We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T DO IT!”
Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Check in is supposed to be at 4p.m. I stood in the lobby for close to two hours as they assured me over and over that the room would be ready in "10 more minutes". At least I wasn't lonely as there were several other guests with various complaints. If you are choosing this location for the price, RECONSIDER! I almost told them to keep the money and found another hotel. The stench, poor parking, and poor service all live up to their 1 star rating.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangerbird1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 154 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

My family & I arrived on Monday 26th around 5pm with no problem at checkin. Yes, the parking is tight, but can be done if you take your time. The parking garage is not the indy 500 folks... I drive a 60ft ladder truck for a living. We stayed in room 1209 with a great view of the ocean which is across the street. Also have a great view of the outdoor pool. The kitchen area was okay...the microwave cart had seen better days. Also the oven was left full of grease by the last occupants, but we did find tht out untl the next morning when my wife preheated the oven to make the kids some sweetrolls. I notified the front desk and someone immediately came to clean it up! The maid service was great....every morning around 10am she came to replace towels, take out trash, make the beds, and replace anything else that we needed.
Well, on Wednesday we had a bad storm which knocked out the electric and the AC...even the Emergency lighting was knocked out.The power was back on in about 3hrs, but not the AC. ON Thursday around 5pm the AC was fixed after a part for the unit on the roof was replaced using a CRANE!
Overall, the stay was pretty good....we booked through Reservevacations.com....$515 for 5 nights but you have to do a 2hr tour with Wyndham Vacations located in North Myrtle Beach. REMEMBER ITS ALL ABOUT THE TIME WITH THE FAMILY!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireman1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Just spent 5 days at the ocean forest plaza--reading the other reviews-wow!! Yes, the parking is tricky..we also drive a Pacifica and had little trouble, you have to take your time. The smell...have you people never been to cuba or the dominican....or the west coast....salt water and humidity always smells---We also arrived at 3pm and the front office staff offered us water park passes and advised us to return at 4pm for check in...great went to get groceries instead and drive around. Now the housekeeping was minimal for me....i made the beds and did the dishes...i feel the $120.00 was steep, even a rip off...don't even think the floor was swept...when i had to ask for a broom and do it myself. The beach is great and not busy. View from balcony (16th floor) was fantastic, especially when the storm came thru or watching the dolphins early in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerih42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just left this place today, and i must say it was one of the worst experiences Ive ever had in Myrtle Beach. We had been staying at places in South Myrtle, but a friend convinced us to try a place closer to central Myrtle that wasn't as crowded. We arrived an hour early, and were promptly told we needed to leave the premises until check-in time at 4:00 pm (4:00 seriously?) We were told when we booked that check in was at 3:00. We came back at 4 to a line of about 20 people waiting to check in. We finally got to our room and were extremely disappointed. There were stains on the carpet, dead bugs in the bathroom and MOLD, yes mold growing from the air vent. There was a stain on the kitchen floor where the moldy condensation had been dripping down... We promptly went down and plead our case with the lady at the front desk, and after a few moments were given another room. This room was much nicer but was in need of a remodel. We spent some time driving around and returned to some of the worst parking ive ever experienced... we drive a smart car and still had a hard time maneuvering the parking garage. We parked up on the 3rd floor of the garage and came back in for the evening... at 1 or 2 am we were phoned by security that we needed to move our "motorcycle." We advised the security person that we were not driving a motorcycle and he hung up on us. The next morning when we left for breakfast, there was a parking ticket... on my car, for the motorcycle being parked in the garage. We didn't even have a motorcycle! We went inside and they were very rude stating over and over that its posted that motorcycles are banned from the property (did they not understand we don't have a bike?). There was a harley sitting at the top of 3rd floor which we thought possibly they could have mistaken to be ours, but upon talking to an individual who disclosed himself as "the owner of the resort" that it belonged to a fellow co owner and he can park wherever he wants. He then told me that me and my family needed to leave the resort if we cant abide by the rules (no bikes, no bike?) As we left, there was another parking ticket on our car where the parking tag had fallen from the rear view mirror and was laying on the dash. These were not parking tickets from law enforcement, but tickets from the resorts security team. We are waiting to see if they process funds from our credit card on file at this point.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BatonRouge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The only complaint that I have is that the parking garage is really narrow. But we were allowed to park our SUV in the provided outside parking places. The staff and guests were very nice and helpful. The beach in front of the hotel was not crowded at all. We ate breakfast in the restuarant in the hotel, the breakfast prices were reasonable with a great view of the ocean. We asked for extra pillows and they were brought within 10 minutes. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needavacationnow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Great view of the ocean. The room was clean, and maid service great. We booked online & received a Great package deal, which included a free breakfast buffet at a neighboring hotel each day. Food and service was good. We navigated thru the hotel parking lot with ease, its all about taking your time. The ocean was direcly across the street from hotel. This is a grea place for family with children. We look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricvic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

we had really enjoyed ourselves. but the parking was awful. nice rooms clean but staff were rude. roomy beds. fresh towels. cant wait 2 go back in 3 days!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 34wacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#121 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4,189 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
3.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Address: 5523 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2394
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing