We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We spent a week end in March at Bar Harbor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Ranked #156 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We spent a week end in March at Bar Harbor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I chose a trip to Myrtle Beach to see the sun rise over the ocean from an oceanfront room where even I could hear the sound of the surf. After looking around, I chose Bar Harbor. In this respect, my expectations were met in every way.
For the most part, it was a good stay but I would not have thought the same if I'd have paid summer rates for this particular room.
We chose a room with a jacuzzi, hoping to ease our old aching joints. The jacuzzi existed, but the motor didn't work.
The toilet leaked constantly and sometimes we had to take the top off the tank and make adjustments so that it didn't run wide open constantly. It never stopped leaking entirely.
We did not report the problem until we left because we really didn't want our time interrupted by workers in and out.
The room was much smaller than I expected, making it seem cramped, but it did have all the things it was supposed to have, such as a private balcony, a refrigerator, etc. It was reasonably clean considering the run down condition. Although the the curtains were pretty, they didn't match the bedspreads and overall it was somehow "disquieting."
They kept spraying some horrible smelling cleaner on the common areas that made my nose run. I don't know what they were trying to cover up but if they would have just cleaned instead of spraying, it probably would have been more effective.

The saving factor, and the reason I don't feel like this was an adventure lost, was the friendliness of the staff. I don't know if it is Myrtle Beach in general or we just happen to pick places where the nicest people work but one of the things I've always been impressed with is how friendly people are. Bar Harbor's staff was no exception to my overall good impression of the people of Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Although the 8th floor seems appealing, and the view really is spectacular, if you are "queasy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luvsdsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhowell62, Manager at Bar Harbor Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I see your visit to our hotel was April of 2012. In the last 6 months we had updated our hotel with new beds and carpet. In the coming weeks we will be replacing all the curtains, bedspreads and installing flat screen tv's. We have a new head housekeeper and staff and have made many more changes to improve. Come give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    75
    72
    46
    182
See reviews for
187
119
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

this was the most awful motel at myrtle beach. The room was very cluttered and small not like it was on the website. The night maiantience man tried to fight and agrue with my fiancee for asking questions. The maids was ordering if we didnt hurry and leave by eleven theyd throw our things out do not stay here but the bermuda sands hotel next door is good.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seasnake82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Valle Crucis, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited the beach last weekend for the marathon and did not have reservations. Not having reservations we did not realize how busy the beach would be. All the large resorts were booked. We wanted to stay at Oceans One but they were booked. The staff there told us to try Barharbor accross the street that they have done a number of renovations. We checked the reviews on our smartphone and said no thanks. After looking for about 2 hours we decided to go look at a room at Barharbor. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean. The front desk staff said they had a new head housekeeper and cleaning staff. The beds and carpet were brand new. Great location with the nice pier only 1 block away. We will come back.

Room Tip: The king suite room had a wonderful oceanfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zachary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel was great and perfect for my ideal trip to the beach! Love the location, the fact that its ocean front is a major plus and i like that its close to the sky Wheel and board walk and pier but not right on top of it. In other words, its close enough to enjoy the walk. Loved the view From our room. loved everything! I am really hoping to be back! I found our room to be clean and comfortable and ALL of the staff was very friendly, helpful and nice. :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tldalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We first checked into a 4th floor room. The air conditioning/heater did not work. Then we noticed a beeping sound. It was the remains of a non-working smoke detector. We asked to move. They moved us next door. No tv remote. We later found debris and cigarette ashes behind the night stand. The chair was broken on the balcony and the balcony was very dirty.This facility needs to clean up its act or tear down!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large however the bathroom was very nasty. Looked as the floor wasn't cleaned at all. The smoke alarm was laying on the table whenever we arrived. I'm unsure of the wifi service only staying one night I didn't take my laptop with me

Ok I guess probably not somewhere I will stay again. During this time a year you can get a much better and cleaner room for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casselman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Room was large, ocean view with balcony, kitchen, very clean.

Location is perfect, right in the center of action

We had 2 medium dogs that loved their stay too, especially watching the people & dogs on the beach.

We will be returning.

Room Tip: go for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma_O_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#84 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#79 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.4 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#69 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Address: 100 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4042
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Motor Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bar Harbor Hotel
Bar Harbor Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing