We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Our stay was nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #39 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This was the seconde time that my family stayed at Forest Dunes. We enjoyed our first stay, but I did notice that some things improved about this resort from the first stay.
The pool was clean and so was the lazy river. The indoor pool was clean as well but I thought that it looked a little murky, but it may have been the lack of lighting in that area.
We stayed in room 508 and had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. The room overall was nice and clean. The furniture was nice as well. The only thing that I disliked about the room was the fact that the carpet had an odor and the sleeper sofa did not function properly. Overall I like this resort and may come back again in the future.
If you can get past unfriendly desk staff, then this is a wonderful resort to come to. The housekeeping staff was excellent. My husband also went to the bar located in the hotel and the staff their was great as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imptopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachbabiesVirginia, Owner at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2009

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you brought the couch and floor to our attention. We do not live in the area and rely on people like you to let us know what needs to be done. We will certainly make sure that these needs are addressed.
Thank you again!

Owners of 508

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Forest Dunes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 708 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2009

forest dunes is a great place to stay while in myrtle beach sc great rooms great ocean front rooms and even great ocean view rooms the lazy river is clean pool area is clean great at check in and at check out which is hard to do because you know that your vacation is over while also in myrtle beach check out legends in concert best show on the beach

Thank scruffyvriginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Our family has been going to this area every year and we always choose Forest Dunes - the penthouse is wonderful with the best view I've seen in this area. 2 large bedrooms, 2 baths and a room with bunkbeds for the kids. Also pull out sofa for additional sleeping room. Washer, dryer and kitchen - home away from home for a great time to spend with family!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbrown3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Have stayed at Forest Dunes on numerous occasions. With other, with children, and by ourselves. We always have a great time. This time we stayed in a one bedroom #805 and it was great. Wish we could have stayed longer. I've recommend to some friends, and they are actually there at this time 5.18.09.
T. Pridgen, Wilson NC

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepid83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

The rooms where clean and service great. We had a ocean view room on the 8th floor. What a view, nice and quite. This was our 3rd stay. Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joekid02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in 2005 on the 17th floor in a 3 bedroom which was nice and clean so we returned with our family in April 2009 and booked room 201 and 207. Room 201 had a bad smell, was very unclean, outdated, stains in the bathroom, dust on all mirrors, some of the fixtures were worn and the kitchen appliances were not clean. Also a window in the bedroom would not close. So we looked at room 207, this one has been updated with new carpet and some furniture, but the bathroom was still very unclean including stains on the sink, bath tub, and light switches. We ask to see another room so they gave us room 305, this room was equal to 207. The parking is tight, and the pool area did not look very clean. We cancelled our reservations the day of arrival and booked a room at Dunes Village which was exceptionally clean, better water parks for kids, onsite resturants, more security, beach access, and five floor parking with an option of valet, and prices were comparable. The staff at Forest Dunes were great and very accomdating. They went overboard apologizing for our inconvience and offered extended customer service. If the rooms were as great as the staff it would have deserved a 5 rating. Please take a tour of your rooms before booking as these are individually owned. It does seem that some on the upper floors may have more owner attention.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountaintravelers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We are still here .. our stay .. April 23 to May 1 .. the room, 708, was a great room.. all upgraded.. nicely decorated and great view of the ocean. The pool and lazy river are hits with the kids .. this is our third time here, twice at this hotel with the kids and once on our honeymoon.. and another time where we stayed elsewhere. We would not think of booking elsewhere on our return.. like someone said it feels like home.. and it is safe. I feel totally comfortable here in Myrtle Beach .. thank you again for a lovely stay ... we will be back..

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLangills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,432 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,914 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
697 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $94 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing