We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel..awesome staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel..awesome staff!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Checked in and asked for a complimentary upgrade and was given one without any hesitation. Friendly staff and hotel was in excellent location. Clean room. Only issue was water wouldn't stay hot for too long while showering, more warm then hot. Would stay again though. 9 out of 10

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belltwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    871
    198
    138
    117
See reviews for
886
681
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice property and friendly staff. We stayed one night. Had a nice, oceanfront room. Great sunrise view! Very warm greeting by all staff, very professional but friendly. We really enjoyed our stay, and will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejudiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite it's views were stunning To wake up daily to the view was amazing. It was exceptionally clean. We also received free breakfast at Magnolia's every day. The ambiance was so calm and peaceful loved everything

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pictureperfec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Beautifully located ocean front complex with kitchen, internet, exercise room, and breakfast discount at Magnolia's Restaurant across street. Has heated lazy river and hot tub and another 2 outdoor pools. Very clean, but recommend asking for room in the tower.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V Wayne Speedy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Best Western Carolinian. Was really surprised at the cleanliness of the hotel and room. Nice ocean view and location. A couple of small things that bothered me were one elevator was out of service almost the entire weekend, some of the staff that I rode down on the elevator with was complaining about working saying they needed to "bring some more people in, cause my a$s don't feel like working today, I aint gonna do nothing" to another staff member while beating on her head to scratch her weave the whole way down. (This however was the only staff member I saw that didn't say hello and ask how we were.) And the lazy river and whirlpool were down for maintenance all weekend and we didn't know this until checking in. And also, pressure washed the front entrance on a Saturday which made them block off the entire front door and check-in area. However everyone was very nice and on the ball. I called the front desk to ask for a taxi, and walked straight out the door to the elevator and the taxi was pulling up as I walked into the lobby. Front desk staff were very pleasant and respectful. Offered opinions on the best places to eat and things to do and gave coupons. Place was clean and location was good. Will 100% stay here again on my next trip to MB. Couldn't beat the value. Also, beds and pillows were COMFY! We wanted to bring the bed home with us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryTillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stay at many Best Western hotels but like this one the best. The primary reason is the beautiful and functional suites, cleanliness, suite appointments, and the magnificent views of the ocean. Hotel WIFI is the best of any hotel we have stayed in. Connection is quick and easy and it is fast. I do agree with the comments about the parking situation. My wife is disabled and walking to and from the garage is a bit of a chore for her. This time, we got one of the two spaces for the disabled. We used to be able to park across the street at the parking meters but, this time, I could not tell if it was permitted or not. In spite of this, we love the hotel. We stayed there on our way to Florida and on the way back. I think the reviews that address poor service speak to freak occurrences that can happen anywhere. Incidentally, Magnolias is our favorite restaurant and it is close by. We go there even when we stay in condos on the beach.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
738 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We spent MLK weekend here because we love the area and had a great rate at the hotel. I verified our reservation before heading out - it takes 9.5 hours for us to get there - and by the time we made it into the lobby (the garage elevator was broken and we were on the 5th level), the clerk said that he had sold our room and that we could have an upgrade, which was great, but also said that "another hour and there would be nothing left." That is not encouraging. I mentioned the broken elevator to the clerk the next morning and he gave me no response. There was a volleyball tourney in town and the garage was packed all weekend. I can't believe that no one else mentioned this to them. There was one elderly couple that came through the lobby where the man said "I'll never stay at this place again." He meant it. A night guard I heard say, "The parts are on order. Do people realize how much that elevator gets used?" If it gets that much use then the management should at the least have put a sign up that lets guests know that it is broken. It is in a separate building a block away from the hotel and it was cold and windy that weekend. Also, we were sleeping hard one evening and someone came and banged really hard on the door. I ignored it and they banged again. I had hubby go see who it was and he told me that it was a maintenace person handing him plastic bags. We didn't ask for any bags and I tried to call the desk to ask about this and the damp towels that were left in the entry way by cleaning staff, and couldn't get anyone to answer the phone. I took a picture of the towels and went to the lobby myself and told the clerk on duty who said that "he'd inform the appropriate departments." This is lackluster service at best and there are so many other oceanfront choices in MB. Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing