We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely renovated -- excellent choice to stay!”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #71 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pineville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Completely renovated -- excellent choice to stay!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great renovations to this property. Quick check-in on a Saturday afternoon. Staff very welcoming and friendly ((if you need anything, just give us a call)). JUST a note/warning: as of this writing (4/27/14) the Front Desk office closes at 11:00pm -- this might change but this is as of now!

Rooms redone and have small refrigerator and microwave. Excellent!

This property also is "pet-friendly" and you can ask about the details from the staff. Free wi-fi which was pretty fast, compared to some properties I've stayed at.

Ocean front property with a pool. Parking appears to be "small-lot" BUT your room card-key will open a gate to the parking lot behind the pool for additional parking.

When checking-out (on a Sunday morning), the General Manager was in the office thanking all the guests for staying and hoping pleasant travels and to return. He invited ALL guests, on leaving, to enjoy the property for the day, enjoy the pool, enjoy the beach, and no worries about parking to just leave the car in the lot and enjoy the rest of the day. Not many other hotels anywhere will allow this -- this is just another reason to stay here!

We have been extremely pleased with the property and will definitely return!

Room Tip: 3-story property.... X01-X16 room numbers. x01 is on North Kings side by the street, toward the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I wanted to thank you for your kind words on behalf of myself and the entire staff here at the Mermaid Inn. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Ed Quinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    51
    30
    9
    27
See reviews for
96
56
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Mermaid Inn during Spring Break...had a great time. The hotel has been newly remodeled and the rooms were beautiful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the grounds were very nice. The pool area was really nice, with a grill that we could use to cook out. The pool area overlooked the beach. The hotel was close to restaurants and attractions. The staff was very helpful and Ed Quinn was amazing! We will definitely stay there whenever we are in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so very much for your compliments, we look forward to seeing you upon your future travels.

Ed Quinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Good
-Pet friendly
-30 sec walk from ocean
-Pool over looks ocean, (not heated), not over shadowed by high rise hotels
-quieter area of Myrtle Beach
-several restaurants & shopping Malls an easy drive away
-saw the Sun Trolly bus pass by the hotel.

Bad
-additional pet fee of $25. (We wonder why because the floors are tiled & the soles of my feet were black after walking barefoot in the room. What justifies any additional fee? I'm not cleanliness obsessed but this room was below par.
-there was dirt around the baseboards both in the sleeping area & the bathroom. The white grouting on the bathroom floor tiles was stained black in most areas, the sink & counter was tired looking, the paint on the bath door was yellowish from ? mildew, the walls were dirty @ floor level.
-room was musty smelling
-noisy A/C at times.
VERY thin walls!
we heard the neighbours talking, heard their dog barking, heard snoring during most of the night. They didn't know how to exit their room without allowing the door to slam shut & this occurred often as there seemed like 4 staying in this room.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieRed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I am sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations, if you would like to contact me directly in order to address your concerns please feel free to do so.

Ed Quinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Checked in... room dirty- beds not made, trash still there. 2nd room, trudge
doesn't get cold, shower curtain mildewed. No phone book to find addresses of places we want to go. We have been here about 2 hours. Never will we be here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debygaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Spent a week here for spring break in April of 2014. This is the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. The service was friendly enough and the rooms looked newly renovated. Excellent place to stay with a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EQUINN41097, General Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the positve feedback. On behalf of my team and myself we want to thank you for choosing the Mermaid Inn for your accommodation needs. Look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Ed Quinn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I will never, ever stay here no matter how many times they change the name of the hotel. I booked a room and made a $55 REFUNDABLE deposit. I had to cancel my reservation approximately 35 to 40 days BEFORE our reservation date. I spoke to two front desk employees and the NEW owner and NEVER did I get my deposit back. I stayed here under the old ownership about 2 or 3 times and never had any problems. I was told by the NEW owner that I would get my refund back and never did. Then when they closed for renovations, none of the telephone numbers worked and even though I was told again by the front desk that the owner was going to call me back (before the phones went off) he never called me. Good luck if you need to cancel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheerjudgenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We needed a place to stay for a night, pet friendly to be able to bring our puppy. The reviews lead us to book here.

It's painted and renovated but still remains a motel. Tile floors are a great idea both for beach location, and considering that they are pet friendly. Furnishings are plain but clean.

No hot water while we were there. Too late to fix it in the morning, but also not a lot of apology.

No 24 hour front desk, at least off season. Be aware, check in early.

Location is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#68 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Property: The Mermaid Inn
Address: 5400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2350 (Formerly The Cherry Tree Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mermaid Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Myrtle Beach's Hotel gems, formally known as the Cherry Tree Inn, is reopening as The Mermaid Inn. This smaller ocean front hotel has undergone a complete makeover with all 57 rooms renovated to have either 2 Queen beds or 1 King bed with Queen size sleeper sofa. We are also offering beautifully decorated suites. All of our rooms have an ocean view and come with the essentials that you have come to expect. Each room is equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and 42" flat screen TV. The Mermaid Inn provides FREE local and long distance phone calls within the Continental US, as well as free wireless internet access for our guests. We have guest laundry facilities located on our property for our guest’s convenience.Whether you are enjoying the surf and sand, our large outdoor pool and deck, or strolling around the nearby ocean front park; our goal is that your stay with us be one of comfort and relaxation. Our location is close enough to the excitement of Myrtle Beach, yet far enough away to provide the relaxed vacation experience that you and your family has been looking forward to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Myrtle Beach
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing