We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand A Boutique Resort
Ranked #12 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad!”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I've been going to the Breakers North Tower resort for at least 8 years. All my 8 years have been pleasant. First, walking in, the lobby is clean, with satisfactory service. Even though I have to admit, the parking could be improved. Going out to the pool, it is usually clean, cleaned every hour or so. However, one day, I went out for a swim, and there we doughnut pieces around, and inside the pool, that look as if they had been littered, or thrown off of a balcony. The pool is small. The kiddy pool is ridiculous. It's FILTHY. Full of leaves, sand, and other debris. The housekeeping isn't very professional. They bust into the room around 8 am, while some people are still sleeping, with a loud vacuum cleaner. You could be awaken by hearing the housekeeping staff outside your door speaking VERY loudly. Other than that, they do a good job cleaning up things. They shower, is very small. The force is very delicate. The water is barely able to be felt. Over all, the Breakers is a nice hotel. Excluding the fact that there are more than a few kids. You could never be sure if the guest that is swimming in the pool is from the Breakers or not! In all, the Breakers is in good condition.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    301
    123
    43
    47
See reviews for
417
331
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The building is dirty, old, and in need of a complete renovation. The first night when we arrived, the elevator was not working. It stopped a few times and we reported it to the front desk. We were on the eighth floor so had to make the climb. The next night, we were woken at 1:30 a.m. with the emergency alarm sounding. We had to evacuate the building. Apparently water in the elevator shaft caused the alarm to activate. We climbed back up 8 flights and went back to bed. An hour later, the alarm sounded again. The fire department was there again. The hotel staff then TURNED OFF THE FIRE ALARM so it would quit going off. The next day, the elevator didn't get fixed until late afternoon. So we were climbing again. The staff was rude when we inquired about the elevator being fixed. We also had a cockroach in our room. I would NEVER stay here again. For over $200 a night, you can find somewhere cleaner and safer than the Sailfish. It was TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I and 3 friends stayed were booked for 5 days in a suite.. The rooms were nice but the housekeeping was not that great. We had a lunchable container on the balcony from a previous tenant for 3 days. Finally, someone cleaned it up along with the balcony. We also had some strange bug in one of the bathrooms and on the last day I killed a cockroach in my bathroom. My biggest complaint was the parking. We drove down from Cleveland in a Dodge Ram extended cab. It's a big truck, we also had someone with us who was handicapped. The hotel parking is not friendly for a large truck, the first day my husband scraped the side of the truck trying to maneuver around the corner. We went to the front desk and complained about the parking, the evening manager suggested we park in a small area that already had 3 other trucks parked there. I really can't explain the way they were parked but my husband refused as the other 3 trucks would have had a hard time pulling out. We also, talked with a security guard and valet from Patricia Grand, who suggested we parkin the this alcove that had a no parking sign there. We did, and the next morning we again rec'd a telephone call but this time from the manager of the Patricia Grand who was very nasty and said we could park in that area in the evening but we had to come out during the day and make sure there wasn't anywhere else to park because if there was they would tow the car away.
My response was, you expect me as a guest on my vacation to go to the parking lot thruout the day to make sure there wasn't a spot. This was an issue every day of our vacation, expecting us to park somewhere and then make sure the truck was moved during the day if there was a handicapped area open. I also suggested the security guard call the patrons that were in handicapped with out the sticker. He didn't think that was a good idea, he rather call us everyday to move our truck around. One of your managers even told me our parking issue was not his problem. The gentleman working the front desk on Thursday was the only one who accomodated us, he seemed to find a solution where the others could not.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sappy2275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My mom and I just arrived home today from our Myrtle Beach trip The Breakers North Tower. I wasn't sure what to expect, however, I was totally surprised. We pay around $100/night for an oceanfront room. The hotel also now has a continental breakfast from 6:30 to 10:30 which was a pleasant surprise as well. The people were friendly and the location was awesome. I've stayed in North Myrtle Beach previous which sucked compared to our central location. It's much less commercial and the food prices at restaurants around the corner are low! It's also within walking distance to the Sea Captain's House which is a great place to eat for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebug19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The Breakers North Tower is a real find. Our group went down for Bike Week...Sorry to say a real disapointment....and once again stayed at the North Tower.This was our second year and once again we had a total blast. The friendly and helpful staff and the efficent housekeeping all made our stay hassle free. The large hot tub and heated pool all made for an enjoyable pool area time.....Of course if the bar was open more.......Our corner suite and add on room were large and full equipped.
The large parking tower allowed me to kep my bike trailer indoors and security allowed me to enjoy my stay and not worry about the bike or my car. The hotel's location is right down the street from the board walk and close to many excellant dining venues........The main Breakers resort is a short walk away and they have all the things a family would need.....One of the reasons the North Tower is wher I stay...All the kids are down at the main resort.
If your looking for an affordable and fun place....Stay at the North Tower....Thanks to Ann and Marleen....You ladies are the best.
Charles Daugherty

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyroadguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suebelk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at the North Tower -- and had a great time. I'd have to say the location is one of its best features. Near everything but a couple of blocks off the "too busy" area near the main Breakers. Go North Tower -- ask for a top floor so you can enjoy fabulous views.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank suebelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinez
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We decided to give Breakers, Sailfish Tower a try this year. We loved the smallness of the building. It was less crowded, more quiet and the elevator was quick with no waiting.
Our room was a 2 br, 2 ba with living room and full kitchen. The spacious design impressed us the most. The two twin beds advertised were full size and there was a tv in that bedroom which I wasnt expecting. Having the full size frig and the washer/dryer was a plus. We also had a balcony that extended the length of two rooms. In addition, we had a large deck area on the side of the room where you could lay out or just relax.
If you drink coffee, take your coffee and filters. We took a cup at a time machine with us.
We were very close to all amenities of The Breakers hotel and at the same time we had a pool area and a grassy area to lay out. There is a Breyers ice cream shop/Jaybos pizza shop across the street below the parking deck. That was very convenient and the pizza was awesome. We would definitely stay at Breakers Sailfish again. IF YOU ARE TRAVELLING WITH SMALL CHILDREN, YOU MIGHT RATHER STAY THE TOWER WHERE THE PIRATE SHIP IS.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheermeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand A Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand A Boutique Resort

Property: The Strand A Boutique Resort
Address: 2700 N Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Strand A Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, an extra-large kiddie pool for the little ones, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant is severing piping hot coffee and delicious continental breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strand A Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Resort North Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing