We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable price on the beach!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Ranked #156 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable price on the beach!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We came to myrtle beach with no reservations. Saw a great price and stopped. Got a 4th floor room with ocean front view with balcony. Room needs updating. Bathroom needed much updating. Asked housekeeping for TP never got any, she did bring towels I asked for. It is close to the boardwalk and 2nd ave pier. Not as crowded on the beach which was great. Two different buildings, one wit outdoor pool and one with heated indoor grat place for spring break kids who don't want anything fancy and afraid to break something

Room Tip: All rooms ocean front, like above....one with indoor pool the other outdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhowell62, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive to give the best value for your dollar. I have been in touch with the housekeeping supervisor regarding the tissue and she assured me she has that problem corrected. Thank you for staying at Barharbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    75
    72
    46
    182
See reviews for
187
119
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was a dirty hotel! Roaches were crawling in the refrigerator!!! Thin hard dingy sheets!! I had to go to Walmart to buy sheets and a blanket!! I would never stay there again, and would not recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

My sister and I stayed here. We had a 4th floor room with a full kitchen and were ocean front. The room was alright. The view was good. Had some friends visit. Plenty of space. Take stairs, not elevator, it is shakey. Close to everything, the boardwalk area. Beach was nice. We all had fun. Would stay here again : )

Room Tip: stay above 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The place is clean and very reasonably priced. The room was very nice sized and very quiet. I did not hear the people in the room next door which was nice. It is a little outdated and I was not comfortable sleeping alone because the door did not have that security block on it. The front desk service was great but the maid service was lacking. The first morning they cleaned the room, made the bed, refreshed the towels. The second morning, they did not make the bed, but cleaned everything else. The third morning they did not come at all. The fourth morning they did clean everything again. They have no on site restaurant which I forgot to check before I booked it. It was within walking distance to the amusement park and a little general grocery store. If you are looking for a cheap place just to sleep at night this is a perfect place. The outside covered pool on the third floor was really nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front with balcony some ocean fronts do not have a balcony, some only have ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My best friend and I packed and headed out Monday morning and had no idea where we were going to stay. We passed the hotel several times but something drew us back to it. When we walked in, the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming which set us at ease. We had an oceanfront room and for $49 a night it was well worth it. The plus side was we were right beside 2nd Avenue Bar and Grill Pier which we enjoyed listening to the band while sitting on the beach access at our hotel. This is a pet friendly hotel also which was a plus for pet lovers. We couldn't check in our room until 3pm but they let us use their restroom to change so we could still get a good day in on the beach which in our book was very kind of them. The only thing I wish was different was the parking, but hey, all hotels have limited and small parking areas. We will definately stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms were ocean view so you cant get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I don't know where some of these people stayed. We just spent 6 nights here and it was one of the worst experiences we have ever had. We have stayed at many hotels and can overlook a lot of little things, but we felt that many of the other reviewers misrepresented this property. We felt we needed to share our experiences to save others from having a bad experience staying here. Yes, the front desk staff was nice, but as for the rest of the hotel, I would never recommend it! It is an older property that is very poorly maintained. The room we stayed in was very dirty. The housekeeping left much to be desired. We had one day of very good room service and the rest were very poor, if at all. We actually had 1 day that they only emptied one trash can and left a couple of clean towels on the kitchen counter. They did no cleaning on that day. The next day we had no service at all! The elevator was scary to ride on-not sure if you would be transported safely or not. Very disappointed that this is what we spent our hard earned money on. Myrtle Beach has many hotels to choose from-Pick another one!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loves2travel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

lovely folks at the front desk, friendly maid service. The motel is kind of worn in spots, but clean and right at the end of the boardwalk. The only snag was our shower was slow to drain. Balconies, pet friendly....will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#83 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#78 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.4 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#69 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Address: 100 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4042
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bar Harbor Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Motor Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bar Harbor Hotel
Bar Harbor Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing