We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captains Quarters Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)
$153
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$87
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$179
$107
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$139
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,481)
Filter reviews
2,481 results
Traveler rating
673
624
405
277
502
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
624
405
277
502
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyfree bowlingloco geckopirate shipindoor lazy riverfamily kingdompools were cleanfull kitchenview of the oceanoff seasoncqtubsvistablastpoolsideupgradesdj
Filter
Updating list...
1,317 - 1,322 of 2,481 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is a very old hotel and needs a lot of updates. This was our first time to Myrtle Beach and probably the last time at this hotel. Our room had no coffee in the room and had a very bad unfavorable smell. Only 2 ice machines in the entire hotel. The web site for the hotel shows everything really nice but that is very miss leading. For the priced we paid I am sure we could of book a different hotel that would have much nicer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Becky W. I am sorry to hear my hotel fell short of your expectations. I will say we are going under room renovations soon and will welcome you back to a more updated Captains Quarters. We do have coffee available at the front desk anytime but we could do better in explaning that to our guests.

Sincerely,

Raffael Ormeggio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I booked this resort online after checking out their website and some of the reviews from trip advisor. We found check-in to be quick and efficient, with the staff being friendly and helpful. While the rooms could certainly do with some updating, the beds were comfortable and the unit was very clean. The bathroom and heating units had been updated, and we did have a flat panel tv in the living room. Towards the middle of our stay, we did find a bug crawling on the floor that looked like a cockroach. Once we smacked it, we realized it had wings and was NOT a cockroach, but some other bug that most likely flew in because we had left the balcony door open for a time. Housekeeping was in every day and left everything clean and tidy. We had an oceanfront unit and thoroughly enjoyed the view. We also took advantage of the outdoor pool area and hot tubs and enjoyed the resort like atmosphere. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your comment on Trip Advisor. Let me thank you for your comments about our resort. We try very hard to service our guests with utmost pride and diligence. Comments are often a barometer of our service quality and we appreciate hearing from those who had a memorable experience. We will forward your comments to those responsible for making your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Your comments mean so much to our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is your typical older hotel that is showing it's age. The carpets needed to be replaced and the curtains and comforters were full of dust. Two of the burners on the stove didn't work and the oven took forever to cook. Overall the room was clean and the front desk staff was very friendly. Having to go all the way to the lobby to get pool towels was a bit of an inconvenience as no one would really want to steal the towels if that's what they were worried about. We stayed in a suite so it was not ocean front which was a downer. Plus we heard the music from Loco Gecko until they closed which was long after my kids went to bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2kids09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level.

Please be assured that appropriate steps are being taken to correct the situation. We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Captains Quarters Resort.

Your business is greatly appreciated and we ask that you consider a future visit to Captains Quarters Resort

Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. Through these hard knocks, we have an opportunity to grow and become better … and for that, we thank you.

Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here last weekend.What a mistake. Bugs crawling in room, old, outdated. Needed a makeover 10 years ago. I would not recommend this to anyone. One positive is the staff was very nice behind the desk.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level.

Please be assured that appropriate steps are being taken to correct the situation. We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Captains Quarters Resort.

Your business is greatly appreciated and we ask that you consider a future visit to Captains Quarters Resort

Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. Through these hard knocks, we have an opportunity to grow and become better … and for that, we thank you.

Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel has been around a long time, so I was skeptical.I booked on advice from a friend who said it had been renovated. The lobby and some of the rooms have been renovated. The first room we were in was a king with a pullout sofabed with oceanview. It was so small and not clean looking. the sofa needed to be thrown out or at least cleaned, the arms were very dirty. The carpet was gross, lamp didnt work, 1 TV remote didnt work. The final straw was the hairdryer plug was black as well as the outlet, all but one of the outlets were hot if you plugged something in. i did go complain even though it was near midnight. The staff was very nice, they did not have anymore rooms available but the next day we were moved to an upgraded renovated room which was acceptable. The pools are heated which was nice and the bowling alley, even though, yes the floors need to be redone was OK. The price was cheap for the off season, but so are some others. This is the beach and everything weathers quickly ,but this is just an older building so it will always look that way. I could probably stay again if itwas a great deal and had no better options, but could definitely not be my top choice.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a renovated room!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level.

Please be assured that appropriate steps are being taken to correct the situation. We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Captains Quarters Resort.

Your business is greatly appreciated and we ask that you consider a future visit to Captains Quarters Resort

Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. Through these hard knocks, we have an opportunity to grow and become better … and for that, we thank you.

Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews