We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strand a Boutique Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$130
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$179
$107
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$139
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveler rating
557
338
135
52
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
338
135
52
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakers resortocean frontcontinental breakfastacross the streetwasher and dryeryogurtfree dvd rentalsking suitepool and hot tubliving roomgrassy areaevery morninglazy riverfull kitchenparking garagelounge chairscheck in was a breeze
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were placed at the North Tower 27th street and told we could use the pools and lazy rivers at the 21st street breakers buildings. We walked the 6 blocks down to do so and have never been so disappointed. There were unsupervised children running through the lazy river kicking, splashing, hitting, and grabbing the patrons in the tubes floating in the lazy river. There was a security guard walking around drinking starbucks not doing anything about the kids being wild and crazy. The pool and lazy river were over crowded and more than half the people there didn't have wristbands like the front desk asked us to wear in the pool area. The line to check in was long, every time we called the front desk they put us on hold for at least 10 minuets. The parking deck was small, and the elevators were slow. This hotel is outdated with a lack of customer service and security employees. We will not be returning. There are so many other choices in this area that are so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand a Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank for you your review and for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and apologize for not meeting your expectations. As you said, we do schedule pool attendants to monitor guest activity in our pool areas, and we did not go a good job in that respect. We will use this in our on going efforts to improve our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Breakers Resort in Myrtle in March 2012 and 2013. Good accommodations and great staff who were very responsive to all problems and needs. On the beach and an indoor pool as well, if your thing after Golf. Will very likely have a repeat stay in 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriotdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand a Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank for you staying with us at The Breakers Resort for your golf trip the past two years. We appreciate your review and are pleased that you will return next year and hopefully every year after that. We look forward to seeing you again and having you part of our Breakers Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked a room at the Breaker’s Resort North Tower from August 25-Sept 1. We were all exhausted as we had a 13 hour drive. We occupied unit #750-51-52 (it was a three bedroom unit) to find the unit unacceptably filthy and run down. We all woke up the next morning with sore backs and my grandbaby and sister had to take breathing treatments due to the mildew. So we ventured out and decided to purchase air mattresses (to put on top of the beds), bleach and Lysol from Walmart. We all cleaned for the 1st day instead of enjoying the beach. We also called housekeeping to assist us in our cleaning efforts. The house keeper Yuki Turner was the best! She didn’t complain when we needed or wanted something. She came down from the 9th floor – her designated floor – some days just to check in on us. Yuki was awesome! The hotel staff was not very welcoming or friendly, there was a Hispanic girl at the front desk and she simply did her job without much enthusiasm. The beach and pool were nice but the room we stayed in was horrible. The owner(s) of this unit needs to sale it or fix it up so that guest can enjoy their accommodations. The bathrooms had mildew in them; the cocktail tables have filth under the glass; the carpet is filthy; curtains look like mice ate through them, living room couches were horrible (we had to have housekeeping bring up sheets to lay over the couches); tile flooring grout was filthy. If I were the Breakers resort, I’d shut that unit down. We paid $287.00 a night to clean up the unit and had to purchase items to keep us comfortable. We will take our business to Hilton Head next year. If it were not for Yuki we would have completely hated our stay. Breaker’s, do something about this unit and you need to give us half of our money back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here because you don't know what you are getting. I also called to confirm everything a week before. I called the 1-877 number and the guy gave this place great reviews. Don't believe it, just don't stay at this place.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand a Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We do apologize for the cleanliness of your room. This is not our standard. We are pleased to hear that Yuki took great care of you. We will be renovating our Boutique rooms starting in the later part of September and all through the off-season. We appreciate your review and we would love the opportunity to discuss this in further detail if you would like to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My Boyfriend and I booked this hotel through Groupon and when we checked in they gave us the wrong room (we were suppose to have a room with a kitchenette). We contacted Groupon who was very helpful, they worked with Breakers and they put us in a suite! It was more than we expected. The first room they put us in was nice and clean it just didn't have a kitchenette. The second room was very very nice! The people at Breakers were also very nice. We would definately stay there again!

Room Tip: The lower rooms (below the 3rd floor) are noisey if you are on the street side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand a Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Boutique. We are pleased to hear that we were able to you into the room that you expected and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will continue to choose the Breakers as your hotel destination while visiting the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I took our two kids (ages 9 and 6) for a quick four day vacation in Myrtle Beach. This was our first time staying at this hotel and I was amazed. The customer service was wonderful (esp the front desk attendant who helped us multiple times through out our stay, "Lauren" She truly encompassed the word customer service with her friendly attitude and attention to detail) the atmosphere was fun and laid back, prices were reasonable, etc... definitely a five star vacation. We all left feeling relaxed as if it had been a couple weeks and not just a couple of days. They have activities and pools for all ages from toddlers to older kids. There was a DJ playing a variety of music everyday. Plenty of chairs to relax in (although I do recommend waking up early and placing your beach stuff down on a chair because the ones with the best views do fill up fast) You are minutes from Broadway at the Beach and other very family friendly places. We will definitely be back next summer. Thank you Breakers for the great vacation

Room Tip: We booked through Groupon so Im not sure about the value without that deal. I will be watching their website throughout the year to try to find a good deal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand a Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We are please to hear you and your family had a great vacation with us! We look forward to seeing you again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews