We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakers Boutique North... Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand a Boutique Resort
Ranked #13 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Booked a 3-night stay (Fri-Mon) from the Breakers website for a 1 bedroom Royal Suite in the Boutique North Tower. On the morning of our arrival before even leaving home, the hotel called us to say that there was a problem with the availability of our room. Basically, somehow or another our room was given away so the first night we stayed on the 16th floor and moved the second day to spend that and the third night on the 8th floor in our originally assigned room. They would never say, but Im left to assume that whoever was in our room decided last minute to stay 1 more night so they put us in another unit for Friday night then moved us so that the customers coming that day could have their room. I found all this to be pretty unacceptable considering that we had actually made reservations, not came in off the street looking for any type of availability. It was a major pain to repack all of our bags Saturday morning to move into another unit. We werent offered any type of discount or free breakfast as compensation for the trouble. The only thing they did was move our bags for us while we were down at the beach. The hotel itself left alot to be desired. Nothing "boutique" about it really. Looks pretty blah from the outside. Rooms need upgrading (bedding, decor, television in bedroom was really small) if you ask me. No lazy river, pool was small and only 5 feet deep so you couldnt dive. We spent maybe an hour in the pool the whole weekend, the rest was spent at the beach. They do have an outdoor shower for you to rinse all the sand off before you walk back up to your room and the little bar/grill is nice if you are in the mood for a snack or cocktail. We didnt order anything during our stay but the prices listed on the walls were reasonable. The view from the oceanfront balconies are spectacular - the royal suites have 2 balconies so that was really nice. The larger one is direct oceanfront, the smaller one is at an angle, half of your view is of the angle balconies of the Patricia Grand, you could literally carry on a conversation with the guests of that hotel as they sat on their balconies. Parking deck is across the street from the tower. The spaces are tight, but I have parked in decks with smaller spaces so that wasnt a big complaint, the real horror was not finding a space on the first level and having to go up and down the ramps which were like tunnels and took some skill to not scrape your vehicle on the corners - I feel extremely sorry for all the folks in large SUVs or Towncars!! I am glad we stayed after the Labor Day holiday, I can only imagine the nightmare it would be to cross a super busy Ocean Blvd with a small child. An over the street walkway would be nice (there are hotels on the strand that have these) A couple times the elevators in the parking deck got stuck and we had to take the stairs. They are pretty nasty and it made me nervous having to use them late one night. Broadway at the Beach is only 1 mile from the North Tower and that is where we spent alot of our time so it was a really big convenience for us. It is probably the biggest perk to staying at this hotel. On the morning of our departure, I washed a small load of laundry and threw them in the dryer at 10am. The clothes were still not dry at 11am. An employee came to our room to remind us of their checkout time, I explained the situation with the dryer and she seemed as though giving us a few more minutes for the clothes to dry wasnt a problem. However, as soon as she left, our phone rang and the front desk wasnt as understanding. They literally pushed us out of there and I was forced to stuff damp clothes into my suitcase. Of course they stunk when we got home (4 hour drive) so I had to re-wash them. So I say that a late checkout option (an extra hour is the norm) isnt too much to ask. Ive stayed many many places that offer late checkout (Hilton, for example... at no extra charge even!) We had a great time in Myrtle Beach, but honestly I will probably take my money elsewhere and stay at one of the newer hotels that are popping up on the strand. It wasn't worth the over $124 a night that we paid. There is a really beautiful tower being built just 1 block south of the Boutique Tower. I wish I knew the name of it for future reference!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gkw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2007

Having never been to Myrtle Beach I searched hotel reviews for two days before choosing Breakers Boutique North Tower. I wanted a view of the ocean from our room but without breaking the bank.
Breakers Boutique fit the bill precisely. It had good reviews, an ocean view...a great price.
Once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the view was great and it was located on a quiet end of the strip. Our favorite part was the beach access right outside the pool area.
They have a pool and hot tub and they have towels waiting for you before you hop in. One thing that others may like is that you can use the facilities at the all three Breakers hotels during your stay...and the walk is a breeze! (We never took advantage of this because they really had everything we needed at our location.)
The only thing I wasn't crazy about: The wait for an elevator can be pretty long...an even that really wasn't a big deal since all we has was time!
Overall...Great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We have visited Myrtle Beach many times over the past 15 years. This time, by happenstance after reading a CAA book on Myrtle Beach, we booked 4 rooms at The Breakers, North Tower Complex. We were very pleased with the attractive and modern appearance of the suites. We were also pleased to have a functional kitchen, a dish washer and a washer and dryer in each suite. Great assets when travelling with children.
The air conditionner unit gave a mild continuous hum instead of a huge blast when the unit came on. The pool at The North Tower was not at all busy when we were there. Active junior age children could find water works further down at the main Breakers. But for our purposes...the baby pool, the larger pool and the ocean were plenty.
I would also like to comment on the staff....excellent cleaning staff in the rooms and on the grounds and the best front desk staff I have ever had the occasion to meet. They had truly southern manners with an efficient enthusiasm. We will return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed at the Breakers Paradise Towers from August 9-16. We were ten people and stayed in the three bedroom superior suite. It had 6 queen beds and three bathrooms. It was a perfect suite for us all. There was a dishwasher and washer/dryer which was very convenient. The living area had floor to ceiling windows with great oceanfront views. The kitchen was lacking cutlery and dishes when we arrived but a quick call to front desk and more were supplied to us.
The kids ages 7 to 14 loved the pool area. The resort was busy but they never had a problem finding room in the pool, lazy river or pirate ship area. We've stayed at two other resorts in Myrtle Beach and this by far had the nicest pool area. Only problem was finding pool chairs, if you weren't down by the pool by 8:30 no luck finding chairs. Not a big inconvenience for us. The beach always had plenty of room for our umbrellas and chairs. The kids and adults loved using their body boards to ride the waves.
The only complaint we had was the maids never cleaned our rooms very well. Especially the bathrooms. The towels were changed daily but the bathroom was never cleaned all week. They vacumed the suite but never wiped anywhere. I know they have a lot of rooms to clean but they could have at least made an attempt to clean the bathrooms a couple of times while we were there. We mentioned it to the front desk and we hope they take note as this might be a reason for not returning to the resort.
Overall the Breakers was a great choice for us and we had a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We have just returned from Myrtle Beach (Breakers North Tower) My Husband, 2 kids ages 14 and 5 and I. We go to Myrtle Beach every year, this was the first time staying @ the Breakes and it won't be the last. out of the past 7 years going to Myrtle Beach this was the best Vacation my family had. The kids just loved the pools and having all access to all the Breakers attractions. We are ready to go back. Everyone was so nice and willing to go out the way for you no matter what your needs. Thanks Breakers!!! we enjoyed our stay.

The Beale Family.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank LaBeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We stayed at The Breakers North on a last minute trip to Myrtle Beach. Since it was last minute, we had a hard time finding a place at a decent price and this was the best available. (We came to learn that we could have booked our Saturday/Sunday night stay once we got there, if we were adventurous, in a comparable place on the beach for less, but it was nice to know we had something...)

When we arrived early they were so nice and accommodating to let us leave our bags and go to the pool/beach and call when the room was ready. We thought that we would get a terrible room for booking on Travelocity, but we got the 19th floor ocean view. It would have been nice to be on the side with the sunrise, but we were only staying for 2 nights so it's wasn't a big deal. The room was just like it looks in the photos. They cleaned it well - especially for how much sand...

We used the pool/hot tub - lots of kids but they were cute - and mostly the beach. All were nice. Had breakfast buffet at the restaurant which was typically decent. The lady serving drinks by the pool was really nice and it was a decent value (although we ended up packing a cooler with beer to bring on the beach.)

Overall I would recommed this hotel (and Myrtle Beach in general) for a fun, relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We just came back from a weeks vacation in Myrtle Beach. We stayed at the Breakers Resort North Tower property this year, and could not have been more pleased. The room we stayed in was beautiful, it was decorated in a very quaint decor, unlike the sterile feel of many hotel rooms. The pools and grounds were always clean and inviting and most importantly, the employees always had a smile and a hello for us. I just really enjoyed the large resort amenities, yet small personal feel to this property and look forward to visiting again in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chicagoman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand a Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand a Boutique Resort

Address: Oceanfront at 27th Ave. N., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-0485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Strand a Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, an extra-large kiddie pool for the little ones, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant is severing piping hot coffee and delicious continental breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Strand a Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Resort North Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing