hote was every floor did not have ice machines so if you where on a floor without one you had to wait on busy elevators just to get ice. Something very minor to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyah3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville TN.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We have stayed there for twenty years. EVERYTHING is GREAT location is perfect . GREAT for families with small children, they have a new kiddie play pool that's awesome!!! WE also enjoyed the live music at the beach bar everyday!! The staff is very COURTEOUS AND HELPFULL. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very spacious. WE CAN'T WAIT FOR OUR NEXT STAY AT CORAL BEACH !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyGreenevilleTN_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Alright, here's the real review, for anybody who cares to travel to MB. I went with my extended family: wife, in-laws (including sister-in-law), my parents, and my sister. There were eight of us. There is ONE awesome thing about this place: location. The hotel is literally 5-10 minutes from the airport and it is right on the beach. If you go, pay for the beach view, it is worth it. The balcony of the hotel room has a huge, 3-pane sliding glass door overlooking the Atlantic and it is awesome to relax, drink a beer, have a cup of coffee, or read a book on. It was definitely the best part of the hotel.

This hotel boasts 10 pools. I figured there would be 10 pools. Let me explain: There is one outdoor pool and one indoor pool. The rest of the pools consist of 5 hot tubs (and it's 95 in the summer, you don't want a hot tub), one kiddie pool which is about 2 inches deep, and one lazy river (which has loads of kids doing cannonballs into it sans parental supervision). Therefore, the one pool which is refreshing and you can swim in is WAY overcrowded with people. You need to get downstairs by 8 AM to put your towels down, or you will not get a chair at the pool, period. Now, if you can get a chair at the pool, you can bring your own cooler/booze down with you and nobody bothers you. There's a nice ocean view and breeze and hot sun galore. But you do have to deal with a bajillion kids. Most everybody did, but we didn't travel with any young kids, so it was kind of annoying to us.

Food is crap. The breakfasts are overpriced buffet garbage and the lunch menu is: cheeseburger, chicken salad, or hot dog. The drinks at the hotel bar are overpriced: $4 for a beer and around $8 for a mixed drink. But again, you can bring your own booze to the pool. You will have to drive for food, but it wasn't too big of a deal. Plus, the kitchens were adequate to provide a place to eat and store your breakfast and lunch.

The rooms were not good. They were clean; that's the only compliment I would give them. The beds were rocks, the sheets were nasty, the pillows were flat and gross, the TVs were outdated, the carpet was old, the sinks/faucets were rusty, the shower curtain was moldy, etc. This hotel needs to be gutted and start over again. This was a huge disappointment, since we called the hotel and asked them when the last time they renovated the hotel. They said 3 years ago, which seemed to be an absolute lie. The kitchen was adequate for our needs. A big fridge, a stove, coffee pot, etc. Buy your own disposable dishes when you get there, unless you're feeling brave.

The amenities at the hotel were average at best. I'm a bowler, so I was excited there was a bowling alley. Well, there was sort of a bowling alley. There were 8 lanes, you had to keep your own score, the lanes weren't oiled at all, and there was a sign that said, "Use your own ball at your own risk". I average around a 160 and I bowled a 70. It's not really bowling. There was a sports bar, a comedy club, and a dance club in the hotel, but after the days' worth of activities, we wanted to go explore areas other than Coral Beach.

At nights, there is karaoke at the beachside bar. At first, this was very fun. We had a good time having some drinks and listening to people singing. By day 3, it was old. By day 6, we wanted to shoot ourselves. The entertainment is exactly the same every single day: beachy music during the day, karaoke at night. You're better off heading to a bar or taking a walk on the beach.

As I said earlier, location was the best part of Coral Beach. There was something to do for everyone. The guys golfed twice; there are awesome courses that aren't too expensive within 15 minutes. My sister's really into local art and she found an art museum during the day. My wife loves aquariums, so we went to Ripley's Aquarium one night. I'm a food snob, and every meal I had (outside the hotel, of course), was delicious. Especially Romana Italiana, a small Italian joint on Kings Highway just west of the hotel. It seriously had the best Italian food I've ever eaten, hands down. If you are up for a short drive, Murrell's Inlet is about 15 minutes south on King's Highway and boasts lots of original restaurants with cool views of inlet water.

As far as Myrtle Beach nightlife goes, about the only thing to do is Broadway at the Beach. It's about a 15 minute drive and it has lots of bars, restaurants, etc. They had a Hardrock Cafe, Senor Frog's, Fat Tuesdays, a dueling piano bar, a few dance clubs, etc. One night, the kids went out boozin' and took a taxi home. After tip, the ride was only $20, so it wasn't too far from the hotel.

One last thing: The customer service of the hotel is non-existent. We had our room cleaned once by a maid all week. And by "cleaned", I mean they made our bed. The staff is flat out not friendly, with the exception of the ladies at the front desk. They were very kind and helpful. Be sure you don't arrive before the 3:30 check in time. Our flight came in around noon. We carted our 10 pieces of luggage (there were 3 girls traveling with us!) into the hotel and checked in. We were told our rooms would be ready at 3. I asked for the place to store our luggage. The lady at the front desk said there was no place to put it. This was unacceptable. I asked them what I was supposed to do with it. It's ridiculous to expect a paying customer to stare at his luggage for 3 hours while they wait for their room to be ready. I asked to speak to a manager. I explained the situation to the manager. The manager said they do have a room, but it was Saturday and the room was full. I asked if we could try to find another room. She said no. I asked what I was supposed to do with the luggage? She then gave me this gem: "Sir, before you made your travel plans, did you happen to notice our check-in time of 3:30?" I couldn't believe my intelligence was being insulted over this. So, at that point, I told the lady that Northwestern Airlines could care less about the Coral Beach check-in time and that she was extremely rude and walked away. As I walked away, she literally yelled out at me: "I hope you have a wonderful stay and please come again!" She said it with a snotty tone and was sarcastic as anything. I personally have never witnessed customer service so poor.

To make a long story short, you get what you pay for. CB is very inexpensive and in a great location. If someone asked me if they should stay there, I would say yes, but with reservations and explanations. I hope this helps everybody's travel planning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhelmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
3.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort & Suites

Property: Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Address: 1105 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more on site amenities and entertainment than any other Myrtle Beach resort, it's no surprise that the Travel Channel named Coral Beach "Best Family Accommodations". Some of the ingredients that make us a destination and not just a resort include an on-site 8 AMF lane bowling alley, recreation center with video arcade game room, pool tables, foosball and air hockey, 10 pool attractions including outdoor and indoor pools, water park, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, kiddie pools, lazy river, children's activity center, his/her saunas, live entertainment daily on the pool deck (in-season) and karaoke nightly (in-season), family magic show (in-season), glow bowling, fitness center, General Store & Gift Shop and spacious meeting/banquet facilities. It's no wonder that families for over 20 years have found Coral Beach Resort & Suites the most fun place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Coral Beach
Coral Reef Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Resort Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing