We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location and great place for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand A Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Strand A Boutique Resort
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and great place for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

My second trip to the Breakers was this past August. We were pleasantly surprised in August 2008 so decided to book again and we had the same WONDERFUL experience at this condo. The Sailfish Tower is newly part of The Breakers Resort complex but is seperate from the hussel & bussel that you will find with the big resort but you get all the amenities that come with a larger beach condo. The in room amenities are rather basic. You get a suite type floor plan with a front bedroom then kitchen & bathroom that walk thru to the living area that has an additional murphy wall bed (the most comfortable bed in the room). You have wifi access that was very easy to access but rather slow. The kitchen is equiped pretty basically but has a full fridge, stove and microwave. The housekeeping & maintanence staff is friendly and respond quickly if there is a problem or request. The front desk staff is VERY helpful and friendly. Both years we arrived before check in time and were able to pay, receive a parking tag & get a key to their gym facilities so that we could change clothes and head to the beach ASAP until our room was ready. They have a decent pool bar just a couple buildings down in the main Breakers building. They have activities for children and a DJ during the weekend out by the pool. I would recommend the mail Breakers buildings if you are traveling with children but if you are adults without kids take the Sailfish...it's much more quite and further away from the lazy river and pirate ship pool that the children love. We will be visiting again this year and I hope that our experience is the same as the last two years. Very affordable for the quality and location. You can walk to several restaurants and bars as well as an icecream shop and starbucks which are located across the street under the parking garage. We really enjoy the Bummz Beach Cafe located beside the main Breakers building. This is a must! Great beachy food, sandwiches, some seafood, cold beer and a delightful atmosphere with a deck area that you can walk up to from the beach and enjoy lunch, a drink and typically a local musician in a great beachy atmosphere...we usually visit here several times during our stay! The Breakers Sailfish is a great place to stay if you are looking for a decent room for resting in between beaching it...if you are looking for upscale you won't find that here but this is great place for the price if you are looking for something clean and convenient with a beachfront room that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennRT929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    283
    113
    43
    46
See reviews for
387
304
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel before and had a wonderful time. However, this time our room was on the second floor next to the kitehcn exhaust fans for the Patricia Grand next door. When the fans would come on at 5:00 or 5:30 in the morning the sound was like marbles in a tin can in a dryer. It was impossilbe to sleep with the door open or closed. I moved out to the common room of the suite only to be awakened again on a Sunday morning as the grounds crew for the Patricia mowed, used weedeaters and blowers for an hour or so. All in all my restful vacation listeing to the sweet "KaTish" "KaTish" of the waves was not so restful. I would suggest that before you accept your room you make sure you are on one of the higher floors far away from the noise coming from next door. We had one sliding door that wouldn't slide and a non-working remote but the room was clean and comfortable and just as advertised.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

So much to do there beaches foam partys drinks you can go parasailing bunjie jumping and rent scooters to get around on if you flew there.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Donfenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Spring, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed Oct, 16, 17th in a three bedroom suite with full kitchen. It was awesome. It was the first trip to the ocean for two of our family members and will always be remembered as the best time they ever had. Broadway at the Beach is only a few blocks away and they had the Myrtle Beach Car Show on Saturday (0ct. 17th) as well as all the shops so handy. Starbucks right across the street was definitely a plus. The suite and the staff were both just excellent. Definitely will stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay near or around mid Myrtle Beach area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medassist61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just got back from a stay at the newly remodeled Breakers Sailfish Resort. The rooms look great and were very comfortable. You cant beat the location,Starbucks across the street, nice palces to eat within a block of the hotel, close to Broadway at the Beach for shopping and more food. The people at the Breakers were great and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The Sailfish is a smaller hotel by todays megga hotel standars only 41 rooms,and I like that aspect, but still you have access to all the amenities of the larger Breakers hotel next door. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sokokis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We really enjoyed our trip to Myrtle Beach and staying at The Breakers Sailfish Tower. The unit was recently remodled, had all new appliances and furnishings. It is great staying in the heart of so many things you can walk to. Broadway at the beach is close by. We had great food at Papa's, met friends in Parrot's Bar and Grill all at the resort. Loved the accomodations of the resort and room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

I’ve been staying at the Sailfish/Breakers for years and I must stay that the recent remodeling of the Sailfish is fantastic. The modern look and upgrades like flat panel TV’s, new cabinets, granite tops, appliances, etc. has this property looking better than new. Plus adding in the amenities of the Breakers Resort, this is a fantastic option for me in the middle of Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand A Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand A Boutique Resort

Property: The Strand A Boutique Resort
Address: 2700 N Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Strand A Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, an extra-large kiddie pool for the little ones, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant is severing piping hot coffee and delicious continental breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Vacatia, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Strand A Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Resort North Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing