We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #66 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The rooms do need some work. Mostly in the area of the bathrooms. For one, the showers are built for hobbits, not adults. I'm only 5` 10 and I have to duck to get under the water. The "sink" area is a mismatch of parts. Other then that, my stay was great. I would like to say thank you to the maintenance crew. We had a problem and the guys worked really hard to correct it. One of the guys (Dave I believe) even got zapped due to live electrical current in the cable line, normally there isn't any. Thank you for another wonderful stay, can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: You need to book early. I booked 3 months early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie81598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,847 - 1,853 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

location was excellent, fee breakfast buffet across the street was nice. hot tub looked filthy & pool was a little murky, but everything else was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clm1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy to read that you found the location of the resort to excellent and that you liked the breakfast buffet across the street. I hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you visit the Grand Strand.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The location was excellent and the amenities were adequate. The cleaning team had a pretty hard time with their work. We had to send the kids down to get us items like shampoo and soap several times. We left a bucket of sea shells outside our door that the kids spent all day collecting. After the cleaning crew came by the bucket and its contents were gone, When I went by the front desk to ask if we could have the bucket back I was told that it was probably already thrown out and that the cleaning team has already switched shifts. My six year old lost her bucket and sea shells. Not the end of the world, but disappointing that the staff was so unhelpful, and lacked remorse.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliqutob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you liked the location of the resort and the amenities that we have to offer. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff didn’t stock your room properly and that they threw away your daughters seashell. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Unfortunately they were booked up so even though I am a Diamond member I was unable to score an upgrade of any kind. Love the location and the people that work here. The free buffet breakfast at Magnolia's was good. So was the view from our room and the best itself. But there were stains on the ceiling, the bathroom fan didn't work other than making a very loud noise, there was mold on the wall around the sliding glass door, and a towel rack broke and fell behind the toilet and the housekeeper just left it there! The elevators smelled and were dirty and it's just very run down. The pools were always cloudy and the small, one foot round one was filthy. Still, the staff is wonderful. Wish they could do something about the parking situation. Check in is hard with so much congestion. I stayed in a much nice room last September but this time it was so bad I probably won't be back. BEWARE OF MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND: I didn't realize there are TWO bike weeks and the other was a few weeks ago but this weekend it was Black Bikers Week. People were almost naked driving motorcycles, there were used condoms and tampons on the sidewalk by the hotel. Pretty disgusting. If we had kids we would have left. Took us 1 hour to drive two blocks to get back to the hotel parking garage on Sunday night due to the massive traffic jam on Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynJ6354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I love this hotel. It was very roomy. The hotel staff was friendly.The room was clean.The hotel was in walking distance to local resturants and stores.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooter2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We needed to get away for a while. It was the perfect weekend (even though it was bike week). The traffic wasn't too bad. Our room was clean and comfortable. The parking garage was a block over so there was a walk to get the car but we could park in front of the hotel for loading and unloading. Couldn't use the hot tub because there was a reunion or something going on and it was always full of children. Hotel is right on the beach so that more than made up for not being able to use the hot tub. Also had a balcony room just to sit and watch the water. We were able to sit on the beach and do nothing and take long romantic walks, which is why we came in the first place. Thanks Best Western

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasnpaulad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was a great place to stay and I would come here again, due to the location, pools, and ocean view. I wish they provided complimentary breakfast or provided restaurant/bar within the hotel. Overall, very satisfied! They also provide guests with many coupons but the parking.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisygrl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,071 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,950 reviews
3.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing