We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Myrtle Beach 2013 Fall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Myrtle Beach 2013 Fall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from our trip to Myrtle Beach that we take in the fall. It is a wonderful time to go to Myrtle Beach. Restaurants are not as crowded and the motels and resorts have good deals. We stayed at Forest Dunes on North Ocean blvd. Stayed in room 709. Very nice room very clean, had a full kitchen (if you plan to cook) staff was great. I would try and stay as close to the front of the motel as possible from floors 1 to 7 cause the motel next door blockes the side view of the ocean.From floors 8 on up any room will give you a side view of the ocean, but of course the closer you are to the front the better. They do have ocean front view rooms but the cost was to much for us at this time. The draw backs to Forest Dunes is you have to cross North Ocean blvd to get to the beach. (We had no problems crossing anytime of the day. There is a cross walk right outside the motel) and they do not offer breakfast in a dining room area. They do have a small bar area and I'm not sure if they offered breakfast in the bar. But for us we didnot want to eat breakfast in a bar area. If you like to run they do have a nice area to run. My wife and I was training for a 15k run that we had back home and found the streets very runner friendly. All in all it was a nice time.

Room Tip: Side view rooms on floors 1 to 7 have obstructed views (motel next door) unless you are as close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are happy to hear you had a nice time. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with family and friends. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    157
    68
    44
    42
See reviews for
297
174
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am sorry to say I will not be staying at Forest Dunes this year for our fall vacation. We love this place but this time traveling with smokers. They have to go across the street to smoke instead of the balcony like other places. The rooms are big and spacious and the price is great.There is a walking trail and a very nice park across the road. The location is ideal for no stress. Easy to access from the highway and plenty of parking. It is an older place but it is clean and the staff is friendly. I have stayed many times and will return without my smoking crew.

Room Tip: Ocean front views are worth the money. The walls are floor to ceiling glass. Ideal for non smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmk103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes and for telling everyone on Tripadvisor about our resort. We are so sorry we will miss you this fall, but we definately look forward to your next return trip. We really appreciate you and hope you will keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends and family. Have a great year - we wish you all the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our were: clean with up to date furnishings. The staff was friendly. The pools were clean. There was a security presence at night. Great view of the beach. Over all it offered tranquility and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluethunder13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes and for telling everyone on TripAdvisor how much you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you and already look forward to your next visit. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your family and friends. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

First, this condo is supposed to be smoke free and pet free. As soon as we checked in and got to our room, the room smelled of cigarettes BAD! Then, I went into the master bedroom and in between the bedroom and bathroom was a huge place of water in the carpet. It could not be seen but when I stepped on it, water gushed out. I immediately called the front desk. They sent up maintenance and I was told it was just condensation from the air conditioner vent. Later that evening the water had spread even more and the room was not cooling down. I called back down to the front desk and they sent another maintenance guy. He changed the air conditioner filter and said that should fix it. Apparently the AC filter was completely clogged. By the next morning the water puddle had spread even more and by then the room was smelling of mildew. I called the front desk and told them it was still spreading so they sent up a third maintenance guy. This one had sense enough to actually look for and find the problem. It was the cold water hose to the washer leaking and he said they would have to get a plumber in to fix it. By then I was aggravated that we paid for a condo with the convenience of a washer and dryer due to having two children under the age of 2 in the room. Two days later the plumber had never came to fix the problem. By then it was Wednesday and we were due to check out Saturday morning by 11 a.m. After all of that happened, there was a fire on the 6th floor (we were on the 12th) and no one was notified of the fire except the occupants on the 6th floor. The only reason I found out about it was because I stepped out of the door and saw the fire truck and all the people from the 6th floor standing outside. On top of that, I don't know how many times I had to walk past people on the property smoking. Even the guy in the room next to us was smoking on his balcony. I used to be a smoker and if people want to smoke, fine, but I reserved a non smoking facility due to both of the baby's having allergies. On top of everything else that happened, the air conditioning in the WHOLE building went out around 2 pm on Friday. When I called the front desk to let them know our air was out I was told it would be back on in 3 hours. It was still off at 11 pm. At 1:30 a.m., someone comes pounding on our door (more than once). Now remember, we have 2 baby's in the room that at 1:30 a.m were sleeping. He was just wanting to know if our air was working. A little late considering the fact we were checking out in just a couple hours. So, not only did we have to stay in a room that smelled horribly of smoke, it also smelled of mildew/mold, the front desk clerk offered to pay for our laundry at the hotel, he gave me some money and told me if I needed more to come back and let him know. I was short $2 to finish and when we went back to let him know, someone else was working who refused to give us any more than $1.50 and then made us sign a paper stating that he gave us that money. The elevators were horribly slow and half the time only one was working. I would not recommend anyone stay at this facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at Forest Dunes. We are so sorry to hear of all the horrible inconveniences you encountered during your stay. While we are certain there was no fire at Forest Dunes, we are aware of a false alarm on the sixth floor. We really appreciate you and hope you realize the experience you described here is not typical of Forest Dunes. Our records indicate a Manager On Duty contacted you to follow up on a complaint during your stay. At that time you told the Manager On Duty that everything was fine now and the manager asked you to let him know if there was anything else during your stay that could be done to make your family more comfortable. Please contact us directly so we can make an effort to restore your satisfaction. Please call us toll-free at 1-800-845-7787, select the option for "front desk" and ask to speak to our Manager On Duty, Doug Piel. Again, we are very sorry and hope to resolve this complaint to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We originally were going to stay a Thursday night thru Saturday night, but we ended up adding a day and staying Sunday night as well. The room was beautiful, and for the price, we got a lot more then we expected. It was like having our own apartment. It was in a quiet section of the beach, which was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious condos and quiet location. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your family and friends. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

NO. Although the views from the bedrooms were great ,the layout of the condo is weird.I actually liked the fuctionality and layout of the 3 br oceanview much better than this recent visit . The kitchen is really awkward if you`re cooking for your family instead of eating out each night.

Room Tip: avoid room 1705. It has an annoying pillar smack dab in the middle of the kitchen between the main c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank for choosing Forest Dunes and for sharing your experience as a repeat guest. When comparing our three bedroom ocean view versus our three bedroom ocean front condos, the biggest benefit of ocean front is the view. The three bedroom ocean front units feature a long balcony that can be accessed from sliding glass doors in each of the three bedrooms. Another feature is the corner location that offers panoramic views from floor to ceiling windows in the living room and a second balcony off the dining area overlooking the pool and lazy river. We are sorry your experience in the kitchen was not as enjoyable as your past experience in the ocean view condos. We hope the ocean front views and your overall experience helped make up for this. We really do appreciate you and look forward to your next visit. Please keep in touch with us on facebook. Have a great year - we wish you all the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was my first time at Forest Dunes. I have a 2 year old and it was great to be able to go to the beach or the pool. We were able to enjoy the day and night. I am looking forward to coming back and enjoying longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes for the first time. We are so happy to hear you plan on returning. We really appreciate you and miss you already. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends and family. Have a great year - we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#87 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#128 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#60 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing