We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of The Mermaid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Ranked #70 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great vacation at The Mermaid Inn. The place was very clean. The location was awesome and staff was very helpful. Aaron Hardee made our trip very easy to plan and we will definitely be returning!! Our entire group was impressed by the value and experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    48
    28
    8
    26
See reviews for
91
52
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First let me start off by saying The staff at the Mermaid inn was very helpful. we checked in on Friday night and Aaron and Luke were the most friendliness people we encountered in Myrtle Beach so far that afternoon. Now we were hesitant a little bit at first because we knew this was the old a Cherry Tree Inn and a few of the reviews made it seem like people were having a bad day. However upon arrival all of our doubts were washed away and greeted with a smile and a gesture of good will wanting to help out people in need who did not book or prepare to go to Myrtle Beach on Labor Day weekend. Luke gave us a great rate and Aaron was most helpful in directing us to local shops and resturants. The facility was excellent and great view of the ocean and pool area. for being recently updated this place is somewhere we will continue to return year after year. We love The Mermaid Inn

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Familyofour J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We found the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean, and well furnished. We would
Definitely come again. There is a quantity of very good restaurants in the nearby area. The beach is only footsteps away. The parking is accessible and quite close to each unit.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before registering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pros: Nice sized room with nice king sized bed. Could see ocean from table. Microwave and small fridge. VERY nice desk clerk. Price. Sofa pulls out too, perfect for kids. If you are on a budget you could make this work fine and it is right on the beach. Play area, BBQ grill. If a hotplate is allowed you could save some money. I would say it was a good value.

Cons: No stove though it does have a sink. The door needed repair and we accidently left it unlocked all night. Guess under pro I should list we were undisturbed with unlocked door, lol! There was urine all over the toilet seat when we checked in. I know front desk would have had that cleaned right away but I just cleaned it myself. You have to run straight hot water for 15 min before you can get a shower. Don't use cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had read about The Mermaid Inn on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed at all! The location is excellent. It is in a quiet area, but close to all restaurants and attractions. The rooms are attractively updated with nice furnishings. The beds are very comfortable. It is just steps to the beach. I highly recommend The Mermaid Inn and would plan to stay again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end closest to the beach have additional windows for a nice ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been trying to get late minute reservations for my family for Labor Day weekend without much success. However, when I actually walked in to discuss this dilemma with front desk, the response was overwhelming--Aaron, the front desk actually took my name, cell #, and email address to update me on last minute cancellations. The hotel is directly on the beach with great views and the hotel seems to be recently remodeled. I really appreciated this great customer service! By the way, they did contact me and I will be staying in their customer friendly, guest oriented, updated property steps from the beach! Way to go, The Mermaid Inn--that's what I call service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were referred to this place by an upscale resort in the area. I was shocked! Not only did I not feel that my family and I were not safe, but we also felt that the entire complex was DIRTY! It was dirty. My 7 year old son said "Mom, look! This bathtub has dirt in it!" It did have dirt in it. The entire bathroom was dirty. The floor was not swept let alone mopped! The air conditioner was loud and full of dust. My entire family had breathing issues in the morning. With the cost of the room being $119/ night, I did not expect the Taj Ma Hall! But, seriously? It was nasty.
It was on the water. Located in a nice area with some very nice hotels, resorts, and homes. The pool looked nice even though we did not utilize it because we were dying to leave!
Needless to say...we will not be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynnpet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#71 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
196 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,789 reviews
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
1.9 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid Inn

Property: The Mermaid Inn
Address: 5400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2350 (Formerly The Cherry Tree Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mermaid Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Myrtle Beach's Hotel gems, formally known as the Cherry Tree Inn, is reopening as The Mermaid Inn. This smaller ocean front hotel has undergone a complete makeover with all 57 rooms renovated to have either 2 Queen beds or 1 King bed with Queen size sleeper sofa. We are also offering beautifully decorated suites. All of our rooms have an ocean view and come with the essentials that you have come to expect. Each room is equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and 42" flat screen TV. The Mermaid Inn provides FREE local and long distance phone calls within the Continental US, as well as free wireless internet access for our guests. We have guest laundry facilities located on our property for our guest’s convenience.Whether you are enjoying the surf and sand, our large outdoor pool and deck, or strolling around the nearby ocean front park; our goal is that your stay with us be one of comfort and relaxation. Our location is close enough to the excitement of Myrtle Beach, yet far enough away to provide the relaxed vacation experience that you and your family has been looking forward to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Mermaid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Myrtle Beach
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing