We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, minor inconveniences!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #49 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service, minor inconveniences!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The BWP - Carolinian OF is a great place to stay and will definitely consider it if we go to Myrtle again. I chose the property based on comments I saw on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed, so I figured I would add comments of my own. The good: We stayed in the tall building in a 1 BD OF suite - 2 adults, 3 minors ages 9-13...we had plenty of room. The room was always cleaned and ready for us when we returned for lunch. I asked for extra towels daily because we showered multiple times and they always delivered with a smile. The staff all over the resort were helpful and pleasant, never had a problem. Washer/dryer in the room was GREAT with all the wet stuff from the beach daily. The balcony was good size with good chairs for sitting and enjoying the view. This hotel offers free mini-golf at a nearby course (see pics) anytime before 7 pm daily. You can also go to the Wild Water and Wheels water park every day as well, for free, with your stay. VERY nice bonus, which we took advantage of. It's a great park with a ton of water slides!! Things I would like the hotel Mgt to think about: the closet door in the living area was off the track and would not go back on. We pushed to an 'open' position so we could still use the space for coolers and such, but it would have been nice to have a working door. Housekeeping must have been aware of it, but nothing was ever done to fix it. It wasn't that big a deal to us, so we let it go. (Room 1831) The suite sleeps 6 due to the pull out couch, which we used for 2, 13 year old girls. Thank goodness they are young and didn't mind, because that mattress is SHOT!! All springs - no support - no way would an adult be comfortable sleeping there. The OF windows and sliding door only have sheer window coverings. Again the 2, 13 year olds slept mostly without issue, but when the sun comes up at 5:30 am and it's shining bright right on your face, I can't see how anyone could sleep. Hotel really needs to consider adding blackout drapes that can be closed at night!!! The kitchen was really nice to have - and was stocked well with pots/pans etc. However, the room says it sleeps 6, so I would have expected it to have at least 6 of each for glasses, plates, bowls, and silverware. IT DID NOT - it only had service for 4, so we ended up buying paper and plastic to make due. Not a huge deal, but something that would be nice for the hotel to update in the future. The beach was wonderful, great access from the pool area at the hotel. They did offer pool towels, which was a nice surprise and very convenient. The outside pool was nice, but not very large. The "indoor" pool was actually just in a covered section and VERY small, not completely indoor, as was the lazy river and hot tub. I would have preferred to have the lazy river and HT both outside so I could enjoy them in the sun, but that's just my opinion. Overall a wonderful week with just minor inconveniences - am hoping Management sees my review and takes some things into consideration.

Room Tip: The taller building has the more newly renovated suites, with kitchens and separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    869
    198
    138
    113
See reviews for
881
680
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
goshen, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

loved everything. room facing ocean children loved the pool's ocean water parks golf breakfast amazing definitely will go back excellent family vacation. I can't say enough great things about this hotel and staff was amazing everyone was so nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EWING, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is for the Family Trips for sure. It’s sufficient and economical with a luxury twist. You will get the same experience as a luxury hotel but for a much better price and with the same bells and whistles. The kids had every amenity and freedom to enjoy their vacation while we had our relaxing time on the beach right outside our door. Safe environment, clean, friendly and above all great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Mountain, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our room was average but a little cramped. The kitchenette was really limited. Basically, a dorm size refrigerator with a convection oven. One dish towel. Had a great staff and wonderful view. Negative was that breakfast was provided but in a separate location, down the street. We had to go out in the pouring rain to go to breakfast or just not participate. There are no rooms available for disabled people with ocean front views. Room was clean and bed was comfortable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great location and staff very nice. Lots of extras included with the room. Breakfast was very good at restaurant down the street, nice walk and beds slept very good. Quiet room and over looked the ocean front with nice balcony. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed in the main part of the hotel and the accomodations were very good after changing rooms to get a better view of the ocean. It really wasn't looking straight at the ocean from my room but the room was big and I liked that about the room, Previously, I stayed in the Towers for my last stay and it was excellent! I had no complaints about that stay and was hoping to be there when I booked this time but it wasn't. I was disappointed at first but I found out that there was a difference in what I needed to ask for when booking a room. Now, I know. I love staying at The Best Western Carolinian.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a front view of the ocean if you stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice clean room. Great ocean views. Pool aerobics in the morning and lots of kids activities. Just be careful in the shower! Our shower would get scalding hot then ice cold in a matter of seconds even when we weren't using any other water in our room.

Room Tip: Corner room with balcony was a good choice - just stay far enough up on the oceanfront side so you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#18 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing