We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Ranked #155 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just recently came back from Myrtle Beach and a stay at Bar Harbor. I had read reviews and knew that it wasn't the best. But.... We saw several roaches as several reviews indicated. However, the worst thing was that one of our rooms was infested by bed bugs. I have just returned from a physician who diagnosis the bites as coming from bed bugs. This is unexcusable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greyhounds18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    74
    69
    40
    176
See reviews for
181
112
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My Aunt use to stay at this place years ago, then it was nice. We had four different family menbers staying here. It was dirty,run down. When I told the staff about the roachs, they said sorry we spray once a month. They move us twice, said the room we were in was booked. We had booked a head to???? The staff was not helpful at all. I seen 2 dogs tied to a tree at motel for over an hour with no water. I went down to the office to let them know. They said sorry we can't do anything don't know who's dogs they are. If you want you can call aminal control. I din't want to stay, but didn't want to upset the other family menbers. All four would of had to found a different hotel.

Room Tip: I don't have anything good to say about this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar6810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Don't expect this to be a five star because you are not paying for a five star. The rates are very good. Housekeeping could do a much better job. Hard getting a cart over to the other building to unload luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great place to stay. Price was very reasonable. 4 hotels from the pier. Was perfect for us. Room was larger than expected an talk about the view-unreal. set on the couch or lay on the bed an c the ocean.Sunrise every morning. had large refrigerator an sink an microwave.Jacuzzi tub was great.A very needed an relaxing vacation.Plenty of places close by to eat an shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just got back from staying at bar harbor for the 10th year.Location is great we had a ground level room and we liked it better than in the south tower were we have stayed before.It was clean and the house keeping staff were great with the daily service the gave us always very polite and accommadating. We had a few items that needed to be fixed and the same day i reported it is was fixed asap. The front desk ( Mr Austin ) was top notch all the way he is always very curtius polite and a true professional. From the moment of booking to modifications to giving the right info he was there and we appreciate him very much.The owners have made some improvements over the winter, we were her in January and saw what was going on. This has helped but please dont stop you have a ways to go to get the place back to what it was the first time we came and it was under the previous owner.
All in all bar harbor is not the Hilton but your not paying the price of it either. This is a nice family hotel that we enjoy coming back to for the staff, the beach, the location. Its not perfect but im not either so there.

Room Tip: Ground level was accomadating for the lugging of golf clubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertpaqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my first trip to Myrtle Beach. The friend that I was traveling with had stayed here before and made the reservations. We were traveling with our two dogs and the Bar Harbor being pet-friendly was a major factor in our choosing to stay there. We checked in and went out to eat before going to the room. The elevator was rickety and a little nerve-wracking as our room was on the 7th floor. It needed to be mopped and there were cigarette butts and trash on the floor. Upon our arrival, the first thing we noticed was that the air-co was not working as it was rather hot outside. We had a 2 bedroom suite so there were 2 air-cos..neither worked! The room was far from clean and the tacky orange bedspreads were stained. There had obviously been some leaks as the ceiling had been patched in several places..there were also a few holes in the wall. The floor was dirty. I was somewhat surprised that the place looked so run-down as it was advertised as a premium oceanfront hotel. We attempted to call the front desk to report the lack of air-co but the phone was broken. We went downstairs and spoke with the desk clerk. He was an older man and very rude. When we reported the broken air-co he said it was too late to do anything since we had waited so long to report it. We asked to be moved but the hotel was full. When we asked to be comped if we couldn't move he acted like we were lying to get an upgrade or something for nothing. We spent a miserable night with no air. They did fix it the next morning and upon checkout we were comped $50. Big deal. The dog area was filthy and none of the other guests bothered to clean up after their dogs. It was filthy and covered with dog poop. Obviously the hotel staff didn't clean the area. It was nasty. We stayed 3 nights and I don't consider myself a person that's hard to please but it was pretty bad. The clerk that we had the run-in with was absolutely horrible. I can't imagine keeping someone around that acted like this. If you decide to stay here its right on the beach and the balcony is nice. The beds were very uncomfortable and hard. The class of guests was rowdy and doors were slammed all night long. It was certainly an adventure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovenicholas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Ravenswood,WV
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were looking for a nice place to spend our week in Myrle Beach. Accidently ran across add on internet, and we stopped here. The price was good, and the view was fantastic. We were not expecting anything spectacular and weren't afforded much more. The redeeming feature for us was that we were on the first floor of the second building and it had a deck, large deck shared by four other rooms. The view was great from here with access to the beach a short stroll. But why leave the deck, the view and sounds were what we were looking for. The room was rather tight for us, but manageable, the furnishings were straight up motel equipment. Our room had one light that didn't work with the cord cut, not able to plug it in. The beds were well used up, with a hump in one and a low corner on the other queen bed. The two pillows per bed were flat. The TV was an older tube type, but worked great. We had an efficiency with small kitchen area. The utensils were basic, and limited. No steak knifes, etc. The refrigerator and stove were not level. Also on that line, no hair dryer, or iron. The bathroom was adequate, with concerns about a brown spot on the wall, and no toilet paper holder. The tile in the floorway leading to the room was slick when we first entered, almost fell twice. We requested no house keeping the first day, but the other four days they were attended to but three nights I slept with sand in my bed. Also on the deck area, there was no reentry to the room if the door was shut, requiring a walk around to the front door to reenter the room, throught the pool area and parking area between buildings. The curtains over the A/C units were covered by curtains, requiring a stuffing of the curtains to get the cool air flowing into the room to maintain privacy. The parking area is very iffy. We stayed on the first floor and expected to have a parking spot upon returning from an outing. We were lucky I had a very small vehicle. I feel the tenants in upstair rooms should park in the basement and ride the elevator to their floor, not park on first floor parking area.
When we come back we will look hard at staying here again, it served it's purpose for us. Like other places for vacation, it's a place to stay at night, so fancy amenities are not that important, you're not going to be there all the time. It was an OK place.

Room Tip: Bring any daily utensils you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jax405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#81 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#79 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#134 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Motor Inn
Admiral Motor Inn
#49 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Motor Inn
Address: 100 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4042
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bar Harbor Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bar Harbor Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Motor Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bar Harbor Hotel
Bar Harbor Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing