We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“There are much better places for similiar prices at MB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #48 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are much better places for similiar prices at MB”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

So close, but so far from what it could have been. A fairly large complex with only 2 elevators, one of which is always in use by the service staff so get ready to wait. While we were there for 3 days, one of the elevators was down an entire day. We rode down with a resident who advised it happens all the time. Pools are small and overcrowed and overrun by the teenagers and college age crowd. Staff has no concerns, you are on your own here. Staff was nice, just did not take much ownership of your experience.

  • Liked — Room Size - 3 bedroom
  • Disliked — condition of room, pool & elevator accesability
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank firstcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willtravel12345, President, homeowners association at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2008
I sent a message to this reviewer asking for more specifics. If I get a response, I can take action on any unit issues. As for the common areas, we are taking action. Based on further input from an owner over Labor Day weekend, we assume this review was for this time period.

An elevator apparently was down and we are finding out why and why it was not repaired more quickly. We are also finding out why housekeeping was not instructed to avoid tying up elevators, especially if there was a problem with one.

Because we do only have two elevators, we keep close tabs on their operation. They were completely overhauled a few years ago to upgrade operation, and we have a maintenance contract on them to keep them operating efficiently.

Any information we receive which is specific enough to take corrective action on, we do so. The owners of Forest Dunes apartments care -- otherwise you wouldn't find owners checking travel reviews and the president of the association personally responding. We don't want to have a bad experience at the resort ourselves, and we don't want our guests to either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    165
    73
    47
    46
See reviews for
315
186
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barberton
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2008

This was the first time my family had gone to myrtle beach. I had gone as a teenager but my son had never been there. Our friends and there family went also. I thought that it was nice and quiet. they enforce a no swimming and noise after a certain time, I loved this to actually be able to keep the balcony doors open. It could have been a little cleaner at check in, but there is no way to keep sand from coming in to the rooms. The front desk was wonderful, I don't think not one of them was not pleasant and helpful. And the cleaning, the toilet paper and getting clean towels, every morning someone was there to give them. While we were there we rented scooters to get around the area and the staff accomodated us and allowed us to park in the deck. This was great... All in all wonderful place. We stayed in 306 and loved it. Nice and fully furnished with all your cooking necesseties. Would love to return to this room loved the view of the pool and the ocean. Had a wonderful stay and definately will stay next year....

  • Liked — The view and the staff. Loved the room too.
  • Disliked — Nothing really...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bhummel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights while we got married in North Myrtle Beach. With our guests, we rented six different rooms. Among the room was 201,207, 104, and 1105. Each of the rooms was in good condition and clean. I specifically picked this area because it is a quieter area than downtown and Forest Dunes offered a good rate. The maid service was prompt every day and friendly. The pool is smaller but even with a fully booked hotel, it was never extremely crowded. The hotel was right next to the beach and parking was adequate. The front desk was friendly and helped us when needed. If you are looking for a large room at a good price with a full kitchen, this is the place. There are a few negatives. Since I saw 6 different rooms, there is definitely a difference in the decor and appliances in each unit. Our furniture and appliances were older but functional. The issue for some guests would be if they saw a room they did not like, they will not realize that there are better rooms. I think each owner should be made to keep the rooms at a more consistent level. I will come back to this hotel again, but if I was given a less than adequate, I would definitely ask for another or leave the hotel. Bottom line: I recommend this hotel to travelers as long as they receive the same quality of room and level of service I received

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sonic8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willtravel12345, President, homeowners association at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2008
Many Forest Dunes owners are inveterate travelers, so we understand how important solid information is when researching places to stay. Condos will vary, and it's disappointing if you arrive someplace and it's not what you expected. So several of our owners have begun to put their own photos of forestdunes on flickr, showing real pictures of different units, resort amenities, and the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I can hardly believe that all of these positive reviews are for the same "resort" in which my family and I spent five nightmarish days. I booked this place through Gold Crown Resorts and was totally displeased with the accomodations and amenities. We were given a full refund because everything was so terrible. The condos at Forest Dunes are individually owned which means you must be careful. We stayed in unit 202, which is owned by R&L Properties, who basically turned out to be nothing more than an absentee slumlord. Upon check-in we were told that Forest Dunes didn't even have a key to access our unit; there was a lock box at the door which contained the key. The unit was basically stuck in the 70's. The worst part of the unit was the beds. They were so old that they were concave and you could feel each and every spring. We only slept a few hours each night. After stripping all of the bedding, we found a tag which varified that the mattresses were from 1985 (yes, 23 years old!!!). Wall outlets were cracked and coming out of the wall, the recessed lighting was coming out of the ceiling, the glass on pictures was broken, the sliding door didn't slide, there was mold in the shower, the faucet leaked, there were no trash bags, and everytime the air turned on there was a moldy, musty smell. In addition, we couldn't turn the air below 73 because the coils would freeze up and we would be charged for a service call. After staying for several terrible days we called down for towels (since we hadn't had any maid service) and were told that Forest Dunes did not supply towels for our unit. When I called R&L Properties, the rude woman told me that I would have to go launder the ones we had or buy new towels. We were not informed of this policy when we booked the unit.
The place in general is very dirty. There was always trash in our hallway. The pool is like one that you would find in someone's backyard. It's not big enough to accomodate the guests at a 16 story "resort." The lazy river is also extremely small. We also found the location to be very inconvenient. You must drive everywhere. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. The website for Forest Dunes is extremely deceptive.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — run down accomodations and amenities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank btravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willtravel12345, President, homeowners association at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2008
We hate that this visitor had such a bad experience. Unfortunately, if a guest books a privately owned condo through an offsite firm, sometimes there isn't quality control. From the pictures and description, this unit is not at all representative of what can be expected in units at Forest Dunes.

As for the location, it is in the Cabana Section, which is a quieter, more residential area, and not right downtown. There is Myrtle Beach shuttle transportation to all the main attractions almost right outside the front door, however, and those who like a good walk on the beach in the evening can even return from a downtown restaurant on foot (it's a hike, but a pleasant one). There also are a number of restaurants in the general area, including a bar and grill onsite.

If someone is looking for a mega resort with constant action in the middle of downtown, Forest Dunes is not a good choice. If someone wants a more manageable and relaxing venue but still with things like a restaurant, game room, lazy river, indoor pool, etc., this is why Forest Dunes' owners bought where we did and why most of us use and enjoy our units.

As for general cleanliness, thanks to the reviewer for letting us know there has been a problem -- we'll get that taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed July 23rd-27th in room 902. Room was clean and in good shape and was a very large room with a bath and a half which is very nice for convienience and a large balcony. Hotel staff were friendly and the cleaning staff were very prompt and courteous. Remote in the bedroom did not work called the front desk and someone was there in 10 minutes and fixed the issue.

Only thing the room could have used was a coat of paint in certain places where luggage has marked the wall up.
Elevators were quick and the location was ideal, you were still close to everything but was very quiet and peaceful part of Central Myrtle Beach. The room had a excellent ocean view and a view of the pool area. Parking was very nice in a parking garage adjacent to the hotel and if you park on the top a walkway leads you to the 4th floor to catch the elevator or take the stairs.
If we return to Myrtle Beach in the future the Forest Dunes will be the place we stay.

  • Liked — Location and reasonable rates
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigBlueNation1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights the end of June before traveling to our actual vacation destination, Oak Island, NC. My husband had a couple extra days off, so we went down earlier than the rest of our family that we travel with. We booked this hotel mainly because the price was great ($130 a night), the location was good and they allowed us to book for 2 nights only during peak season. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo on the 7th floor, oceanview. The condo was very clean and the decor was nice. It is true that the kitchen and bathrooms could use some updating, but for the price, it was okay. Our balcony had plastic furniture, which could be updated as well. The view was great. We had a nice oceanview to the left, the pool area straight below and the residential area behind the hotel to the left. Our two year old loved the pool area, especially the lazy river. It was crowded during the day, but in the afternoons, we pretty much had it to ourselves. You do have to cross a 2 lane street to get to the beach, but it wasn't very busy. All in all, we would stay here again, whether it be for a mini-prevacation or our usual week-long vacations.

  • Liked — The price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to cross the street to get to the beach, kitchen and bathrooms need updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank angiemarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We went for my husband's 40th b'day and i had booked it like 2mths in advance. got a great deal for approx $138 plus taxes. It ws an oceanview room. The location is soooo good. absolutely on the beach and it is on the north end so less xcrowd and very good view. Enjoyed every moment of it. the housekeeping was also good. the rooms,the maintainance verything was value for money. kitchen cud not have been more equipped. I had no prob sinmce i was travelling wioth 2kids. It is a very good htl for families as their parking facility is their own garage and that makes it much better than any other resort. It may not be a very flashy resort but a very neat one to be precise. the lazy river was our favourite spot and so was the jaccuzzi. Very comfoprtable experience and very friendly hotel staff.!!!
Go for it whoveer is looking for a neat and comfortable acco.

  • Liked — The location and the cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AriMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,388 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,789 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#52 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing