We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Yet”
Review of Carolina Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carolina Winds
Ranked #51 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Yet”
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I planned this week long trip for my daughter (13), her friends (13 & 14), my baby (12 mos.) and my mother (68) for spring break. We had the time of our life. I love Myrtle Beach and have been going several times a year for about 15 years now; I normally tried to stick to the south end of Myrtle but decided to make a change. I was searching for the perfect hotel for the things we wanted to do on this trip and Carolina Winds was located just right and were offering some wonderful specials. I am so happy that we stayed there. The personnel was wonderful; they were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and what we wanted. The condo we were assigned was absolutely the best we've ever stayed. It was beautifully furnished with all the amenities we needed. It featured nice size rooms with tv's; ceramic tile throughout; and two gorgeous views of the ocean. The girls enjoyed the pools immensely; Carolina Winds advertised a heated pool (inside and out) and that's exactly what we got; and My mother enjoyed the space and the ocean views. The baby even enjoyed the space and freedome of the condo. When we return in the fall, we will return to Carolina Winds for our accomodations.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and the space available
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cosaundraowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    198
    72
    38
    37
See reviews for
407
133
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I would like to thank the Carolina Winds for being so nice to us this year. We were scheduled to come for a weeks stay for a ball tournament and due to a death of a high school student we ended up having to change our reservations three times. They were very understanding and very helpful and didn't return a word about the changes. The accommodations were very nice and we were very pleased. This is our second stay at Carolina Winds and both were excellent. Will definitely stay there again the next time we come to Myrtle Beach.

  • Liked — view, courtesy of the staff, location
  • Disliked — internet had a few problems...was told it might be be because I had Vista
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalobison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We had a wonderful time as we always do when we stay at the Carolina Winds.

  • Liked — I loved the view of the ocean from our room!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mabrown1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This is our 20th year visiting the Carolina Winds and tho we could go anywhere else in Myrtle Beach we keep on returning! Everyone is friendly and courteous. Our accomodations so inviting,comfortable and clean. We are within walking distance to many restaurants and stores and of course just steps away from the beach. Who could ask for more. There is a restaurant on the premises serving breakfast and lunch for those who desire however keep in my mind that each room has a fully equipped kitchen. So what could be better! There are two outdoor pools, two spas and an indoor pool and spa to enjoy should there be inclement weather. Washer/ dryer in two bedroom condo and facilities available for one bedroom. We can't wait to return in August!

  • Liked — location: very comfortable; no airs!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineBrewster_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have been going to Myrtle Beach, SC since 1994. We have stayed on the Carolina Winds quite a number of times and have always been satisfied with the accomodations and the friendliness of the staff. We enjoy the ameneties, such as indoor and outdoor pools and spas. The new restaurant is excellent. We had a problem with a broken part in the bathroom. Someone was sent to repair immediately. My only negative comment is that I feel the room needs updating - carpeting, furniture. Other than that, our stay was wonderful. Myrtle Beach is such a fantastic place to visit. The beaches are beautiful. There are many superb restaurants and lots of entertainment; such as shows, festival, arts in the park, Brookgreen Garden, etc. You can take a day trip to Charleston, SC. It is one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the south. Of course, the shopping is great - lots and lots of places to shop. We feel that Myrtle Beach, SC is the best vacation spot out of anyplace we have visited.
PS: Another reason we like the Carolina Winds is location. It is a more central to attractions.

  • Liked — friendly and helpful staff - location
  • Disliked — room needs updating
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CheeverLowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2008

If you are looking for a peaceful, enjoyable vacation in Myrtle Beach, do not choose the Carolina Winds. The rooms are an absolute disgrace (we found bugs and crumbs in multiple places in our room), there is loud, continual construction taking place, and the staff is far from friendly. We were even asked to leave our room a night early because they overbooked - and they did not even offer us a new room! The Carolina Winds made this the worst vacation experience of my life, and I would not want to see the same thing happen to you. Make sure your vacation to Myrtle Beach DOES NOT include a stay at the Carolina Winds.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank myrtleexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stay at the Carolina Winds every year during Bike Week and they do a great job. Everyone is very friendly and helpful and the location is great.

The only disappointment this year was that they were doing maintenance on the main buildings pool and jacuzzi, but you just had to walk across the street for the amenties there. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Staff is great
  • Disliked — This year the main pool & jacuzzi were being worked on.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJLTALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,059 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Property: Carolina Winds
Address: 200-76th Ave North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Carolina Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing