We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$79
$68
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand a Boutique Resort(Myrtle Beach)
$86
$79
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grande Shores Ocean Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$113
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$77
$71
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$77
$71
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
391
178
82
52
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
391
178
82
52
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverliving roomocean frontbar and grillacross the streetfloor to ceiling windowshot tubthree bedroomquiet arealarge balconyindoor poolthe past yearsparking garageseveral yearsspring breakking bedgrand strand
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 753 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had done my research, called the hotel and spoke to Billy at the desk. He was kind, patient , knowledgeable of the property,and helpful. He spoke with me and helped me discern the room type my family of 3 would need. When we arrived he greeted us warmly, and even recalled our phone conversation of 3 weeks earlier by hearing our last name. Wow. When we traveled up to our room it was perfect. All the kitchen needs were there as well as linens for the fold out sofa. And let me mention the view! This stretch of Myrtle Beach is quiet and well kept. The shoreline is so pretty. We had a late snack at Buckets Grill and the waitperson/bartender from Tenn. was so polite, and the food was tasty. We had stayed here in the late 1990s and it was nice then but it has been refurbished and our unit was perfect. We will be back. Thank you Mr. Billy.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poodlesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We sincerely appreciate everything you had to say about your stay! We are so glad you got know one of our very special front desk representatives and that you noticed all the updates and changes owners have been working on steadily over the past several years. Thank you and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband & I just got back from staying 4 nights at Forest Dunes...We decided to go to Myrtle Beach with no pre-planning .... a friend recommended Forest Dunes as she has stayed several times there ... I called on Monday evening and a room was available ... We were in room 1008 and had a GREAT view of the ocean .... the room was great and felt like home ... the staff were very pleasant from the ladies that first checked us in (can'[t remember their names) to "Bill" who was very helpful and friendly!!!! We plan to go again and will stay with Forest Dunes!!!! Great location, very clean, staff wonderful and price range was great too!!! Thanks again to the staff!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank coach_cheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thanks for recognizing the staff! No matter how nice a property is, we all know the people we deal with are the ones who can make a vacation a great experience. We're glad you enjoyed our Forest Dunes community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just returned yesterday from our trip! We booked our 5 night reservation a day before our arrival and had the most pleasant agent reserve our room! I don't remember her name, but she was so helpful and answered every question we asked! Upon our arrival we were registered by the same super nice lady! Actually, everyone at the front desk was very nice to us! Great customer service! We stayed in room 708. Our room was ocean view, but it was just as good as an ocean front! Fantastic view all the way to the sky wheel! The hotel is across a small street from the beach, but this is not a busy road at all and the few cars we encountered were always courteous by allowing us to cross! Parking is great in this hotel with the parking garage in the rear of the complex. We always had a daily newspaper to read and movies and books were available in the lobby for us to check out if needed! However, there are a few things that will maybe make us stay elsewhere on our next trip. The room we were in was in dire need of an update! The wallpaper was plain hideous and each room had its own tired pattern! The furniture and floors are way past their prime and are in serious need of an update. The room was not cleaned very well as we found various hair in the shower and on the back of both toilets! Sand had gotten into the corners of the bathroom floor and appeared to just keep getting overlooked when this room was cleaned. There are only two elevators in this hotel and during the day you have to wait sometimes 6-7 minutes in a line for an available one! We took the stairs frequently! During the evening hours there was no wait at all! There are no major water attractions here. Just a small pool and a small lazy river, which was fine with us, but the kids around bored very easy with them. We probably would not stay here again unless they updated the tired rooms or if we were on a very tight budget...you get what you pay for!!

Room Tip: Great views from rooms on the south side! You can see all the way to the sky wheel! Really pretty at night!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for trying Forest Dunes Resort and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad to hear you appreciated our excellent service and we thorougly enjoy serving our guests and sharing our "home away from home" that we love so much. Sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay in 708. We appreciate your feedback. Our internal records indicate most guests rate this condo as good and excellent. For everyone's reference, we added a set of photos in tripadvisor to show what 708 looks like. At Forest Dunes Resort we strive to give our guests more than they pay for and more than our competition gives. We hope you will try us again. We would be happy to assist you in finding a condo that better suits your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family and I just returned from a week at Forest Dunes. Whenever we vacation at Myrtle Beach, this is usually the place we stay due to location. That being said, this year was quite a different experience. We booked online and received our room upon arrival. It was a 3BR condo...room 1703. This unit was quite a disgrace compared to other units that we have stayed in before. Where to start......hmmm....room 1-7-0-3. Looks NOTHING like the photos posted here! The condo was in bad need of some TLC to say the least. Upon entry, it was obvious that this thing hadn't seen fresh paint in at least half a decade. Appliances were outdated (although got the job done), the TV's were outdated as well. Living room furniture was heavily soiled and worn out. Many outlets were non-functional (kinda makes one wonder about electrical problems and being on the 17th floor!). Overall the condo decor was outdated, dirty, and needing attention. The second night we realized that the kitchen sink drain was leaking and being caught in a large bowl. So, we had to keep and eye on that and empty as needed. Plumbing woes continued to plague this unit in the master bath. The sink would take hours to drain (so we didn't use that one). The balcony furniture was rusty and peeling paint and rust that would get on clothes and skin. Overall, very disappointed in room 1703. I would suggest that the condo board or whomever take a look at this one and suggest improvements for the owners. Surely there are certain standards for maintaining and renting properties in such a building. I would be ashamed to charge that amount of money to someone for staying there. Future vacations to Myrtle Beach will probably find my family and I looking elsewhere for lodging. (Wish we had taken photos to post below.)

Room Tip: Avoid room 1703....it sucks
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with this recent stay in 1703 and we appreciate your feedback. We looked at reviews from other guests and found most rated this condo as good and excellent. The guest who checked in immediately after you rated everything good except for a price/value rating of excellent. Since you complained that 1703 looks nothing like the photos posted here, we added a set in our tripadvisor photos to show everyone what 1703 looks like. We agree the TV's should be updated to flat screen and most condos already have flat screen TV's. We are sorry we missed the maintenance issues during our pre-arrival inspection, otherwise we would have fixed them sooner. Had you told us during your stay we could have fixed them while you were there and made your stay more comfortable. Concerning improvements, there is an annual inspection and report to condo owners with required and/or suggested improvements. Our rates are highly competitive and we strive to give our guests more than they pay for. We hope you will return and we will be happy to work with you to satisfiy your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

After a nightmare with our reservation at another facility, we showed up at 11:30 pm without a reservation on the recommendation of a relative. I was a little apprehensive of a location across the road from the beach and less than enthusiastic about booking ocean view vs oceanfront, however with my mother and two tired children in tow, we were just hoping for a CLEAN and affordable place to lay our heads until we could make other arrangements. We were comforted by the presence of the security guard when we parked. I had found an affordable rate on the Internet which they honored when we walked in. We ended up with a week rate we could not turn down. We spent less for a condo than we would have spent for a dirty,very small room ONLY at the previous location. We had a wonderful view of the ocean which was as good as some oceanfront rooms we have stayed at. The road we had to cross was never busy and the walk to the beach was no worse. The roadway was never busy and wasn't an obstacle at all. We even booked an extra night and stayed another day that we hadn't planned. Our room was clean and well equipped to cook anything we wanted. We had enough towels for the 4 of us the entire time. The pool area was almost never crowded, nor the lazy river and Hot tub. Everyone was friendly. My ONLY negative during the entire stay was unsupervised young boys at the pool and lazy river. Children dragging the tubes from the lazy river should not have been condoned. Almost everyone in the pool/lazy river area packed up when these kids came thru. I would just suggest a little more observation to the pool area by resort staff. (Poor parenting cannot be blamed on the resort!). An added plus, it is a SMOKE FREE resort which is a BIG plus for me and my family who are allergic to cigarette smoke! In the end, our entire group decided it was one of our best vacations in a long time. Thank you, Forest Dunes, for saving our vacation. We will see you next year!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank CGLMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

We are delighted that things worked out so well and you had a great stay. We know different folks look for different things in a resort, but it's wonderful when guests and a property just click.

As you noted, having night security personnel not only helps ensure safety, but comes in handy for late night arrivals such as yours. And, we are very pleased you like the resort's non-smoking policy.

See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews