We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place...will be back next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #43 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I came here in 2002 and loved it, so this year we decided to bring the kids for their spring break. We stayed 5 nites in a one bedroom ocean view, room 406. The room was great! It was clean, spacious, full of essentials. The staff was very helpful, we never had to ask for anything. The pools were always clean. And the location was great, very quiet. We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfgshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

We love the location of the Forest Dunes in relation to some of the other locations on the beach. You're close to everything but it's much quieter in this area. We have travelled to Myrtle Beach with friends and stayed at other places but we always come back to the Forest Dunes. The units are very spacious,well appointed and have everything you need.
We always feel at home when we stay here and the staff are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcfaddenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed in an oceanfront 3 bedroom condo. We wanted to be away from all the crowds (there were none this time of year), and have a beautiful ocean view and nice beach. The condo was very nice, clean and exactly what we wanted. The ocean view and miles of beautiful beach were spectacular. We were glad the jacuzzi and lazy river pool were enclosed, because it was quite chilly when we were there. We were all pleased with our stay and would stay at Forest Dunes again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganNortherners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

this place was a great price and was really big and nice. The condos are huge and they had a lazy river, hot tub, indoor and outdoor pool. also you are right on the beach. i couldnt have gotten that value anywhere else. ive already recommended it to other friends.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortcake5899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Like alot of hotel/resorts, there are good and bad rooms. This is one place to look at the room or suite before booking. There are some bad ones. There are elevator waits, parking is a problem, wirth poor access. Staff is great, but this old building needs help.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachtsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We saw the internet special for the Spring Fever deal at Forest Dunes on March 27-29, 2009. We were in Unit 501. It was great. The bed was a little "springy" but other that that, you could not find a better deala. We even went to the bar upon arrival (which was brand new) and had a nice time there. We will be back again. Thanks so much for a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuddyBuddyNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We booked our stay during the Spring Fever special as a little getaway for my hubby and I before baby #3 arrives in June. We were very nervous because the rate was just so good and we lived too far away to check it out in person before our stay. We were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in unit 901. The unit was beautiful and well maintained. Furnishings were comfortable, housekeeping staff were professional, and the view was fabulous!
My husband and I requested to see a few other rooms in case we are unable to get 901 when we come back. The 2 we saw were really bad-- old, ugly furniture and poorly maintained. When we brought that up to the staff, they said that it is up to the owners to keep their units nice. They attempt to rent out the nicer, updated units first. I will certainly try to get 901 for our next visit. If it's unavailable, I will certainly be requesting an updated room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Home_skool_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunes901, Owner unit 901 at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2009

Thank you so much for your review of my condo, 901 at Forest Dunes.
I have strived to keep it a place that I would enjoy renting myself--and it is truly my "Home Away From Home".
I also appreciate the photos you have provided. Some of the upgrades are very new, and I did not even have photos myself!

Sincerely,

Jeana Johnson
owner Forest Dunes 901

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,044 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#51 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
703 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $90 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condos, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year-round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing