We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do NOT stay here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Carolina Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carolina Winds
Ranked #58 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT stay here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

If you are looking for a peaceful, enjoyable vacation in Myrtle Beach, do not choose the Carolina Winds. The rooms are an absolute disgrace (we found bugs and crumbs in multiple places in our room), there is loud, continual construction taking place, and the staff is far from friendly. We were even asked to leave our room a night early because they overbooked - and they did not even offer us a new room! The Carolina Winds made this the worst vacation experience of my life, and I would not want to see the same thing happen to you. Make sure your vacation to Myrtle Beach DOES NOT include a stay at the Carolina Winds.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank myrtleexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    195
    69
    38
    37
See reviews for
400
130
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stay at the Carolina Winds every year during Bike Week and they do a great job. Everyone is very friendly and helpful and the location is great.

The only disappointment this year was that they were doing maintenance on the main buildings pool and jacuzzi, but you just had to walk across the street for the amenties there. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Staff is great
  • Disliked — This year the main pool & jacuzzi were being worked on.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJLTALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

My husband, nephew and I enjoyed a 4 night stay at Carolina Winds during April. It was our first visit to this hotel and to the Myrtle Beach area in general. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again.

We took an early morning direct flight from Boston and arrived in Myrtle Beach at 8 a.m. After a short 15-20 minute ride from the airport, we arrived at Carolina Winds quite early. I asked about an early check in and we were pleasantly accommodated. By 9:30 we were settled into our 1 bedroom angle oceanfront room. My impressions of the unit are that it was clean, decently furnished, and had enough room for the three of us. As others have noted, it is an older hotel and shows some signs of its age. That said, everything worked fine and nothing in our unit was in disrepair.

The staff we encountered during our stay at Carolina Winds were all pleasant and professional. Housekeeping came each day in the late morning and did a great job. No problem with lack of towels, in fact we had plenty.

Our favorite aspect of this property was the many pools from which to choose. On the day of our arrival, the main pool deck was being refinished, so it was closed. As the weather that day was coolish, we used the indoor pool and the lazy river. My nephew especially liked the lazy river which was nice and warm. There were several hot tubs which were all clean and heated to a good temp(not too hot or cold). The large outdoor pool was also heated.

We had one lunch at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed it. The menu consisted of typical lunch sandwiches and the prices were reasonable. I believe the restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch only.

The beach was clean and was wonderful for taking long walks. It was still a bit cool for swimming..at least for me. The sand is not the white powdery variety as on the Florida gulf coast or Caribbean, but was inviting nonetheless. The area is quite built up, with many buildings close to the beach.

In the past, I never really considered Myrtle Beach for a vacation because I was always under the impression that it is mainly a golf lovers spot and I'm not a golfer. However, I must say that it is a wonderful place for a family vacation. There are many attractions for children and plenty of restaurants that welcome families. I enjoyed my stay at the Carolina Winds and would definitely return.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Area is very built up
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms.L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pas1919
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed this past week 4/1-4/8. Checked out of motel 4:30 Sunday
morning. We were told that a guard would be in office to help.
Sunday morning the front door was propped open and no gaurd
in sight. Waited 30 minutes. Anyone could have walked in off
street. Decor is quite dated. Maid missed daily cleaning.
Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pas1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

I had a great four days here. The staff are very nice and helpful. The decor is a bit dated, but has a summer cottage feel to it. I am coming back in October, and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a mid-range hotel with a homey feel to it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank firelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We stayed here twice in 2006 and declared it our new favorite hotel. Then we stayed in June 207 and no maid service for 2 separate days. After trying another hotel, we have tried this one again. Keeping in mind that it is off season, it was a good experience. We told them that we were giving them another chance. They were happy about that. We never had a problem with maid service this time. Price, location, view from an angle oceanfront room is why we came back. (also, I love cats, and you'll see at least one near the front door from time to time). We may be going back next month and will consider going there again.

  • Liked — We requested a certain room and if available, they will give it to you.
  • Disliked — open hallways, it's cold out there. Also, lights on hallways shine into the room at night.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letsgonow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

We have stayed in Myrtle Beach many times since we went there on our honeymoon in '68. This place is centrally located and the rooms are great. The service is excellent and the staff is extremely friendly. We will stay there from now on, when we venture to Myrtle Beach, SC

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — on site resturant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rogersa1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#40 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#76 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Property: Carolina Winds
Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing