We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“2nd time around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #46 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Forest Dunes and it was great! This is a 2nd stay at Forest Dunes and we have enjoyed it. When booking the room we had requested between the 3rd and 5th floor but when we got there our room was on the 9th floor. Way too high for us so we informed them that we would like a lower level and the wonderful staff accommodated our request. I did not remember their names but it was 7/13/13 around 2:00 pm, thank you! We enjoy the pools, jacuzzi, lazy river and wonderful staff at Forest Dunes. We plan on coming back soon with our extended family!

Mrs. Leath

Room Tip: Try to get the middle rooms great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanchon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes again for your 2nd stay! We are so happy to hear your stay was great. We really appreciate you and look forward to your next visit with your extended family. Please visit us on facebook where you have the chance to win a free stay. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    158
    69
    45
    44
See reviews for
303
177
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vidalia, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

For the location (close to the heart of Ocean Blvd's many attractions) and the price compared to the size of rooms and overall amenities, we were pleased. We had a corner 3 bdrm on the 14th floor so our place was very spacious with a superb view. Overall the staff was attentive and friendly and the restaurant/bar on site was a wonderful plus! BUT, relying on their two elevators for transportation to and fro became a nightmare. Aside from an 18-story resort only providing two elevators for customers AND staff, they seemed mechanically slow. It was a pain for so many. The last day did me in, though, as I was riding back up to my room. The door opened on the 6th floor, though no one was waiting there, and two pieces from the top of the door fell off! Not wanting to take the stairs in fear that others, ignorant of the situation, might ride it and get hurt, I pressed the operator button to call someone. No one answered. I sounded the alarm. Nothing happened. I eventually pressed the fire button. Nothing happened! I did this several more times while keeping the door open. Finally a resident passed by and I asked them to call the desk. About 7 or so minutes later, a nice mechanic arrives and I tell him that none of the buttons worked for me. I also point out to him that the elevator license shows it hasn't been inspected since 2011. He was surprised-ummm?! SC's law, since 2011, is that elevators are inspected
annually. I am planning to call the hotel and talk to them as I had no chance to get to the front desk before we had to leave with our sleepy, hungry kids. If I were you, I'd seriously ask them if they've recently inspected their elevators before staying. If so, you'll probably enjoy your time there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EWilliams_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes and for offering your positive feedback as well as your concern. The first thing we want to emphasize is that both condo owners and our management team pay close attention to Trip Advisor reviews because we all want our resort to be the best it can possibly be. So when a guest notes a problem, large or small, we address it.

Our elevators do experience heavy use in the summer and, as with any mechanical device, can occasionally have a problem. They are inspected annually and the original certificates filed in the property association management office in compliance with state law. While a current certificate photocopy is usually placed in each elevator, we apologize for the oversight in not noticing an outdated photocopy in one of the cars. The elevators receive routine maintenance monthly under a service contract to help ensure reliable operation, and all emergency operating systems are checked at that time. Over the years, software and hardware have been, and will continue to be, upgraded. But none of this can completely eliminate an occasional problem.

This is why there are multiple safeguards built into the system. If there is a problem, the elevator is designed to prevent further damage by shutting down. When the car you were on stopped at the 6th floor, the doors automatically opened but then tried to close again normally until overridden by the safety system and finally remaining open because a small aluminum door lock mechanism had dislodged. While we greatly appreciate your staying with the car until you were certain someone had been notified, the elevator had gone into shutdown mode and could not be used until repaired.

The door lock mechanism was repaired and tested, the computer reset, and the elevator placed back in service as quickly as possible. We sincerely regret the inconvenience and concern the shutdown caused you, but really appreciate you and the extra steps you took to make sure of the situation. We are pleased to know you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return again soon and look forward to your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We love staying in this location. It's minutes away from everything but quiet and peaceful! We always love our stay. This time was no exception. We had great views, a clean, comfortable room, and very friendly staff to help us! We've been coming for 23 years. From sitting on the beautiful beach under our umbrella to sitting on the huge balcony in the evenings. We love everything about Forest Dunes! We highly recommend this be your destination vacation! Just save us a room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes and for telling everyone on tripadvisor how much you have enjoyed Forest Dunes over the past 23 years. We really appreciate our guests - especially long time repeat guests like you! We look forward to your next visit. Hope you will keep in touch with us on facebook where you might even win a free trip to Forest Dunes. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location of being closed to MB strand but not in the middle of it all. Right across the street from the beach with access. Very clean! Loved all the space. Service is very friendly. They had daily activities for kids though we didn't know until the end of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes and for telling everyone on tripadvisor how much you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon. Please be sure to enter our contest on facebook where you will have the chance to win a free 3 day 2 night stay. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just left our stay at forest dunes. We stayed 4 days and I must say it was perfect! The location is excellent. We stayed in room 504 and we had everything you could need. Pots, pans, ample dishes. The couch and beds were very comfortable. The parking garge is excellent. This is a smoke free facility, however, for anyone who does smoke they have smoking on the opposite side if the parking gargage. This is a family oriented propert. If you want the hustle of downtown then this Ian where you néed to stay. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you and look forward to your next visit. Please visit us on facebook where you might even win a free 3 day 2 night stay. Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I will start with the good. Location is GREAT !!! It is far enough away from the Grand Strand which is so overcrowded. We were in a private condo. Had an AMAZING view and the balcony is very large. Used it everyday and the final day there it rained but we could still sit out there. The facilites were very clean and the cleaning staff was very nice. Pools were clean. I saw the pool cleaners everymorning and they took great care with their job. We used the stairs 99% of the time. A: for excersie and B: you will grow old waiting on elevator. Parking garage was very nice and clean with plenty of parking.
My only downside that I encounted was the front desk staff being so less than friendly and not what you would expect considering the amount of money you are spending to stay there !!!
And, which is a guest issue, is there were several families who would go down everymorning to the pool and put towels on all the lounge chairs. By 7 am they had towels down. Well before pool opening and the towels stayed there until close..Even if the people werent down there.
Our unit was very outdated with a horrible mattress but it was very clean. I would def stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes. We really appreciate you and your constructive criticism as well as your favorable comments and your plans to return again. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Please be assured that our front office is normally very friendly and we are confident you will find this is your experience on your next visit. We welcome you to tour some other condos on your next visit as most condos are more up to date and comfortable. Please visit us on facebook and tell your friends and family to do the same - this will give you a chance to win a 3 day 2 night stay! Have a great summer - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower burrell Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our condo was beautiful. They had pots,pans, dishes, everything..over all it was a good stay except for the noise levels. The doors are so heavy so all you hear is doors slamming all night and morning...even early morning when the cleaning ladies are cleaning they let the door slam a million times...also all we heard were the people above us and beside us...also for non smokers DO NOT think that you will get away with smoking on property.. there security guard is really strict he goes as far as hiding in bushes to catch people smoking he'll walk to the beach...also the pool and Jacuzzi were to close at 10 but they changed the time to 11 but they kept the Jacuzzi on a timer so kids are in it all day and by the time you go to get in it..the timer is shut off we talked to management about it and he was a jerk and would change it he said its staying like that...I know I heard plenty of people were not coming back..it was clean tho..oh and u wait ATLEAST 5-10 mins for the elevator each time..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and constructive criticism regarding your recent stay. We really appreciate you and hope to make some changes that will make your next stay even more enjoyable. We are sorry to hear your stay was less than perfect. While we do not recall other complaints such as yours, we do believe your experience is important. Concerning noise from doors, we believe this may be isolated to the condo you stayed in as these doors can be adjusted to reduce the amount of noise they make when closing. Concerning the spa timer, your suggestion has been under consideration since you mentioned it, but we were not able to implement a change immediately upon your request due to property permit and equipment programming requirements. Your comments help us make the adjustments needed to fine tune our operation. Please keep in touch with us on facebook and you might even win a free return trip. Have a great summer - we wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#127 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing