We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I've seen n long time down there it's second time stayin perfect place nice staff!!”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #72 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Like I say it's a very nice hotel love too stay again very clean and takin care of . Would love to stay again any time I brought too new people wit me ths time and they couldn't beleave how nice it was I hope they keep up the good work down there hope to see yall soon and thanks to Nedra she was very nice and made our trip perfect !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbaby32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for The Mermaid Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 226 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

The website's advertising was wrong. There was no balcony! Just a breeze way. If u leaned over far enough you can see the ocean. The room was way over priced. The room smelled musty, the bathroom floor was dirty, it took at least 20 minutes for the hot water to heat up. It was the WORST room I have ever booked. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurelaltwies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald B, Owner at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

I am extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our web site clearly states that we are an ocean front hotel with all rooms having a ocean view! The cleanliness of our rooms is very important to us and if you had pointed out where we fell short we would have corrected the problem immediately. I sincerely hope that you will try the Mermaid Inn again on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel in April of 2014 for 3 days and there was no iron in the rooms the air stopped working at one point the tub water drain was clogged so it didnt drain the water before the next person could shower. My credit card was charged even after I made it clear that I wanted to pay cash. I have been calling the hotel now for 2 weeks and still no manager has called me back and none of the associates have a clue as to what they are doing. I have gotten the run around for 2 weeks now. Just horrible customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PRB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidInnMB, Front Office Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

I would like to begin by apologizing that you didn't enjoy your stay at our property. It is our policy to authorize all credit or debit cards for the entire stay on day of arrival. Guests have the option to pay cash at checkout and have the authorizations dropped; however, this can cause the bank to hold your funds for up to two weeks depending on their policies. I want also to thank you for bringing the issues you had with the air conditioning and drain to our attention. Unless guests tell us, we do not know there is a problem. - A. Burton Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was a quick day trip. We had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and bright. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a motel/hotel. We didn't want to go home. We made reservations before we left for Memorial Day to stay longer! David, the manager was very pleasant. Wonderful experience and memory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We went to myrtle beach for a long weekend wt some friends. The hotel was perfectly priced for ocean front hotel. The rooms were super nice, clean and new. The staff was super friendly and gave great recommendations. Best bang for your buck! I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great renovations to this property. Quick check-in on a Saturday afternoon. Staff very welcoming and friendly ((if you need anything, just give us a call)). JUST a note/warning: as of this writing (4/27/14) the Front Desk office closes at 11:00pm -- this might change but this is as of now!

Rooms redone and have small refrigerator and microwave. Excellent!

This property also is "pet-friendly" and you can ask about the details from the staff. Free wi-fi which was pretty fast, compared to some properties I've stayed at.

Ocean front property with a pool. Parking appears to be "small-lot" BUT your room card-key will open a gate to the parking lot behind the pool for additional parking.

When checking-out (on a Sunday morning), the General Manager was in the office thanking all the guests for staying and hoping pleasant travels and to return. He invited ALL guests, on leaving, to enjoy the property for the day, enjoy the pool, enjoy the beach, and no worries about parking to just leave the car in the lot and enjoy the rest of the day. Not many other hotels anywhere will allow this -- this is just another reason to stay here!

We have been extremely pleased with the property and will definitely return!

Room Tip: 3-story property.... X01-X16 room numbers. x01 is on North Kings side by the street, toward the fr...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

I wanted to thank you for your kind words on behalf of myself and the entire staff here at the Mermaid Inn. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Ed Quinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Mermaid Inn during Spring Break...had a great time. The hotel has been newly remodeled and the rooms were beautiful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the grounds were very nice. The pool area was really nice, with a grill that we could use to cook out. The pool area overlooked the beach. The hotel was close to restaurants and attractions. The staff was very helpful and Ed Quinn was amazing! We will definitely stay there whenever we are in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you so very much for your compliments, we look forward to seeing you upon your future travels.

Ed Quinn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
209 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
1.9 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Address: 5400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2350 (Formerly The Cherry Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $70 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mermaid Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Myrtle Beach's Hotel gems, formally known as the Cherry Tree Inn, is reopening as The Mermaid Inn. This smaller ocean front hotel has undergone a complete makeover with all 57 rooms renovated to have either 2 Queen beds or 1 King bed with Queen size sleeper sofa. We are also offering beautifully decorated suites. All of our rooms have an ocean view and come with the essentials that you have come to expect. Each room is equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and 42" flat screen TV. The Mermaid Inn provides FREE local and long distance phone calls within the Continental US, as well as free wireless internet access for our guests. We have guest laundry facilities located on our property for our guest’s convenience.Whether you are enjoying the surf and sand, our large outdoor pool and deck, or strolling around the nearby ocean front park; our goal is that your stay with us be one of comfort and relaxation. Our location is close enough to the excitement of Myrtle Beach, yet far enough away to provide the relaxed vacation experience that you and your family has been looking forward to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Myrtle Beach
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing