We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“nice location nad more ameneties if you go "in season"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #46 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice location nad more ameneties if you go "in season"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had great staff memebers who were willing to answer any question and give suggestions for dining, golf, or any other activity.
The on site restaurant was closed, the pools are very small and the lazy river and jaccuzi were drained for the winter.
There is a crosswalk to a fairly private walkway to the beach, and the beach is big, you can certainly find some quiet for setting up a chair to watch the water.
We were lucky enough to have very calm water and see dolphins close to the shore, almost like they were putting on a show for the beach goers.
Our unit was nicely done and fairly newly painted, with personal touches throughout. It didn't feel like every other unit in the building. However, it was toward the back of the building, so ytu had to look past eveyone else's balcony to get your view of the beach. For us "off season" it worked out fine, but it would take away from the experience during busy times. The walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbors and all of their conversations.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the building will likely hear more traffic noise, but will have a less obs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Forest Dunes Resort. We are happy to hear you experienced the excellent customer service that is typical of Forest Dunes Resort. Our lazy river and jacuzzi are usually open, but enclosed during the cooler months so you can enjoy them indoors. We are a bit later covering them this winter as we are renovating the patio surrounding these amenities. We were told the renovations would have been completed earlier, but some delays resulted due to unexpected weather conditions. The renovations are currently in the final stages and we expect the lazy river and whirlpool to open soon. Thank you for alerting us to the fact that you could hear your neighbors through the walls. This is most likely due to the connecting door to the adjoining condo. This is one of the reasons we no longer use the connecting doors. Most of the connecting doors are sealed off and insulated to provide better sound proofing. Again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can resolve the problem. Thanks again for your comments. We really appreciate you and hope to have the opportunity to serve you even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    158
    69
    45
    44
See reviews for
303
177
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very good location for a little ocean time away. Views are beautiful. Bed and bedding were nice, but couch and chair needed replacing. Kitchen was very nice. Spa and lazy river were not available due to repairs. Staff was helpful. All in all, a mixed review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Forest Dunes Resort. We are happy to hear you experienced our helpful staff, typical of the excellent customer service at Forest Dunes Resort. We are also happy to hear you appreciated our beautiful views, nice kitchen and comfortable bedding. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the couch and chair in your condo. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. Our lazy river and jacuzzi are usually open, but enclosed during the cooler months so you can enjoy them indoors. We are a bit later covering them this winter as we are renovating the patio surrounding these amenities. We were told the renovations would have been completed earlier, but some delays resulted due to unexpected weather conditions. The renovations are currently in the final stages and we expect the lazy river and whirlpool to open soon. We really appreciate you and hope to have the opportunity to serve you even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went for birthday, had a good stay. Billy the reception guy was very helpful and nice. My family and I had a good time. The view was amazing. I have been to the beach plenty of times and finally seen to sun going down and moon rising and to top my birthday off fireworks on the beach beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Forest Dunes Resort. We are happy to hear your experience with Billy at our front office was helpful and nice as we always enjoy providing excellent customer service at Forest Dunes Resort. We are also happy to hear you appreciated our beautiful views, including the sun, moon and fireworks. We are especially happy to hear your birthday was spent with us and it was beautiful - we wish you many more! We really appreciate you and hope to have the opportunity to serve again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family and I started staying at this hotel in 1999 and we have stayed here every year since ! Now that I have a family of my own we vacation here every year ! We have only gotten one bad room that was not updated holes in the wall and broken refrigerator but with one call to the front desk we were quickly taken care of and they were very friendly ! Love this place will stay here again and again !! :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunlap2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Forest Dunes Resort every year since your first stay in 1999. We are happy to hear you Love this place and will stay here again and again. Forest Dunes Resort is blessed with many long term repeat guests like you. We appreciate all of our guests, but it is especially nice when a guest like you is able to keep coming back as we are able to know and serve you better. We hope to remain your "home away from home" and favorite vacation destination as we aim to provide the excellent customer service and clean and spacious condos that you desire in beautiful Myrtle Beach. Thanks again for choosing Forest Dunes Resort. We really do appreciate you and look forward to serving you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Super Value--we get 1 Bedroom; 1 1/2 baths; FULL kitchen; nice dining w/table & 4 chairs and living area w/2 sofas & a great view of the ocean/beach overlooking the pools for the same price elsewhere of 2 beds, 1 bath, a microwave & a mini fridge & no place to sit!! No comparison.

I was able to keep up with my business on the WiFi while watching the Skywheel and the ocean waves! I often opened the slider to the balcony and enjoyed the warm aft. air and the sunshine--yes, in Dec.

Everything was clean. The one problem we had, a leaky toilet, was repaired immediately. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

This is a trip we make each year at this time for my husband's golf event. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luann_beckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your excellent comments about your recent repeat visit to Forest Dunes Resort. We are glad to hear you were happy with how clean everything was and how friendly and helpful our staff was. We are also glad you enjoyed the views of the Skywheel and ocean waves from your condo along with our free unlimited wireless internet access. It's true that Forest Dunes Resort is a "Super Value" with spaceous condos featuring full kitchens. Thanks again for choosing Forest Dunes Resort. We really do appreciate you and look forward to serving you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here more than 16 times in the past 10 years. It is a quiet and comfortable to relax and enjoy the ocean and the outdoors. The staff is great and the rooms are clean, bright and affordable. We are planning on returning again and again.

Room Tip: If you can get a view room above the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachgrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with Forest Dunes Resort so often over the past ten years. We are happy to hear you will be returning again and again. We really appreciate our guests, especially long term repeat guests like you. We hope to remain your "home away from home" while you are in Myrtle Beach as we aim to provide the excellent customer service and clean and spacious condos that you desire. Thanks again for choosing Forest Dunes Resort. We really do appreciate you and look forward to serving you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The stay was great. The room not so much. The owner of the room we stayed in really should update and fix a lot of thing. Cabinets were broken, and smelled like mildew. Garbage disposal was broken the first night we were there and the sink was leaking. The dresser drawers were broken. Dishes were dirty when we got there.
That was our second time stayed at forest dunes. Our first time was phenomenal. We loved our OF room and had no problems at all. This second time was rougher but overall, it's still a great hotel and the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshallfan39470804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your great overall comments about our staff and resort. We are sorry you were not as happy with this condo compared to your last stay. This condo was recently updated with new carpet and was newly painted. In addition, all of our Ocean Front condos, including this one, were updated this past winter with new sliding glass doors, new balcony rails, and new balcony flooring, walls and ceilings. We’ve received many good comments about this condo since all of these improvements were made, so we thought this would be a good condo for you. Of course all the updates already made were very expensive, but we still see many of our condo owners spending more to reface or replace older kitchen and bath cabinetry. Thanks for letting us know what is important for you to feel comfortable in your vacation condo. This will help us accommodate you better in the future. We really appreciate you and your feedback, and look forward to another opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#127 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing