We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strand a Boutique Resort
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$83
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,115 results
Traveler rating
547
334
134
50
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
334
134
50
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakers resortocean frontcontinental breakfastacross the streetwasher and dryeryogurtfree dvd rentalsking suitepool and hot tubliving roomgrassy areaevery morninglazy riverfull kitchenparking garagelounge chairscheck in was a breeze
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,115 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good basic accommodation for a reasonable price. This was our second stay at Breaker's North Tower and both have been good (previous stay in summer 2010). The rooms are a little out-dated and basic, but serve the purpose well. We enjoy the location--it is close enough to the action that you can get in it when you want, but it is towards the north end of the main part of Myrtle Beach which means it is not as crowded as most parts. The breakfast is better than your normal continental at most hotels. The workout facility is good. We were pleased with the overall experience and will return on our next trip to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Checked in on a Sunday and was a little nervous because the outside of the hotel did not look modern or updated. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and amenities in the room. There are several pools and hot tubs throughout the property. But I was most impressed with the kids club.I have a daughter with severe autism and wasn't sure how she would do with the activities. The staff said tell you what leave her,, hang out near the pool, if she can't handle it we will bring her to you. Well they were so caring, my daughter stayed for the entire activity. I was really impressed that they took the time to listen to my needs and conserns. Great place. Only drawback is parking which is across the street. We will be back in the fall. Great trip, great property

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmessori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We came down with multiple families over the 4th of July week 2012 for a dance competition. After searching online, we found a condo for rent through VRBO that saved us nearly $1000 over booking directly with the hotel. Units 1650-51-52 is one of the three bedroom condos and looked great on paper. Problems started before we arrived. When we booked (through Smith Rentals of North Carolina), we were told we had access to all the facilities. We called the hotel just to ask if there was a coffee pot in the room. Twenty frustrating minutes later the operator had us fearing that we had been ripped off as there was no reservation nor a unit 1650-52 in the system. A transfer to another rep netted us that the room did exist but as it was not on their inventory to rent, they could tell us nothing else. When we checked in, we were given green paper wrist bands and told that because we had the 'special' unit, we would not have the blue rubber wrist bands that gave access to all the other facilities (extremely embarrassing). I told them we had been promised that when we rented and they said we should have been told that the policy changed in March - the fact that we booked in January meant nothing. We were told that it was management's decision because they were having differences with the condo owner and so we could 'write a letter' but they wouldn't do anything about it. We were limited to only the pool at the North Tower. We saw that the hotel offered a free continental breakfast. Our daughters went to get some juice and danish. Hotel management confronted them demanding they pay $3 each because they were in the 'special room'. When we saw the room itself we were appalled. A slum lord would take better care of his property than this condo owner did. The hotel management bragged how they updated all the rooms 'but that one' because the owner wouldn't cooperate with them. What the Breakers and Smith Rentals don't seem to understand is that we don't know the owner's name - we only know their names and they are who we will remember when time to book again. I will now list the issues in what should have been a beautiful room and with NO EXAGGERATION : The laundry closet door was off its hinges,a towel was placed on a bathroom rack in Bath 2 and the rack fell out of the wall, ALL the beds were broke and had no support (my husband is still getting treated for pain 3 weeks later due to the pain from sleeping in these beds) ,the chairs in the LR were all broke and had no support in them, the wallpaper and trim on the walls were peeling away, there was a fist-sized hole in the wall, the hair dryer in Bath 3 had the plug end actually cut off and left dangling on the wall, the carpets were so dirty that a white towel used to mop up some spilled water came out brown, the balcony doors all stuck, a burner on the stove didn't work, the stove was rusted as the porcelain was chipped away, T.V. remote in BR 3 was missing, the shower curtains were extremely thin and ripped, dangling from the rod, and the balcony rungs were bent. Breakers overall seemed likea nice resort: the pool bar served good food and drink (although management REFUSED to allow us in 'the special room' to apply a credit card for room charges - why would they NOT want our money!), the families who rented from the hotel had updated rooms (but one family had to be moved THREE times during their one week stay and never really got to relax and enjoy their vacation), and the pool area was relaxing. The hotel and the rental agency really need to step up and deal with the vacation owner. They obviously have their own power play going on and we, the renters, were caught in the middle. We saved money yes but we spent the whole week making those words a litany to avoid dealing with the reality of our room.

Room Tip: Avoid room(s) 1650-51-52!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Babjak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Strand a Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Please be advised that there are a few rental units in this building that ARE NOT on the Breakers Rental program, ARE NOT rented or maintained by the Breakers. These units are rented thru various outside companies or by the owners of the units directly. This review is NOT of a unit that is part of the Breakers. All reservations made directly thru the Breakers will receive our full services and attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

While on a recent stay with friends at your hotel my wife and I were enjoying ourselves immensely. Floating around in the pool and letting the stress of day to day wash over us. However it seems like the kids were always hungry so we would have to leave and get them something to eat. On day 3 we realized that you offered lunch right there by the pool. We got to chatting with the nice fellow from West Virginia as we waited for our food. He was tremendously knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great pointers you can't find here or on Yelp for things to do and local food eateries. Mike, my wife says was his name, even brought our food over to us as we lounged in the recliners in the grassy area you provide. We never got that kind of service at the Hilton. Thank you for your professionalism. We will certainly be booking our future stays with you. Thanks Larry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richwash64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Central oceanfront location in Myrtle Beach and not far from broadway at the beach for your night time entertainment and dinning. The suite is spacious enough for a family of six with wonderful ocean view from the tiny balcony. Good breakfast place across the street Pappa's. Parking can be hard to find right under the tower and you might need to go one block down for the main Breakers lot. You might encounter some loud young crowds at peaktimes

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeAmericanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews