We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captains Quarters Resort
Ranked #98 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We just returned from three nights at Captain's Quarters with two of our grandchildren, ages 6 and 7. I was very concerned about the negative reviews and called ahead to ask if we could get our money back if we decided not to stay. They told us that there would be not problem with that at all. We stayed in a 14th story room overlooking the ocean. It had a room with two double beds, a kitchen and a large living room with a couch and a
pull down Murphy bed. There was a TV in the bedroom and one in the living room. The room could use some serious updating but everything was clean and all of the staff were very helpful. We called the front desk for a light bulb out and the safe not working and someone came up to take care of it within a half hour.
The kids had a ball in the lazy river, the pools and the hot tubs. They never wanted to venture down to the ocean which we insisted on for a short time. They also loved the bowling and the buffet breakfast.
Even though we never used the laundry room, we checked it out and it was clean with no broken machines. The bathroom in the laundry room had some marker stains all over the sink but I would say that was due to a bad guest and not the fault of the hotel.
The fire and hula show were so good. The kids were mesmerized watching the hula dancers perform and even got up to learn the hula. The fire show was very entertaining and thankfully the kids were not invited up to try that!!!
We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolphin_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    590
    385
    261
    463
See reviews for
1,388
386
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I was worried about booking at Captains Quarters after reading so many negative reviews. But finally decided to give it a chance. Very reasonable price considering we checked in on Labor Day Monday. Had some trouble getting into our room due to so many people checking in at the same time. Front desk folks were EXCELLENT! JohnP and Kristal were the nicest folks to deal with and they really took care of my hubby & I for the week that we were there. Nice resort, but got very loud in the evening. Too many rude people playing in the pools late at night...really do they have to SCREAM? Oy. Some of the "renovations" in our room were not done properly...too many years working in construction makes me look more closely at these things. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we had a great view of a palm tree...side balcony not so great. Beds are very firm and not good for our older bodies. So loud at the pools under our room that I couldn't hear the ocean. Even if the pool area was quiet, the AC compressor in our room roared even louder than the teens. Disappointing that I came to hear the ocean & relax and couldn't. Our room was very clean and overall we were pleased and comfortable. Had trouble with my wireless connection and Kristal came from the lobby to assist and then the IP tech stopped by and fixed me right up! EXCELLENT SUPPORT STAFF!! Not sure if we will stay here again as we are middle-aged with grown children and can't really handle all the screaming from young kids and expecially the older teenagers who take over pool areas. Anyway, hope this help other "OLDER" couples decide. This is good place for families...not for romance or relaxation. Oh, if you want the breakfast buffet that's on the 9th floor - be sure and get it when you check in or reserve your stay. It is $9.95 per person at the restaurant and 1/2 that if you pay ahead of time. Restaurant staff were excellent. Food was not bad for the price and better than moving the car. It really is a small world...turns out I work in same building as JohnP's dad.. : )

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofusall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, TN
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had an amazing time while staying at the Captain's Quarters Resort. It is the best value on the beach for quality and service in regards to families with children. Our room was clean and tidy and the maid service during the stay was impeccable. My two year old was sick around midnight and I called down to the front desk to ask for more Sheets and Bedclothes. Within five minutes, we had WARM fresh sheets and bedclothes! I was so impressed. My daughter loved the pools so much, she didn't even pay much attention to the ocean (which our room overlooked). This is THE best deal on the beach for a family with young children. I have recommended this resort to my friends and look forward to staying with you next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sartinsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Beware!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Vacation cut short...stayed at Captains Quarters in Mrytle Beach, SC..someone broke into our room while we were sleeping and stole wallet....motel found our door wedged open at 2:55 in the morning...security closed our door and reported to front desk...however front desk never called room or reported this to us..when realized someone had been in our room while sleeping was when we got ready to go to the beach the next morning around 7:30 and couldnt find husbands wallet...Manager of this facility not really concerned with this incident, told us he would get around to checking to see why front desk never reported this to us..Good thing we were not harmed in the middle of the night...Who would have taken the time to see?

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The stay at Captain's Quarters Resort was fun. I look at a lot of these reviews and I didn't see anything that they were saying. The only problem we had in our room was the cable wasn't hooked up to our tv which didn't matter because we didn't come to watch tv. The bathroom light was out in the bathroom we didn't ask to have it fixed because they had an extra heat light in the bathroom so it was fine. The other thing was the sliding balcony door got off track a few times and had to be lifted back on track to shut. The room, bathroom, bedroom, and kitchen were clean. They were some black marks on the wall which didn't bother us. One of the elevators had got stuck on level 5 and we got off and took another one and when we got back it was fixed. Sometimes the elevators would smell. The staff was very nice and hepful. The pool areas were clean. The hallways were out dated and a little grimy but it's a hallways your just walking to your room so that shoud not matter it didn't to us. I feel they needed more parking if you come in late it was hard to find a parking place. I think if your stuck up and snobby this might not be the place for you...you would need to go to a five star hotel this isn't a five star hotel. I think this is a good resort for a couple or a family. When we read the reviews we thought it was going to be horrible but we was wrong and we were happy and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshiBabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I read the reviews and thought I'd give it a try. No one described the conditions of the free bowling. You receive one game per guest free, but it is the last game of the day which is 9:30 pm weeknights and 11:30 weekends, plus you have to rent your own shoes. We did'nt even bother with the free game. We booked a bigger room after reading the reviews about the smallness of the rooms, even though our room was a little disappointing it needed an overhaul, it had loose tiles, scratches, backed up sink etc. The worse for me was the shower, I am average height and had to hunch to stand under the nozzle which was not a good idea since the water would go from scalding to cool constantly. The best thing was they did provide an entertaining show on night by the pool, which is a kid's dream, it is only one foot deep with all kinds of fascinating water streams around the pirate's ship.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amma2van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Beware one parking pass,broken stove,holes in walls,broken microwave,broken elevators, no overflow parking so had to pay for public parking! Close amenities early, doesn't offer any freebies for your inconvenience! 1-positive, clean beds!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micmattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,473 reviews
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
6.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Resort

Property: Captains Quarters Resort
Address: 901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Quarters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Captains Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Family Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters Family
Captains Quarters Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Captains Quarters Motel Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing