We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
High Point
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Great Experience. Made the Thanksgiving holiday a wonderful time. Will most definitly come back in the summer and next Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopoholic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that you had a great experience and that you had a wonderful time while staying with us. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    869
    198
    138
    113
See reviews for
881
680
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We had stayed with Best Western Carolinian many times over the years and had reservations for a 3 night stay in Nov '09. Unfortunately, our entire family came
down with the H1N1 virus and we were unable to go. When I called to reschedule
I was informed that I would be charged $21.80 for changing dates. I reminded them we were long time customers.......made no difference. Nothing I said mattered. Of course I wasn't very happy about that and considered cancelling entirely but then I would have lost my deposit. I will never stay with them again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry to read that your family came down with a case of the H1N1. I hope that everyone is feeling better. As for your concern regarding the cancellation policy, I wanted to let you know that it is Oceana Resorts policy to offered the Vacation Protection Plan to each guest that makes a reservation through our call center or online. What the Vacation Protection Plan (VPP) allows the guest to do is: cancel up to the date of arrival (and receive a full refund less the cost of the VPP), make changes to the reservation and the guest can receive a refund for the nights not use if they have to leave early. I hope that this information helps you understand the policies that are put into place to protect our guests and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My husband and I didn't have too much money to spend on a hotel, and after reading countless reviews, we finally settled on this one, because other travelers seem pretty happy with that hotel.
We called the hotel directly, and the operator was really nice and helpful.
The hotel is right on the beach, however, the parking is a block away (maybe 30 seconds to walk there). The decor was nice, sort of a beach cottage look. At first, we were given the wrong room, because we had reserved an oceanfront one. The employees at the front desk quickly fixed the mistake. I have to say that all the employees that we met at the hotel were nice and polite.
Honestly, you could see the wear and tear in the bedroom from people coming back from the beach over the years. But I really didn't mind. The furniture was nice, and I loved the view.
I'd definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that the employees were able to help you when you were given the wrong room type and that you had a great view from your room. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye country
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Just got back from 5 days at the Carolinian. I was the group leader of 24 golfers. This location is perfectly located to reach both courses in the North Myrtle Beach area and the South area. The staff from registration to check out was great.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiotraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read that you and all of other golfers found this location to be perfectly located and that the staff was great. I hope that you will come back stay with us again the next time you come to town to play golf.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach Fl
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I am from Dania Beach Fl and my golfing buddy is from Windsor Ontario Canada.
We met half way from each destintation. This is our first time golfing in Mrytle Beach
and were glad we stayed in the Ocean area. The hotel is centrally located for reaching
golfing, good restaurants and shopping.

The hotel staff was excellent from the Front Office Manager Jenn down to the cleaning
staff. I had a few times I needed help and everyone was pleased to take the time to assist me. The staff was well informed and helpful in locating and recommeding
good restaurants.The entire staff in the hotel are pleasant and cheerful. The accommations were very good and quiet, I know this is not there busy season but all staff were alert.

The hotel had high speed internet access in the front lobby and the room both worked
perfectly. The beach area is very clean and close to the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfDaniaBeachFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy to read that you and your golfing buddy decided to stay with us for your first trip to Myrtle Beach. I am glad that all of the staff was well informed and helpful when recommending places to eat in the area. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

When I entered the hotel lobby to inquire about the "walk-in special", I was greeted with a smile. I asked about the special (the rate was amazing - we had been to 3 other hotels before checking here), then if we could take a look at the room. We took one look and knew this was where we wanted to stay (our anniversary!)
The accommodations were a one bedroom suite with an ocean view. It was very spacious with very nice furniture, a full kitchen area, large bathroom and bedroom with 2 double beds. Everything was exceptionally clean.
Housekeeping was very friendly and helpful - they responded immediately to our needs.
Parking was good (garage) or valet if you desired.
The location was excellent.
I just can't say enough. Will for sure make this "our hotel" at Myrtle Beach. We have been coming here since 1964 and stayed at numerous hotels, this is by far at the top of the list!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyDanville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read that when you went in to inquire about a walk-in special you were greeted with a smile and you received an amazing rate. I am glad that your room was spacious and that everything was exceptionally clean. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Wonderful visit!! Staff super...J. Dingle & Polo were so helpful in checking in & out. They made loading & unloading the car a fun experience...not drudgery...making us feel so welcome with their enthusiasm Roxy made checking in painless & all other desk personnel were always most helpful & friendly. The hotel is a charming facility and staff were always there willing to help in any way when we had questions...they had answers. We hope to return to the "Carolinian" again many times in the future. Will most gladly recommend to others when asked about "a place at the beach". Thanks for a wonderful nine days at Myrtle Beach!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful visit with us. I will pass on all of your kind words regarding the staff to their boss so they can be recognized for a job well done. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#18 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing