We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun in Sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolinian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun in Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was a very nice place. My bathroom needs up dateing in shower. Higher toilets. Over all very nice place.
The staff was very help full and business like at all times.
The view from the room was beautiful.
Shopping was easy to get to and direction were made easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bindy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    861
    194
    131
    104
See reviews for
863
667
77
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this property over the Christmas 2012 week. We had reserved an oceanfront efficiency but, upon arrival, were upgraded to an oceanfront suite on the 6th floor of the new tower. Accommodation was superb, and our rate even included an excellent breakfast buffet at Magnolia's restaurant across the street. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout our stay. The only downside was the lack of indoor pool. There is a very, very short lazy river and one hot tub glassed in for off-season, but you have to go outside to get to them. We did not even try. Other than that, if you are more interested in great accommodation and the beach and ocean, I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: Definitely oceanfront; oceanview is not worth the savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everyone of the staff personnal were friendly, the room was clean and the view of the ocean was beautiful. The room was bigger than what I thought it would be and the refrig easily held a 12 pack Lipton Green Tea and two six pepsi 10oz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Due to the fact our plane left at 5:20 AM from Boston we arrived early. Stopped to get car, eat breakfast and then to the hotel. They went out of their way to get us in our rooms as soon as possible, which they did with great appreciation. Suite was wonderful and they kept the place CLEAN which I feel is important. 3 couples went for golf and all said we would go back next year. One slight thing after eating at Magnolias for a few days we went back to Grand Central (where we stayed last year) it was great a went back the rest of time. Glad we got the choice

Room Tip: Suite facing OCEAN GREAT Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place was absolutely beautiful. The grounds were nice, and the room was great. We were on the 16th floor, and the view was spectacular. I would give this place 5 stars, if it wasn't for the bathtub. I am disabled and wasn't aware prior to booking that the bathrooms only had garden tubs, which are hard for me if not impossible for me to use. If you aren't disabled and don't have problems with large tubs, then I would absolutely recommend this hotel. If, however, your mobility is limited, then I would suggest talking with the reservations department first about your mobility issues before booking. Besides that, the staff was super nice, especially J.D. from maintenance, and I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: "Mention if you have mobility issues. Don't assume your room can accomodate them."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came down for New Year's; and to play a little golf and shop. The weather was very good for the time of year. The hotel staff was VERY friendly and very helpful in giving directions and suggesting a restaurant. They hit the mark there for Villa Romana [separate review coming for this]. The room was clean, comfortable, and convenient with a partial ocean view. A new Hilton Grand Vacations high rise is next door. On the other side - about 3 blocks away - is a very nice tavern/burger joint called Bummz On The Beach. It has that "Little Grass Shack / manyana,manyana" kind of vibe..... There is no on site eat option but the included breakfast tix for Magnolia's across the street was nice. There is a tiny lounge area with 2 chairs/couch/large screen tv available for early morning recover as the spouse gets her morning shut eye, free coffee and a biz center with printer available as well. This is as far south as we personally would venture as we prefer the north end of MB but 21st street [hotel is on 25th] is a direct shot to Broadway at the Beach entertainment complex for those interested. The pool is a little on the small side and one can invision lounge chairs being at a premium in the summer but then it has the very easy/quick access to the beach...Overall a very reasonably priced 2 1/2 [bordering on 3] star option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Well free bft with voucher, make sure ask them. The front desk one older white guy didnt offer it till Housekeeping Manager Stefeny requested for me. The food is great.

The room we stayed is discusting, the housekeeper is so lazy, I called 2x for housekeeping, when she came in she asked do u need to make bed, do u need to clean the bathroom. She asked my son 11 yrs old ti sign " no housekeeping service needed" when i was step away. ahh, get another job, girl!

Parking lot is far away from the hotel, hated it. yucky dirty place. and got long distance charge callling local PizzaHut. New Yr Eve I was counting down to get off the this hotel building. The worst hotel in Myrtel Beach I have ever been.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freshair2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Best Western PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn and Suites. I thoroughly regret the front desk not providing your breakfast tickets at check in. We have discussed this with the clerk and emphasized the importance of a proper check in going forward. Again, my apologies. If there is anything more we can do, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Raymond Harter, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club to on-site dining at Magnolia's restaurant, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing