We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful location, some slight cons.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #46 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, some slight cons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 906 at forest dunes from July 22 to July 27. Location is wonderful, it's located at a quieter area of nOrth MB. We booked a ocean view king suite. The view from the balcony was stunning. Some of the cons we experienced were, our bed was very hard and uncomfortable, like sleeping on a rock. Also upon our checkout we waited for an elevator for over 30 minutes. They only have 2 small elevators for 18 floors. I would recommend forest dunes to anyone who wants a quite , laid back stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmh6589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for telling us where we can improve. We will be sure to check the bed to see if a new mattress needed. We are sorry you had to wait so long for an elevator, average wait times are not bad, but we get a few complaints during certain peak times when everyone attempts to use the elevators at the same time. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find pictures and our weblog to share with your family and friends. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    158
    69
    45
    44
See reviews for
303
177
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Forest Dunes was an excellent place to stay. It was in a great location, and was close to everything. We loved our condo. It was clean, and had been well-kept, and was the price was very reasonable. The staff was friendly, courteous and very professional. We would definitely recommend Forest Dunes to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have the best view, and seemed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelcy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again for another trip to the beach. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts with pictures and various updates from Forest Dunes. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just returned from our stay and Forest Dunes and no doubt it was absolutely WONDERFUL. We were in a 3rd floor oceanfront, which had the perfect view of the beach! The staff was very courteous and helpful and the room itself was great and afforded us all the amenities we needed. To be able to walk right across the street to the beach was awesome! We have already promised ourselves that this is where we will stay anytime we visit in the future. Perfect location, quiet and easy access to everything. Truly loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes. It's great to see you had a "perfect stay" as we always aim to give our guests the most exciting fun-filled and enjoyable vacation experience ever! We really appreciate you and look forward to your next visit. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you may have the chance to win a free stay. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just got back from another visit to MB and Forest Dunes. We thought we would try a different hotel this time but after calling around we found ourselves back at Forest Dunes. You just can't beat the price and the room. 1 & 1/2 bath, full kitchen, living room and if you book a 2 or 3 bedroom you get a washer and dryer. Our only complaint is that you never have enough towels and wash cloths and the elevator is a HUGE pain. Other than that we enjoy every minute of our stay each and every time. We did ask for a room on the 4th floor or near it but we ended up in 1102. The room was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTraveling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes again - we really appreciate you and thank you for returning, rather than trying a different hotel. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and for telling us how we can serve you better. Next time we will make sure you have enough towels and wash cloths, and we will try our best to improve our elevator service as there are certain times of the day during our peak season where everyone tends to use the elevators at the same time. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will keep in touch with us on facebook where you may have the chance to win a free stay. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Forest Dunes and it was great! This is a 2nd stay at Forest Dunes and we have enjoyed it. When booking the room we had requested between the 3rd and 5th floor but when we got there our room was on the 9th floor. Way too high for us so we informed them that we would like a lower level and the wonderful staff accommodated our request. I did not remember their names but it was 7/13/13 around 2:00 pm, thank you! We enjoy the pools, jacuzzi, lazy river and wonderful staff at Forest Dunes. We plan on coming back soon with our extended family!

Mrs. Leath

Room Tip: Try to get the middle rooms great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanchon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes again for your 2nd stay! We are so happy to hear your stay was great. We really appreciate you and look forward to your next visit with your extended family. Please visit us on facebook where you have the chance to win a free stay. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

For the location (close to the heart of Ocean Blvd's many attractions) and the price compared to the size of rooms and overall amenities, we were pleased. We had a corner 3 bdrm on the 14th floor so our place was very spacious with a superb view. Overall the staff was attentive and friendly and the restaurant/bar on site was a wonderful plus! BUT, relying on their two elevators for transportation to and fro became a nightmare. Aside from an 18-story resort only providing two elevators for customers AND staff, they seemed mechanically slow. It was a pain for so many. The last day did me in, though, as I was riding back up to my room. The door opened on the 6th floor, though no one was waiting there, and two pieces from the top of the door fell off! Not wanting to take the stairs in fear that others, ignorant of the situation, might ride it and get hurt, I pressed the operator button to call someone. No one answered. I sounded the alarm. Nothing happened. I eventually pressed the fire button. Nothing happened! I did this several more times while keeping the door open. Finally a resident passed by and I asked them to call the desk. About 7 or so minutes later, a nice mechanic arrives and I tell him that none of the buttons worked for me. I also point out to him that the elevator license shows it hasn't been inspected since 2011. He was surprised-ummm?! SC's law, since 2011, is that elevators are inspected
annually. I am planning to call the hotel and talk to them as I had no chance to get to the front desk before we had to leave with our sleepy, hungry kids. If I were you, I'd seriously ask them if they've recently inspected their elevators before staying. If so, you'll probably enjoy your time there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EWilliams_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes and for offering your positive feedback as well as your concern. The first thing we want to emphasize is that both condo owners and our management team pay close attention to Trip Advisor reviews because we all want our resort to be the best it can possibly be. So when a guest notes a problem, large or small, we address it.

Our elevators do experience heavy use in the summer and, as with any mechanical device, can occasionally have a problem. They are inspected annually and the original certificates filed in the property association management office in compliance with state law. While a current certificate photocopy is usually placed in each elevator, we apologize for the oversight in not noticing an outdated photocopy in one of the cars. The elevators receive routine maintenance monthly under a service contract to help ensure reliable operation, and all emergency operating systems are checked at that time. Over the years, software and hardware have been, and will continue to be, upgraded. But none of this can completely eliminate an occasional problem.

This is why there are multiple safeguards built into the system. If there is a problem, the elevator is designed to prevent further damage by shutting down. When the car you were on stopped at the 6th floor, the doors automatically opened but then tried to close again normally until overridden by the safety system and finally remaining open because a small aluminum door lock mechanism had dislodged. While we greatly appreciate your staying with the car until you were certain someone had been notified, the elevator had gone into shutdown mode and could not be used until repaired.

The door lock mechanism was repaired and tested, the computer reset, and the elevator placed back in service as quickly as possible. We sincerely regret the inconvenience and concern the shutdown caused you, but really appreciate you and the extra steps you took to make sure of the situation. We are pleased to know you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return again soon and look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We love staying in this location. It's minutes away from everything but quiet and peaceful! We always love our stay. This time was no exception. We had great views, a clean, comfortable room, and very friendly staff to help us! We've been coming for 23 years. From sitting on the beautiful beach under our umbrella to sitting on the huge balcony in the evenings. We love everything about Forest Dunes! We highly recommend this be your destination vacation! Just save us a room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes and for telling everyone on tripadvisor how much you have enjoyed Forest Dunes over the past 23 years. We really appreciate our guests - especially long time repeat guests like you! We look forward to your next visit. Hope you will keep in touch with us on facebook where you might even win a free trip to Forest Dunes. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#127 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing