We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captains Quarters Resort
Ranked #92 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun For Families”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Captain's Quarters. There are so many pools, including a few at nearby hotels that your wristband lets you use. The kids counted 15 in total. The interior efficiency room was great (quiet even), except that it felt a bit like a prison cell (but if you spend no time in your room- it's perfect). Fridge and bathroom were clean and there was a handy safe. We didn't see any bugs. Very happy about that! The bowling was awesome! Everyone gets a free game each day and you only pay $2/person for shoes. Parents can join in, or sit and enjoy a drink while kids bowl. The location is perfect. Close to food, shopping, and the amusement park and waterpark. Karaoke at the hotel beside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadians2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your comment on Trip Advisor. Let me thank you for your comments about our resort. We try very hard to service our guests with utmost pride and diligence. Comments are often a barometer of our service quality and we appreciate hearing from those who had a memorable experience. We will forward your comments to those responsible for making your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Your comments mean so much to our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    576
    378
    251
    445
See reviews for
1,337
381
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

my husband stayed at captains quarters over a decade ago and loved it. so when we decided to take a honeymoon to myrtle beach he told me about this hotel and I was hooked from the words "bowling alley" (we are league bowlers). when I looked at the website I was even more excited (ive never been to mb) and started planning our trip in January. in March I called to make the reservation. my first "wow" was when the girl who took our reservations told me we could call and make payments on our room! ive never heard of that before. that made saving/budgeting for our honeymoon so much easier since we don't do "credit cards". so we paid for our room a little at a time until it was paid for before we even got down here.

I started reading all the negative reviews on tripadvisor and started to get worried. they were BAD BAD reviews and I was afraid our whole trip would be ruined. but I contacted a friend who stayed here this summer as well and she said she had no problems. I did however call a few days ahead and requested a room third floor and above and a newly renovated room bc I saw a reviewer suggest that. I was told they would try to meet our request but could not guarantee it. he was a very polite customer service rep.

we got here two hours before checkin and the woman Amber at the desk was so sweet (even if she IS a Michagen fan lol we are diehard buckeyes). so with some friendly college football riverly banter we checked in super early and came to our room and WOW! the view was amazing (we have a side view of the ocean) and the room was spotless and exactly like the picture on the website.

We went over for dinner at Loco Geckos and was impressed with them as well (so much so we went there twice during our stay). The pools were clean, the fitness center had the most high tech equipment ive ever seen, the blowling alley was a blast. they even had mrs pacman which is my all time favorite video game which I can never seem to find in Ohio. the bowling alley was high tech (more so than the league alley we play at in ohio). the alley themselves could use some redoing (the boards are kinda chiped and uneven) but only a league bowler would notice. We went to the lobby and a woman helped get us discounted tickets to pirates voyage. I lost my key and had no problem getting a replacement. all the staff we encountered was so nice and pleasant. we witnessed a customer really upset in the lobby and the girl at the counter was being as polite as she could trying to met his needs even though we was being VERY rude to her. and someone even brought us some little cute plastic light up wine glasses bc it was our honeymoon. and we saved at least 20$ with our vmb card that is on the back of the key card at different places during our stay!

after our stay and reading all the negative reviews I swear this is a different hotel. sure its not perfect, sometimes the elevators are slow, you've got tons of people going up and down. yeah there is some chipped ceiling tiles, some cracks in the plaster near some of the stuff that's outside but its a hotel on the BEACH there is wind and rain and salt in the air! its to be expected.

the ONLY complaint I have about Captains quarters is the vista 9 breakfast. its not worth the money. its what most hotels back home in Ohio give you for free. the food is good but the price is just not right I wouldn't pay more than 5$ a person for the whole thing.

we came on our honeymoon to this hotel. we WILL be bringing our daughter with us next time and every time we decide to come to MB.

Room Tip: check the website to see a picture of the room to see what kind of view it has. request a room thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your comment on Trip Advisor. Let me thank you for your comments about our resort. We try very hard to service our guests with utmost pride and diligence. Comments are often a barometer of our service quality and we appreciate hearing from those who had a memorable experience. We will forward your comments to those responsible for making your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Your comments mean so much to our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back from a summer vacation, 08/15-08/18, at Captain's Quarters in Myrtle Beach, SC. I was pleasantly surprised that the room had a full fridge and stove, That was most impressive and best of all, WI-FI was free. Clean room, comfy beds.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th and ninth floors---Good beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revelation57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your comment on Trip Advisor. Let me thank you for your comments about our resort. We try very hard to service our guests with utmost pride and diligence. Comments are often a barometer of our service quality and we appreciate hearing from those who had a memorable experience. We will forward your comments to those responsible for making your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Your comments mean so much to our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The kids really enjoy it here. Has lots for them to do. You don't really even need to leave the hotel. When we were here last week one of the elevators was down so that was a major pain since we were on the 11th floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmdingess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your comment on Trip Advisor. Let me thank you for your comments about our resort. We try very hard to service our guests with utmost pride and diligence. Comments are often a barometer of our service quality and we appreciate hearing from those who had a memorable experience. We will forward your comments to those responsible for making your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Your comments mean so much to our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is dirty and ran down! We were put out for finding a roach in the bed. This was the the third one we found in the room. They couldn't understand why we would be upset. All our family has had problems with their rooms from the moment we checked in! It goes without saying that we will never come back.... But my advice to you is there are lots of hotels on the beach don't take your chances on this one!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drtaylor0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level.

Please be assured that appropriate steps are being taken to correct the situation. We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Captains Quarters Resort.

Your business is greatly appreciated and we ask that you consider a future visit to Captains Quarters Resort

Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. Through these hard knocks, we have an opportunity to grow and become better … and for that, we thank you.

Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we booked on line your site listed the rooms good, nice, clean etc.. It did not say that if you are blessed to get a good value that you trade that good, clean, nice room for sunken beds, dirty room with a door that is barely hanging on the hinges. Then when we asked to be changed to another room, we where greeted by rude front desk staff , that wanted more money,that wanted to give us a lecture on how to read what is posted on your site. Apparently if you get a deal, or if certain words are listed in the room description. then you may be placed in the older building with poor living conditions. Not once did we ever get to exactly what words we should exactly be looking for, she talked in circles. After finally convincing them that we wanted to speak with management in person, being told that he would not be their for some time, he came from the back office, apparently their the entire time. He started by insulting me, told me to step aside and let the man speak(his words not mine) and when my husband called him on his comment he not only didn't apologize but his arrogance only grew. Eventually we got a new room after about hour and half but we went from a two bed to a one bed unit with a pull out for four people. The linens where nasty, I had to purchase linens for the beds. The best thing about this facility was the bowling center, the staff was nice and the area was nice. The parking area is bad, you are better off taking the stairs instead of waiting on the elevator. I agree this facility is strictly for profit they could care less what the customer thinks, just by the way the desk clerks and management act treat the paying customers. I have stayed here once before about five years ago and it was the same then. A third visit to this facility will not happen again. NO PROGRESS NO BUSINESS FROM ME.

Room Tip: when doing reservations by telephone request the newer building, unfortunately booking online you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semaj260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less than standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level.

Please be assured that appropriate steps are being taken to correct the situation. We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Captains Quarters Resort.

Your business is greatly appreciated and we ask that you consider a future visit to Captains Quarters Resort

Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. Through these hard knocks, we have an opportunity to grow and become better … and for that, we thank you.

Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice functional facility with great people at the front desk and bowling center. The house keeping staff are great as well as the pool and maintenance staff. The only frustrating issue during our stay was only one working elevator in the tower we stayed in. This meant many long waits or taking the stairs to the 11th floor. The front desk led us to believe that it broke yesterday, other staff members shared that it had not worked in over a year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher south floors (we were on the 11th) have a great view of the beach. They also hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffael O, General Manager at Captains Quarters Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your comment on Trip Advisor. Let me thank you for your comments about our resort. We try very hard to service our guests with utmost pride and diligence. Comments are often a barometer of our service quality and we appreciate hearing from those who had a memorable experience. We will forward your comments to those responsible for making your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Your comments mean so much to our staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you returning for another visit.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again.


Kindest Regards,

Raffael Ormeggio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#142 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#71 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Resort

Property: Captains Quarters Resort
Address: 901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Quarters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captains Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Family Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters Family
Captains Quarters Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Captains Quarters Motel Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing