We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and views”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family rented several rooms over Thanksgiving. There is a wide range of standards in the rooms. I asked for some of the top rooms and they were ok. The big plus is the spaciousness. Three bedroom units are like an apartment and one bedroom units are equipped with full kitchens and one and a half baths. The wifi connection is weak and the gateway splash page is a major aggravation. If you want to use any apps on your smartphone or iPad you will be frustrated by the forest dunes gateway page. Prices for rooms are reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britfan789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay during Thanksgiving. We wish you could have seen more condos while you were here as we are certain you would have found many more to your liking. Thanksgiving is a very busy weekend for us and our best rooms are typically occupied and unavailable for viewing. We agree and thank you for acknowledging our condos are more spacious than those of our competition. Please keep in mind it is very likely the condos you viewed in November have been updated by now, or will be prior to our summer season. Most renovations take place during our slowest months of December, January and February. We are sorry you had troubles with the free wireless internet service. We test our wireless internet frequently and it is very unusual to have a weak connection. We also offer a customer service line through our front office for anyone having difficulties with wireless internet. Thanks again for choosing Forest Dunes. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon. We are constantly working to give our guests the most exciting, fun-filled and enjoyable vacation experience ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    164
    71
    46
    45
See reviews for
310
185
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first time staying at Forest Dunes and we loved it. We were lucky to have an oceanfront condo on the 10th floor. The place is quiet, convenient and affordable. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scgirlsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've stayed here off and on for twenty years, both when our kids were small and now that we are empty nesters. We've always had a pleasant stay. The desk folks are very friendly and we like the location away from the huge high-rise resorts as the beach is less crowded and the area less congested and quieter. They have a small lending library of DVD movies and free daily paper in the office. The water amenities at the newer, larger resorts are more elaborate. For example, the indoor pool is a bit small and not one for lap swimming. My wife loves the ocean front deluxe one-bedroom suite as it is in a corner with two balconies and two glass walls in the living room which provide wonderful beach views. As the rooms are individually owned and furnished, the quality and extent of the furnishings varies. While some are more up-to-date than others, we've not had a bad room yet. I can definitely say we will stay at the Forest Dunes again as we've returned many times already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Forest Dunes Resort off and on for twenty years and for telling everyone about it here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you've always had a pleasant stay. Our desk folks and our entire team love all our guests, especially repeat guests like you - we really appreciate you. As you noted, Forest Dunes Resort is not a boring, "cookie cutter" property where all the rooms are the same. Instead, here you will find each spacious condo is individually owned, decorated and furnished. Our owners are constantly updating their condos to keep up with our guests demands. As a result you've "not had a bad room yet". We are so glad to hear you plan to stay with us again and we look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Sincerely,

Doug Piel
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had not stayed here since the 90's, so I had some trepidation about returning. I was pleased to find it exceeded my memory! The suite was spotless, new carpet, clean furnishings. I love this place because you get a beautiful view from your bedroom and the living room; long balcony with slinding doors in both rooms. Plenty of space to move around and lots of light. These units are condos with living area and bedrooms separate. The kitchen in unit 809 was well stocked. This hotel is in a quiet area, mixed residential and hotel, yet close to everything. It's actually across a quiet, two lane street from the beach, but from the room, with nothing blocking the view, you'd never know you weren't directly on the sand. It's an easy walk over to the beach through the cabana area. I travel alone and felt completely safe here. The people at the desk were so friendly and helpful. There is a parking deck without direct access into the building, but right behind/beside the hotel building. The only negative I found was the indoor pool. It's very tiny. I managed to get the pool all to myself all weekend, thankfully, otherwise, it would have been crowded. The outdoor pool isn't heated and also isn't very large. The restaurant, bar and jacuzzi close for the season. Other than that, I can see no reason to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Higher up is better for the view. Corner rooms have windows on the side as well as the sliding doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivefinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with everyone about how much you enjoyed your stay at Forest Dunes Resort. We are sorry you had not stayed with us since the 90's, but we are thankful you returned and had a great experience. You noted our jacuzzi was closed for the season, but it was only closed temporarily to resurface and upgrade the patio around the jacuzzi and lazy river. Both are open again as they usually are open all year - enclosed and heated during the cooler weather. Our outdoor pool is not heated during the winter months since it is not enclosed, but the pool is heated beginning with Can-Am week on March 9th - less than a month from now! As usual, we are pleased to hear our people were friendly and helpful. We really appreciate you and all our guests. We hope you will return more often now so we may have the priveledge of serving you again in the future.

Doug Piel
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice. The price is right and the location is excellent. It is located in a more quiet, residential type setting but it's just a short drive to all the attractions in Myrtle Beach. Excellent place to take a family vacation. Comes with full kitchen with dishwasher and 1.5 baths. The view is beautiful. There is an outdoor pool, indoor pool, lazy river, hot tub, and onsite restaurant. The hotel also has a parking garage adjacent to it. You do have to cross a two lane road to get to the beach. However, the road isn't busy and we had no issues. I would recommend to anyone who wants a nicely equipped condo on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daving2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for telling everyone about all the good things Forest Dunes Resort offers its guests. We really appreciate our guests, especially repeat guests like you. We agree about the location - we love our location because the beach never gets too crowded, it's quieter, and it's still a close drive to the many attractions here in Myrtle Beach. Forest Dunes Resort offers spacious condos with one to three bedrooms. We are completely SMOKE FREE, inside and out - smoking is not permitted on property. Another feature that adds to the quiet family atmosphere is our rule that NO MOTORCYCLES ARE ALLOWED ON PROPERTY. Thanks again for choosing Forest Dunes Resort. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Doug Piel
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Quick Check-in, terrific room, great pool, helpful staff! Overall I would rate Forest Dunes 5 out of 5 stars. My family has stayed here for many years and I would recommend this condo to anyone. Spacious rooms, great views, full kitchen (much cheaper then eating out)! I couldnt imagine staying at a hotel or anywhere else in Myrtle Beach after staying here, so much space! We have been in the single and multi bedroom units, and oceanfront/overview units. They all have an amazing amount of space and a great view of the beach and ocean. They have 2 pools (one indoor/one outdoor) a lazy river with tubes(great to float around in all day) as well as a kiddie pool. It was a great place to stay expecially with having a little one. We had plenty of space to spread out in the room. The location is also terrific, you are seconds away from the beach. You walk out of the lobby and cross a small, lightly traveled street and you are right at the beach. There is a small pavillion right before going on to/off of the beach to be able to rinse the sand off of yourself and your belongings. Lots of space on the beach, attentive lifeguards and beautiful weather make this a great place to stay. You are also only a few minutes away from all the major attractions of Myrtle Beach, but far enough away from them to have to deal with all of the traffic! The front desk/cleaning staff are friendly and helpful, there is a free "borrow a movie" shelf in the office area for the nights you are staying in, and they have tickets available fror certain attractions in the office. I also like the off-street parking garage with plenty of space. Theere is also a small bar/restarant in the hotel that is nice and convenient. Like I said, we have been coming here for years and will continue to come here for years to come!

Room Tip: Every room is great and has a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your outstanding review based on many years of experience vacationing at Forest Dunes Resort. We are thrilled to hear of your experiences with quick check in, terrific spacious rooms with full kitchens, great pools & lazy river, great views, great location, friendly and helpful staff, great parking, and a nice and convenient on-site-seasonal bar and restaurant. We especially appreciate hearing from you, representative of a family with small children. Like you, most families who stay here with children really appreciate the family atmosphere and location here at Forest Dunes Resort, preferring our amenities over those of an over-crowded mega-resort that can be overwhelming to parents trying to keep watch of their children while enjoying a fun-filled and exciting vacation mixed with rest and relaxation. We really appreciate you and all of our outstanding guests. We wish you the best and look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, MO
Level Contributor
348 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Checkin was quick with a very friendly staff. Room 909 is just off the elevators, and has a sweeping view of the ocean and Myrtle Beach. The kitchen is very tight and awkward, and the corner sink is difficult if not impossible to use. It is a full kitchen with oven, stove and dishwasher, but not really setup the best for cooking. The bathroom was very small with virtually no counter space. The closet with the furnace, A/C and water heater appeared to have a lot of mold or mildew in it, so I didn’t dare run it while I was there. The bathroom also seemed to have some mildew on the mismatched wallpaper. Internet was good with a reliable connection at a reasonable speed, but you had to log back in every 3 hours. There was no safe to store the laptops when you are away from the room. The exterior was renovated last year, and I wrote them before my trip to ensure all the renovations were done and the pools were all open. The promptly responded, “There will not be any construction this year and the pools are open year round.” The outdoor lazy river and hot tub, normally covered in winter were all drained and under construction when I arrived. Monday morning they started work on the outdoor lazy river with a loud concrete saw. Tuesday was better with less noise, but still limited my ability to leave the doors open with the dust and noise. The small indoor pool was open and warm, but it is oddly shaped so you can’t really swim and there is no indoor hot tub. There was no maid service on the second day, I had to ask for dishwasher soap at front desk. Bed was OK, nothing special; living room furniture was nice but soft. What makes this place great are the sweeping views and mostly residential location, but the building is old and my unit needed work. The parking garage is behind building and rather dark and dreary during the day, well lit at night. Each unit is different since they are condos, not all of them have corner sinks or moldy AC units. I paid $62 a night which included $49 for the room, $5.65 resort fee and $6.37 tax. Reasonable pricing in December at Myrtle Beach for an oceanfront unit. This property attracts older couples more than families. If you have children, it’s probably not the best choice in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in early December. We certainly agree that the sweeping views and mostly residential location make Forest Dunes Resort a great choice for your vacation destination in Myrtle Beach. We are sorry to hear you had a few problems. We are especially sorry to hear you were assigned a condo with an A/C closet that needed to have a small area of sheet rock replaced inside the closet due to some water damage. We assure you that this closet wall has been repaired. We are also very sorry for the confusion regarding the work by the lazy river and whirlpool. It appears you made your reservation in October and we were expecting a brief period of renovations to improve the patio well before your anticipated arrival. Unfortunately, there was an unexpected delay with the work around the lazy river and whirlpool which resulted in them being closed during your stay. On the bright side, we are happy to have a newly surfaced patio to help maintain our facility in "like new" condition. We hope you will enjoy the benefits of all our renovations on your future stays and I would be happy to work with you personally if you need any assistance to help make up for these unfortunate circumstances during this most recent stay. We really appreciate you and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Doug Piel
Manager On Duty
Forest Dunes Resort
1-800-845-7787
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#78 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,090 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Vacatia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing