We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Ranked #10 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Pequannock, NJ
12
Reviewed May 2, 2004

We have stayed at the Coral Beach for 2 years. We plan on staying there again in August. We have had no major complaints. It's close enough to the amusements, but still far enough to avoid the "cruising" area. The rooms were fine, not immaculate, but fine. Our garbage was emptied, sheets were changed, bathroom cleaned. The elevators were slow, but we got passed that. We saved quite a bit of money there compared to other hotels in the same area. And if you look them up, there are still the same complaints at all of them. The kids love it. Plenty to do, especially if the weather is bad. Drunk people? Well, yeah, I guess if there is a bar that can happen. Maid service was good both times, but I guess there can be a bad one in the batch as wekk. I'll update my review this August just in case the whole place went south since last year. Somehow I doubt it.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,103 - 3,109 of 3,178 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
14
Reviewed May 2, 2004

Imagine having your 4 year old daughter and 5 year old son climb into the pull out bed only to find a USED condom in the bed with them. I have never been so disgusted in my life!!! We have stayed at Coral Beach about 10 times prior to this trip. We noticed that the service and the cleanliness were going downhill, but decided to give it another try....NEVER EVER again after this.Don't do it...it is filthy!!Oh by the way, they didn't even act like what happend was a big deal....a used condom in my children's bed not a big deal?

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
King, NC
12
Reviewed April 30, 2004

I had read the bad reviews for the hotel but thought we should give it a try since it was voted Best Family Accomodations for 2003.
We, my husband, 5 year old trriplets, and I visited from April 26, 2004 through May 1, 2004.
We got the suite with two beds, kitchen, living room with a pull down bed. The room was pretty but not the cleaniest. The maid didn't wipe the table, sink area in the bath room or kitchen so we went out any bought clorox wipes to clean with. We don't think the sheets were ever changed and the bottom sheets kept coming up so we would have to get up in the night and fix the bed.
The pools were nice and they had a live band by the pool which played something for everyone.
Since there is a bar by the pool you can expect to see some tipsy people but at night it was really bad. My daughter and I were leaving the bowling lane, which was fun but the guy behind the counter put a hamburger to cook, got our shoes, and went back to cooking all with out washing his hands. He also charged us even though we had a coupon and he just ignored us when we tried to rectify the situation. Back to leaving. My husband and our sons stayed to play video games. As my daughter and I were waiting for the elevator four guys got off. The looked dressed to golf all except for one younger guy. He was really messed up. He was being vulger and acting inapporpriate. It scared my daughter. The next elevator came and we got on. I didn't expect my daughter to see such things in a "family friendly environment". This is just one incident we encountered with drunk, vulgar people. We will not be taking our family there again. Drunkness happens everywhere but it happened to many times in a "family friendly" place. I wouldn't recommend it if you have young children. Don't forget your clorox wipes.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cazenovia, NY
11
Reviewed April 26, 2004

Rooms could be much cleaner and updated (heard many complaints in elevators for other guests as well) Many pools, very clean. With so many pools, perhaps 1 should be designated for adults only to swim. This hotel is quite nice for small children- many things to do. Day time entertainment (weather permitting) was excellent. Karokee was nice for the 1st couple nites. Food in the hotel could be better - Sunday brunch, not many choices and quite overpriced although staff was very courteous. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and quite helpful.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bemus Point NY
11
Reviewed April 23, 2004

Ive read numerous bad reviews about the Coral beach, and I must ask "Are we staying at the same hotel?" We've stayed here since 1990 and our stay has always been excellent. Our stay here this spring break of 04 was right on oar. Even though the rooms are all smoking, ours (on the 4th floor oceanfront) was free of any burns, and was extremely clean...and was cleaned every day with replacement of towels, soap, shampoo, and everything needed. Our maid was more than friendly and accomadated to our every need, for example, to clean the room after 12 every day. Both of our air conditioners worked great, and didn't emit any foul odors. The linens were free of stains and changed daily. Our balcony was excellent, and clean. The bathroom was spotless and everything worked as it should. All of the pools were clean as could be except I was dissapointed that they had neglected to heat our favorite one (the far one by the waterfall) but the ocean front one and the indoor were heated to the mid 90's. The numerous hot tubs were also heated to the mid 100's. The daily music was another added bonus since our last stay in 2000. The bar and outside grill was excellent and fairly priced. One disadvantage was that the karoke went past 12 am and blocked out the sound of the ocean. The newly renovated lobby was superb and the service from the clerks was excellent. The onsite bowling alley and arcade was great and there was almost always an open lane (with NO vancancy). There were always poolside chairs available even with a full guest load.

I cannot say enough about the quality of the stay we got this year (spring break 04) and have always received from this first rate hotel. We'll surely be going back again and again.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gordonville,PA
1
Reviewed April 22, 2004

We have been staying at the Coral Beach for the past few years and have been very pleased over all with our stays, including this Easter. I'm surprised we can have such an enjoyable time year after year and some people can't wait to leave. We first found the hotel after we had to leave another place down the road because of their horrible conditions. I can tell you I'm not an employee of the Coral Beach and would recommend this resort to all my friends.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2004

The worst place I have stayed. Dirty, yuck, yuck, yuck! Hairs everywhere, soap scum in the shower. I want to know who these people are that have recently given positive reviews to this place. They certainly cannot be staying at the same place. I went back and read a few negative reviews, and those sound very familiar. Is the hotel cheating by having their staff write postive reviews just to attract customers? Bed sheets had disguting looking stains everywhere. The stench from the cigarette smoke and the air freshener they use to cover that up. No way, stay at another place. Never again will I take someones word that they have recently renovated with over 2 million dollars, becasue that cannot be true. Take my word for it, I am not on the staff of the Coral Beach... this place is gross!

2  Thank shinybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort & Suites

Address: 1105 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $88 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more on site amenities and entertainment than any other Myrtle Beach resort, it's no surprise that the Travel Channel named Coral Beach "Best Family Accommodations". Some of the ingredients that make us a destination and not just a resort include an on-site 8 AMF lane bowling alley, recreation center with video arcade game room, pool tables, foosball and air hockey, 10 pool attractions including outdoor and indoor pools, water park, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, kiddie pools, lazy river, children's activity center, his/her saunas, live entertainment daily on the pool deck (in-season) and karaoke nightly (in-season), family magic show (in-season), glow bowling, fitness center, General Store & Gift Shop and spacious meeting/banquet facilities. It's no wonder that families for over 20 years have found Coral Beach Resort & Suites the most fun place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Coral Beach
Coral Reef Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Resort Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing